Ratings based on 14 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
2.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Islalimbofrom South Lake Tahoe, CA, USA

We love this hotel!

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
We stayed here for several weeks two years ago and the staff remembered us! I love this hotel and the location right on the best beach for swimming in Cancun. I can't think of any place I'd rather stay in Cancun than the Maya Caribe. The grounds are beautiful and extensive, the different swimming pools, the access to great and safe Caribbean swimming, the palapas on the beach for shade, it's just a perfect place. The staff are so kind, gracious and welcoming. We like the different nationalities that stay here--it is a very international resort.
2 out of 5
by worlddiverfrom Chicago

This is a hotel was sufficient just to get by...

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: no ice on site
I liked the location just because it has its own little private beach with no crowd... ideal for relaxing. However, If you have little ones, look up for those wood decks around the pools, they are in very poor dondition.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Orthodoxtravelerfrom Boston

Fair for what you pay

Posted Apr 13, 2011
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
This hotel is austere, somewhat old, and farther from the main zones of Cancun than some might like. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are good prices on drinks and food and this latter is on the higher end for the money you pay. The beaches are less than great, but still fine. What strengths this hotel has going for it are its closer location to the "real" life of Cancun population---so you can get away from artificial tourist-oriented locations and engage realistic "puestos" on the corner of the street, or eat tacos in truer settings. The hotel is nothing to write home about, but the price is reasonable, and the hotel does not attempt to be pretentious. It is what it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NorteAmfrom frozen hinterland

oceanfront rooms only 50 feet from surf

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, oceanside rooms
Cons: no ice machine at hotel
Basic 2 star hotel that has merged with larger neighbor Dos Playas Hotel.Room door locks, AC, bed comfort, street access are substandard. Use lobby safe deposit box, bring air mattress for bed, pack wheeled suitcases only as your hotel room is a hike from lobby. Front desk & cleaning staff very helpful & friendly.Only 20 oceanview rooms so you may have to wait for one to be cleared/cleaned. 1.5 km to Isla ferry. Club noise can be heard late into evening. Hotel beach chairs limited- arrive early. Large beach towels avaliable only at front desk-you must sign for them. Hotel pools small- use Dos Playas pools . Dos Playas also has wonderful lawn overlooking ocean with nice lounge chairs -bring food for resident iguanas . No food service at Maya- all food at Dos Playas. You can get alot more for your food dollar outside hotel. Many nice cantinas within 5 minute walk. All- inclusive not a good deal. $45 snorkel trip to Isla - lunch/ beers included- leaves 10am daily- buy tickets at ferry bamboo kiosk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nina023from Merced, California

Great hotel and restaurant-All inclusive

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet, all inclusive
The hotel room was ok but the services was excellent. Spend most of my time outdoors on the beach and seeing the sights. The hotel room was right on the beach. The beach was beautiful. There were jet skis right on the property to use on the beach. I will be going back in the near future. Was happy not to have internet access since this was a REALLY vacation :)
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Worst Place Ever

Posted Mar 10, 2010
I'm just gonna list what's wrong: They lost our reservation, didn't get the room we paid for, the pictures on line aren't of the hotel, the concierge was rude and yelled at us and other people, our room smelled and the bed was as hard as a rock, a lot of walking up hill, the bar closes at 11pm, there are at least 2 hours in between breakfast, lunch and dinner. I'm just not going to continue so just DO NOT stay here.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Do not stay there !!!

Posted Jul 24, 2008
Room what we booked was not ready for us. Two replacment where horible. We run a way, because of cocrouches and lizards on room. Horible experience. Never again.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Do not stay there !!!

Posted Jul 24, 2008
Room what we booked was not ready for us. Two replacment where horible. We run a way, because of cocrouches and lizards on room. Horible experience. Never again.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

mountain goat

Posted Jan 29, 2008
If you are a mountain goat , you might still want to consider NOT staying here\nUp and down the hills to my room and to the food, to everything\nThese old bungalows need to be torn down, they are smelly and\nnot attractive, but there is no excuse for the wholes in the sheets and toilets that back up\nphones that don't work no remote, no hair dryers\nVery dark and a lot of trip and fall hazards\nYou can pay a few dollars more and stay at a much, much better place
2 out of 5
by A traveler

wow...this place sucked

Posted Jul 12, 2007
OK...so I consider myself an easygoing person. I can ""roll with it."" I left this hotel halfway through the stay. My toilet leaked. There was no view. The bar had all of the ingredients for drinks except ice. The only beverage available was $*dixie cup draft beer. There has not been any upkeep on the hotel since it was built. The staff was very nice, however, they made promises and didn't follow through with them.