Ratings based on 22 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nia211333from New York, NY

GORGEOUS HOTEL GROUNDS--Average rooms

Posted Aug 27, 2013
We stayed at Silver Point Hotel (SPH) for CropOver/Grand Kadooment week. The hotel grounds including beach, scenery, boardwalk, ocean view, etc. was quite impressive. Loved the style of the hotel boardwalk, etc. However, I thought the rooms were pretty standard of a good 3 star hotel (not what I expect of a 4 star). The bathroom functionality was not nice at all. The wood fixtures look nice but wood and water does not compliment each other. Hence, some areas look rotted, scummy, rusted, etc. Even on our balcony doors were rust. We stayed in the loft style room which was pretty cool but as a frequent traveler--Ive seen much better. Our fridge wasnt even stocked with basics like water bottles, soda, etc. This is a 4 star hotel right and thats something 2 star hotels offer...wasnt impressed with the rooms. Maybe other rooms are better. We stayed in the primary building with the reception office. I dont know if the building across the street have better rooms or if the non-loft style rooms make a difference but I wasnt the least bit impressed with the rooms. Other than the 'partial' ocean view which was gorgeous for what we did see...the rooms were nothing to boast about. Anyways, in terms of the area (Christ church) its fairly close to the airport which was great for our 1st & last day -and it wasnt too close either where you would hear airplanes all through the night. We took the Zed-r-V vans numbered vans almost everywhere...only cost 2BBD/1USD which was awesome. The official (blue/yellow) buses are the same price. So traveling around is farely cheap. In fact, it was cheaper for us to take taxis/buses everywhere than to rent a car for our stay. The hotel restaurant wasnt impressive. I'm a bargin hunter so I felt prices were too expensive. Maybe you'll think otherwise. As for food, it was american with certain carribean dishes. I dont like going to another country only to eat the same food. I want to experience the country like a local which means eating local food, bajan food, not american food. So I wasnt happy about that. People who complain about not having american options in foreign countries need to stay home because it deficits the purpose of traveling and learning new things. hmmm what else can I add? The receptionist was helpful but only to a certain extent. Often times she seemed like she only wanted us to book activities through SPH which is understandable but if we can find better packages/prices else where obviously as customers thats what we're going to do. Other than that we never saw of spoke to employees because they were often unseen. Except for the wonderful, young spirited lady at the restaurant, I wish I remembered her name, but she was great. Recommended parties for us, and a few other places, how to get around town, etc. She was awesome. Overall, silver point hotel was average to me. I do plan to stay else where for our next visit not because its a bad hotel but because I would love to experience more from a 4 star hotel and perhaps a hotel located further north near st. lawerence gap, accra beach area. Good luck with your travels and I hope my review was helpful :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chubbie

Great value for the money

Posted Sep 27, 2012
Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent office manager, concierge. One in a million.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tanavfrom Dallas, TX, USA

A great place and a great location for the money!

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, in a somewhat isolated area. not very busy area!
Cons: no internet in the rooms
If you're not picky and not looking to be pampered, but just want some place nice to relax and unwind. This is the spot! The staff was wonderful, the location was amazing, and I couldn't have asked for anything better for the price I paid. This was a place a person could lose one's self! I had such a great time, it made coming back to reality... tough!
3 out of 5
by NJandNYtravlersfrom New Jersey, USA

Mixed emotions

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Nothing close
I read a lot of reviews on the different hotels in Barbados prior to booking our 6 night stay. We were focused on seclusion and a smaller, quieter property. That is exactly what we got. Upon arrival we immediately upgraded to an ocean view room from the smaller partial view room we originally booked. That was a good choice. The room was much larger with a private patio and ocean view. The air condition in the room did not work very well, but we got used to it. The property only had 1 restaurant with mediocre food. The bar was not well stocked, leaving the bartenders little options for mixed drinks. The area outside the property was less than desirable but we overlooked that. The staff at the Silver Pointe was very friendly and accommodating. The beach was private and we enjoyed watching the Kite Surfers and Wind Sailing. I have traveled extensively and I would say overall it is a middle of the road hotel. We did spend a day using the beach at the Crane Hotel. For $25 US payable at the reception desk, you receive food vouchers you can use towards one of their 5 restaurants. (well worth it) Also once on the property you are free to use the marvelous beach and other amenities at the resort. We enjoyed dinner at the breath taking L'Azure Restaurant perked on the Cliff. Personally, I would spend the extra money and stay at the Crane Resort. Another word of advice...if you rent a car, opted to include a GPS for $5 US a day. The roads are poorly marked. Driving on the left takes some getting used, but we found the local drivers to be good drivers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LEXandRACHELfrom Rochester, NY, USA

Excellent hotel for relaxation and surfing

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
Stayed in an Ocean Front room (room 118) for seven nights (6/2/2012 - 6/9/2012). Everything was perfect. The beach is a few feet from the hotel and the waves are perfect for surfing. Theres a strong breeze constantly sweeping thru the south of the island so the heat was always bearable. The only possible downside is the hotel's remoteness. There are no restaurants/clubs near the hotel, but renting a car solves this. We rented a car for 4 days for $150 ($50 per day plus 1 free day) and had total freedom to go anywhere whenever we wanted. Bar: expensive, but the drinks were always massive and had plenty of liquor in them. Restaurant: expensive as well, but very delicious and large serving sizes. Beach: big, clean, lots of waves. Locals try to constantly sell you stuff which got annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AvalonandMarshafrom Florida, USA

HoneyMoon Bliss

Posted Feb 2, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we loved it!! I loved the view from out hotel room, the restaurant food was delish, the service was awesome!!! I loved my experience!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MalaMaddiefrom US

Excellent customer service

Posted Jul 7, 2011
Pros: Quiet
My family and I stayed in Silver Point from June 19th to June 25th. It turned out to be perfect timing for peace and quiet. Had most of the hotel and the pool to ourselves. Loved it. The staff made this trip very pleasant. Everyone was very friendly and helpful with arranging the airport pick up and the car rental. Samantha, the manage went an extra mile to accommodate my family’s needs. Great service by the staff at the pool bar. The food was incredible however very expensive. Would definitely recommend the place to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A travelerfrom usa

Great hotel for kiteboard vacation.

Posted Apr 17, 2011
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Nothing close, Poor breakfast
The only thing I will say is that our room was a little more used than the pictures depicted. That being said they were clean and cleaned daily. Food is very exspensive and just so so. If you plan on renting a car to venture out good luck. The roads have no signs so... eating out is expensive too but the resturants in barbados are awsome. If your a kiter than get a room with a fridge and dont eat out every meal. Also great cheap food at ostins every night and friday night is a party not to be missed at ostins. It wasnt my wifes favorite island but as a kiter I loved it. Kited every day for 7 days straight. Score!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Harmonyfrom CT

Fabulous beach, good food, friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Apr 14, 2011
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet, fabulous secluded beach, kite surfing heaven
I enjoyed my stay in all aspects. The staff was very welcoming, extremely nice and quite helpful. The partial ocean view room via the balcony was a good value. Food-wise - everything was fresh and good including the deserts! Lounging on the deck on their canopied beds overlooking the ocean and beautiful private beach was so relaxing and was just what I needed.
3 out of 5
by Scipio

Cancelation rules are inaccptable

Posted Feb 11, 2011
We were dissatisfied with the restaurant. As the hotel is totally isolated,finding a restaurant for dinner required a round trip taxi ride adding $50 to the price of the meal. The equipment of the bathroom was spartan. No drawers. No shelves. No hangers for towels. So was the room. The pool was too small and shallow for laps ( Internet photo is misleading) The beach filled with para-surfers was not the beach we expected for swimming. We cancelled the three last nights losing 100% of of the amount paid ( $ 1089 ) including a 17,50% Value Added Sales Tax the hotel won't have to pay on a canceled reservation