Ratings based on 9 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by TheTerjefrom Sacramento, CA, USA

It was ok at best

Posted Feb 23, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
I arrived at the Des Moines Marriott at approximately 12:30PM on a Thursday. The room was not ready yet, as to be expected so we checked our bags and went out for lunch. While at lunch they called and let me know my room was ready which I found very nice. When we picked up our keys they informed us that there was a wrestling tournament of some kind happening and they asked that we wear a plastic wrist band after 5PM otherwise we would not be allowed to get to our room. This was ridiculous to me. They said it was because of the high amount of teenagers there due to the wrestling thing. This did nothing to curb the teens from running around the hotel while their parents got drunk in the hotel bar from the ice chests that they were hiding under their tables. Speaking of the bar, I recommend sticking to bottled beer. I tried having a rum and coke and a friend had a gin and tonic and they were the worst drinks we have ever had. They tasted liked like the liquor had been watered down or maybe the bar tender didn't know what he was doing. As for the room, it was average. Clean but not sparkling. There was no in room fridge which I found strange but we made due with ice. The bed is very comfortable and I was a fan of the sheets. There are inputs to the TV on the wall where you can plug in an xbox or something which I thought was pretty cool. Didn't have anything to plug into it, but the option was nice. Wi-Fi internet is not free, which bothers me especially in this day and age. I don't know if wired was free since I only had a ipad with me. I did find that if I went down to the Starbucks in the lobby there was free wireless and I was able to connect there and then go back to my room on the 8th floor and was still connected. Over all, our stay was just okay. I have stayed in nicer hotels and I have stayed in much worse hotels. The staff was very nice and helpful but the bizarre wrist band thing left me with a bad taste in my mouth. If I am ever in Des Moines again, I will look in to staying elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by cinativefrom Normal Illinois

This hotel was over and beyond what we expected

Posted Nov 16, 2011
Pros: helpful
The Staff was friendly, They went out of their way to makes us feel welcome and at home. Room service was outstanding. The sheets. Oh my... the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. They took us to our outing and picked us up when it was over. I can't say enough for the service and the care. It is well located, close to everyting we needed to do. Just a fantastic place to stay. More than recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Downtowndrinkerfrom Cedar Rapids

Price a little high, but nice

Posted Oct 18, 2011
Staff was friendly, hotel was clean. Great location. A little costly but I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steph27from Minneapolis

The staff is very welcoming and the bedding is incredibly

Posted Feb 4, 2011
The beds are extremely comfortable and the staff was very nice & accommodating. The bar area is nice with GREAT quesadillas. In addition, the pool/workout area are some of the nicest facilities that I have seen at a hotel.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Excellent service

Posted Nov 1, 2009
The hotel, service, & staff provided excellent service at all times. Room was immaculate & very lovely. Would reccommend this establishment to all.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Bed is better than home!

Posted Jun 24, 2009
we have stayed at the Des Moines Marriott several times over the past five years. The entrance/foyer is spectacular, the personnel are very friendly and helpful ALWAYS and the rooms are beautiful, extremely clean, and quiet. The BED is incredible! I actually FORGOT I was not sleeping in my own bed! We have also enjoyed the work out area (water is available and occasionally fresh fruit is available there as well - free of charge) - which is clean, well-maintained with state of the art treadmills and ellyptical trainers. The pool is also very very nice. The only complaint? We do NOT use the valet parking becasue it is extremely overpriced (park on the street for free on the weekends) - and there is not a lot of food choices in the area on the weekends - especially later the day. The hotel food is pricey and there is no complimentary breakfast. Aside from these minor issues, we LOVE this place. WE were able to walk to church (two blocks away) and to the Saturday Farmer's market (about four blocks). It was a VERY relaxing place to stay!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Stay!!

Posted Jul 16, 2008
We were only there for a very short period of time, but the property had all the amenities that made a short business stay absolutely a pleasure to deal with. I highly recommend their healthy breakfast selections. Sometimes "healthy" means "doesn't taste good" but the price and taste and quality and quantity was absolutely fantastic. I'd stay again just to order room service all over again. The beds were SO comfortable, I did NOT want to leave!!! As a very late arrival, we were treated with VIP care, smiles even though it was "early" in the morning and check-in was VERY fast and easy and the staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and caring and friendly!!! Kudos to them!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

I would give the Marriott SIX stars out of 5!!!!!!!!

Posted Nov 6, 2007
We were VERY pleased with the Downtown Marriott. From the time we were picked up at the airport to the time we were dropped off we felt very pampered by the entire staff. Everyone was exceptionally courteous and helpful. The rooms were very clean, the beds were extra comfy and we used the hotel restaurant for drinks, breakfast and lunch- everything was so good! The service really was above and beyond. Its worth writing a review to share a 'Good" find on a hotel. - We've all had those weekend nightmares. If you are staying downtown Des Moines I definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

What's with the open shower and small rooms

Posted Sep 3, 2007
I have come to expect a level of excellence from Marriott and I must say that I was disappointed. The bright spot here was the staff. The front desk/concierge was very nice and helpful. The room service got our order wrong but they made it right eventually. They did, however, tell me that what I ordered was not on the menu so they substituted another item. Upon checking, the original item was indeed on the menu. The bellman was of most service, giving us insider tips on travel, restaurants and things to do while in DesMoines. I was very disappointed with the room. We were placed in a king room very close to the elevator. The room was small, with no real place to eat our room service breakfast. The bathroom was exceptionally small with very little space for toiletries on the sink. The shower was an open shower with no tub. There was no space in the shower to place shampoo, etc. The possibility of staying here again would be slim.