Ratings based on 76 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Houston, TX

Great hotel both in price and location.Recommend

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Staff, bath products, beach access, restaurant choices
Cons: Service the rooms earlier in the day. My room was generally not cleaned until after 2PM daily, but they were flexible about returning when I asked.
Location: Bus access is very easy and cheap (9.5 pesos each way) from the hotel to the malls, etc. The beach was directly connected to the property.
I booked this hotel online being unfamiliar with the area was unsure about the quality. I was very pleasantly surprised how beautiful and luxurious it was. It was indeed a 4 star hotel with all the amenities you would need, from over 5 restaurants on site to select, to convenient store, to great bath products. I could have left all of my shower accessories at home because theirs were very nice (THANN and Bath & Bodyworks). The only disappointment (which was bearable) was that the children's pool was very small and so was the Kids Club. There was not much else for kiddos there. Restaurant access was super easy but pricey, but considering we didn't have to drive anywhere that was okay. Food served out by the pool was yummy and affordable but drinks are pricey. And they do offer all inclusive but it wasn't worth it for us since we didn't eat/drink all day. You have to buy all inclusive in advance as they don't sell it once you arrive (I was told). Overall, the place was beautiful, the beach was gorgeous, and the staff was super friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.
2 out of 5
by LDD3from Florida, USA

service/maintance/bill problems.

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet
I got home and reviewed my bill. I had turned in all my Pesos at the front desk to be credited to my bill. It looks like they charged me for taking the pesos instead. I am waiting for a reply. Three days and 3 times to fix my running toilet. Slow shower drain. Never resolved. My room got cleaned most of the time in the late afternoon. Cost 55 bucks to leave message on US phone from room. The place was dead compared to other resorts I stopped at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NS1Travelerfrom Charlotte, NC, USA

Marriott Casa Magna is where I will stay when I return to Cancun.

Posted Sep 27, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Very clean property. Well trained , freindly staff always ready to help. Excellent location and very good rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Global4from Wisconsin, USA

It's a good family resort.

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
Over all, it's a good stay. The whole family (we have a 13 year old boy and a 5 year old boy) enjoyed the room with an ocean front view balcony. It's a good resort for family to stay at. We did have a night with party next door until after 11pm. Other than that, we loved the location, beach, swimming pool, and witnessed the sea turtles came up shore at night to lay eggs and talked with the volunteers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JPFUNfrom Medford, Oregon

MADE US FEEL WELCOME.

Posted Aug 1, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Overall hotel was nice. We booked double beds but when we checked in we were given a king and were asked to call the next day and check for avaible rooms. Did it for three nights and nothing so I gave up and just kept the king and the sofa bed. The hotel was in great location and the bed was very comfortable, even though I slept on it every other day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cancunin

Don't be deceived

Posted Jul 18, 2012
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet
Ah, the polar extremes of Cancun! First, this is a great hotel. It could be a little closer to the city, but it's surrounded by solid hotels on both sides and a great beach. The trick is everything is extra, so the not horribly expensive room rates are quite deceptive. I thought I'd avoid the $20/day wifi fees (make no mistake, better than the mobile roaming options through your carrier's international plan or the gov't owned Mexican monopoly) by heading to the Business Center to check email. They've got that covered--$5 for 10 mins there. That summarizes everything at the hotel. Drinks, food and everything are decent to good, but very pricey. You compare spa prices with the best places in Chicago/NY and this beach resort treatment comes out on top. Then there's the transportation. Bus is great if it's running frequently. A cab into the city--randomly priced and at least $15-$20 each way. There also seems to be a solid monopoly on the tour side by the Mexican firm that owns XCaret, Xe-Hal and XPlorer. The cattle herd is pushed by all the resorts and at the airport--Marriot isn't an exception. Restaurant and club recommendations are the same. Must be some good kick-backs. But the staff is nice. And when you see your bill for all the things that magically got put on your room you'll know why!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Xdaspot

Absolutely outstanding

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pros: Quiet, on beach
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet, everything costs
The room was smaller than I thought it would be, but it was more than adequate. If you are looking for a party spot don't come here. This place is for an older crowd or for families. Food in hotel is excellent, but it is pricey. However the cost is in line with what one should expect for a 4 star place. Meal, drinks for two people ran us roughly 48 dollars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by melincofrom Denver, CO

Lovely time in Cancun!

Posted May 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, great covered beach seating
Cons: No free Internet, water is not placid
Had a great stay at the Casa Magna--very comfortable, lots of beach seating with shade (very important to me) and lovely ocean views. I was not offered to upgrade my room when I arrived, as I had already paid for the ocean view. However, they did try to put me in a garden level room--be sure to have your reservation printout with you. We ate at the hotel at Sasi (very expensive--140 pesos for 2 spring rolls and they were not that great) and Champions (also expensive, and food was just average). I would recommend eating across the main road at the Marina (have a little outdoor restaurant in the back next to the boat dock--had nice cheap breakfasts there), at Fred's Seafood Market (expensive, but very nice), and at another couple restaurants a short distance away (especially liked La Destilleria). As other reviewers have stated the bus stop is on the main road right in front of the hotel, so easy to get around to other parts of Hotel Zone, downtown Cancun, Walmart, etc. The beach had red flags posted, and they were right--it was a bit challenging to get back out of the water with the strong current, but we did manage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ChicagoGuyFromMemphisStatfrom Chicago, IL

Great Hotel in the Hotel Zone if you are not looking for an All Inclusive

Posted Mar 10, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Great Hotel in the Hotel Zone if you are not looking for an All Inclusive. The bathroom was nice but could have been updated a little. I also had a little issue with my reservation and had to deal with the front desk. That was not fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by tjtj

Nice vacation

Posted Jan 19, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, relaxing vacation resort atmosphere
Cons: No free Internet, poor service at breakfast
I've stayed at both the Casa Magna and the JW next door; they are part of the same complex so you can easily walk to each hotel and enjoy the various eating places, but we prefer the JW and will stay there in the future. Only downside is 1. an expensive breakfast with terrible service, and 2. no free internet service