Ratings based on 49 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by ninettefrom Indianapolis, IN

Bad hotel

Posted May 15, 2013
The only good things are the hotel beach and the location ! The parking is very small and they put signs on some place so sometimes we couldnt park ! Once of the man at the reception told them that we are liars because we forgot to bring our hotel bracelet and usually they just asked for the invitation and the hotel card room. Hopefully some people were nice and helpful with us. And we had to pay to have the wifi !
1 out of 5
by sabinafrom Hinesburg, VT

great beach

Posted May 4, 2013
The hotel was horrible dirty and the food was disgusting. The staff was unfriendly.
2 out of 5
by Meshifrom USA

The hotel made me feel welcome

Posted Mar 31, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
No free internet, not any activity, recreation or show! the food was good but COLD!beside the soups.the people very friendly, the jacuzy with cold water and dirty, our shower in the bathroon didnt work, we had to call mainteince, the toilette didnt flash , we have to flash 4 times! they try to fix it but still the same problem., the safety box was broken. The pool was nice but not enough chairs to sit .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Repeatcancunerfrom Elmira, NY, USA

Great place!

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Pros: all inclusive well worth it
Cons: No free Internet
Everything is so wonderfully easy at this place. There was a bit of a wait to get into room, but can easily change into beachwear and begin using the all inclusive wrist band, while they safely store your luggage to place in your room when available. Great staff, and just beautiful views in all directions. Close to shopping, outback steakhouse, margaritaville, etc.
2 out of 5
by Floridamanfrom Florida

Tried to change rooms and met with major resistance.

Posted Jan 24, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
Our room had a set of bunkbeds in it that took up a large amount of our space. Asked for a room without bunkbeds and was told no. Two small pools that are not heated. Hotel geared toward a younger clientel with loud music in the pool area. Small store on the premisis would only take cash. We had one chair on patio when ALL others had two and no stairs from the patio down to the ground when ALL others had steps. Asked for another chair and stairs and was told NO. Rock hard bed, No ice machines. Only the front desk staff was unhelpful, rest of the staff was warm and friendly. Had to ask daily to get maid service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by dhubertfrom corfu,ny

staff very friendly

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: across the street from the mall
I have been to the flamingo once before,and this time reinforced my previous experience. Though the rooms are plain,and there is not much tv,the service and food is good,especially at the Albatross-excellent meals,on the beach,great service, enough food so you have room for appetizer and desert. Overlaping services so you do not do without food or a drink.Great for the price.
3 out of 5
by Flamingo12from Indiana, USA

Going Downhill

Posted Nov 20, 2012
Pros: Quiet, friendly staff
Cons: bad food, need updated outdoor furniture
We stayed for 9 days in Oct. 2012. This was our 6th stay at the Flamingo. We were told there was new management in the last 8 months and it really shows. We were given a suite next to a room where they were using cleaning solvent and the smell was awful. We asked for another room and was told there wasn't any. The hurrican shutter stayed over most of the sliding glass door. The track was dangerous and husband hit his foot on a screw. It was dangerous to step over. No cushions were put on the upper pool chairs. The chairs were broken and very old. They have moved the beach chairs and covers very close together. People like room between them and the next person. they are so close you can reach out and touch another group. Food was not good at all, the salsa was plain cheese and not the wonderful fresh vegetables. There was no inststructions on the phone on how to call the front desk. Recommend this hotel only if you aren't expecting a lot. Really disappointed in the Flamingo. People were wonderful and some still remembered us from past trips.
2 out of 5
by BeachTravel3r22from Kansas City, MO, USA

Will not return

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: No free Internet, outdated, no entertainment, room temp food, only 2 food choices, restaurant inconsistent
All of the pictures online are quite deceiving, they are outdated and not an accurate depiction of the resort. The resort is quite dated, limited number of breaking and uncomfortable lounge chairs. We arrived to our regular room and immediately had to upgrade so we could have a safe and fridge in our room. Regular rooms have no amenities and bottles water is only for purchase, or 2 a day with our upgraded room. The resort had a couple activities by the pool, but nothing on the beach. No access to beverages from the beach unless you walk to the pool bar. The drinks were good, besides the fact of having to go get them. The food on the other hand was always room temp not at the proper food safe temps. The buffet had a decent variety day to day but the 'beach restaurant' that you had to have proper attire and a reservation for, was less than impressive, something was wrong with our food every time. No consistency and only excuses. Luckily the staff was nice and overcompensating for the rest of the hotel. Not pleased with this resort, needs a lot of improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ohio675

Second visit this year.

Posted Aug 23, 2012
Pros: one of the best beaches, very friendly staff, very clean, treated very welcome
Cons: low water pressure
Second visit this year to flamingo hotel. More relaxing than the first visit. I went in march for the first time and there was alot of americans at the hotel. This visit in august there was mostly mexican people there. It was nice and more relaxing with the mexican people as the spring break crowds tend to party and be loud everyday. Hotel was booked at around 85%. August is a good month to see sea turtles coming onto the beach to lay eggs. Advised not to disturb them but to alert beach guards. They will harvest the eggs when the turtle goes back to the sea. The next night they will return to invite hotel guests to "Liberate" the baby turtles to the sea. Over my stay 7 turtles come onto the beach and layed eggs. 4 in just one night. I did manage to get a picture of one when it was going back to the water. I only seen 1 trail on the beach at the next hotel, closest to my view. Overall a great vacation and second stay at flamingo. Staff very friendly and speak english pretty good. Even nicer to be remembered by some of the staff. Hotel is clean. Rooms have firm mattresses. I noticed low water pressure in the shower, but not horrible. Ocean view is facing the sunrise. Plenty of entertainment options. 1 musical and 1 dance performance, twice a week. 2 restaurants and 2 bars. I recommend visiting atleast 1 of the mayan ruins. Very impressive! I visited Ek Balam and Coba this time and was able to climb and wander around both freely which made great pictures. Look at the hotels website for more info. I see other people complaining about not getting internet in a standard room. Well, you get what you pay for. For the price, comfort, cleanliness, location, & more, I would be happy to stay there again.
1 out of 5
by Makikisfrom Tx

This hotel wasn't what I expected.

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, not clean
They didn't clean the room until afternoon and just because I called front desk. They didn't leave clean towels. They charged us even for local calls. You will have Internet only if u made ur reservation with everything included otherwise they will charge everything extra,I was supposed to have one free dinner at sr.frogs , ended up having nothing.