Ratings based on 285 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by tstewart1532from San Diego, CA

Great Place for Vacation

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Staff, location, food were great! The staff truly work hard.Variety of really good food everyday. I am paying for it now -trying to lose the 10 lbs I gained in 1 week. Great for families, singles, and couples. You will be very pleasantly surprised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by goldenjenfrom Golden, CO

First All Inclusive - Excited to go back!!

Posted Aug 14, 2013
This was my first experience at an all inclusive resort and my first time at a beach in Mexico. This was a girls trip so I was concerned about the safety. Upon arrival to the gated, locked resort my fears were put to rest. Check was easy which included adding a guest to our reservation. Drinks were served to us while we checked in. The staff was very nice and fun to talk with. We had two rooms with patios and ocean views. The rooms were clean and well taken care of. The swimming pools were gorgeous!! There was one incident the first night with a drunk guest and there were security guards leading him off within seconds. We don't even know where they came from!! The food was wonderful and abundant. I had a massage while I was there and it was great as well. There are activities during the day and shows at night. There is a nightclub for dancing that opens at 11pm. I am excited to schedule a trip to come back with my family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rhodges2013from Kansas City, MO

Great views

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Loved cabo, resort is great, just needs a bit of room renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MomoftwinsinTXfrom Texas

Fun Resort!!!! No Room Service!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2013
We travel to Mexico 3 or 4 times a year this was a Fun Resort but No Room Service!!! My hubby has since decided that if the resort has no room service we pick one that does. BUT i had a great time at this resort, it was vibrant fun, beautiful, clean, & the food was very good!!! Beautiful pool area, really beautiful!!! Nice poolside bar, great VIBE, lots of fun!!! Nice staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JasmineAlibabafrom Fort McMurray, AB, Canada

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
Staff was very friendly. The restaurants were amazing. The buffets had a lot of variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by fall2flyfrom Washington

Would do this vacation 10 times over

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
I loved this resort. I went for spring break with a group of about ten people. We were all on our own little mini vacations with in our one big vacation. THere is so much to do. We relax, party, drank, even exercised. It was a blast and the staff was amazing. The beds were not the most comfiest but were were hardly in the room so what did it matter. I will definitely be going again on an all girls trip someday soon.
2 out of 5
by thursday84from Southeast

Read the reviews before you go!

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Free Internet
Cons: Noisy, food, poor beds
I normally do not write reviews, but I feel led to do so for this resort. Reading past reviews almost made me not stay here, and now I know why. This resort is 3 star at BEST. Now granted, when you walk into the lobby & are walking through the resort grounds - fabulous; but, when you walk into the room, different story. Our "king" bed was, just as others stated, two double beds pushed together. Not very romantic if you're traveling with a spouse/partner/etc. Now if you're traveling with friends, maybe its functional - not for the majority of people I would imagine are staying at a place like this. Again, as others have said, the room has a musty - mildew smell. We are not "hotel snobs" by any stretch of the word, so my husband and I made the best of the situation & opened the screen door for fresh air & didn't worry over the bed at all. Its just the point. Other reviewers have talked about the poor noise quality as well - and I agree - very noisy. We made the best of that situation as well by downloading a white noise app to play as we slept. Made it bearable for sure. Onto the food.... First of all, the reservation system they have is a joke. They tell you that you have to make reservations for the different restaurants at 7am --- 7 am folks - who wants to get up at 7am when you're on VACATION?! NOT ME. But our group got up anyway and guess what? Sorry - we're booked. Completely booked at every restaurant at 7am with 3 people in line ahead of us? Yeah right. So you are more than welcome to eat at the buffet every meal - if you're excited about staying at an all-inclusive resort with cafeteria food. Again, I'm not a food snob, but this is a joke. The breakfast buffet was the best meal of the day, every day. I will say that I was sick 2 of the days we were there & not from alcohol. Pepto was my bff. Another lady with us was also sick from eating the food from the buffet. Just a word to the wise... Also, ordered room service - ham & cheese sandwich was great!! The drinks were just fine & they feed them to you as often as you like. But if you want good food, you have to leave the resort. Unless you get into Krystal (one of the restaurants on the resort) which I hear is good, but can't speak for personally, because for the 5 days that we were there, we were never able to get reservations! **TIP** If you do go into town, we ate at a restaurant in the marina called Alexander's -- AWESOME. Food was great & staff was very friendly. Had their special which was 2 filets, & 2 lobster tails for $55 USD. Great value for the money & like I said, food was UNBELIEVABLE. The beach was gorgeous, but speaking for myself, I like a view of the ocean from my beach chair - not a rope between me & the ocean to keep the locals from trying to sell you junk. I mean, seriously, they stand behind the rope - right in your view of the ocean - and hassle you from behind the rope all day long. Very annoying. I want a peaceful experience on vacation, not "hat for sale? water taxi anyone? jewelry for you lady?" etc. etc. I have traveled ALL over the world, and I can honestly say Mexico is the only place I've ever been where I feel hassled the entire time I'm on vacation. **TIP** DO NOT sit under palm trees with coconuts! While there we saw a lady get knocked out by a falling coconut! Had to be taken to the hospital. Needless to say, the staff was knocking coconuts out of the trees the rest of the day! This review may sound bad, but overall our group had a GREAT time. The town is fun and the beach is gorgeous & we even saw several whales! But the resort itself is just so-so. If you aren't expecting much, then yes, its fine. We were well aware of all of this before getting there, as per previous reviews. If, however, you are expecting a luxury resort - then you better keep looking because this place isn't it. Staff was very friendly and always willing to help. Our group ranged in age from 25-45; couples & singles; men & women.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kansas04from Wichita, KS

Will keep going back!

Posted Feb 22, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
This was our 4th time at this resort. It never disappoints. Staff is very friendly and really go the extra mile to make sure you are happy. We upgraded to ocean front room this time and was definitely worth it. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by FLYOVERFUN

READ THIS REVIEW

Posted Jan 17, 2013
I'm a frequent traveler. Spent 30 years in the pharmaceutical industry. I recruit physicians now. I'm an AA Million miler, Hilton Gold etc,etc. I've stayed at this type of resort often. I almost changed my bookings based on the reviews on this site. Ridiculous. I booked the Ocean front junior suite. It WAS an ocean front junior suite. I was in a nice Marriott in Hawaii last year and booked this and had to fight to get what I paid for. It's an all-inclusive. Guess what? The foods going to be average to above average. This resort was above average. The sushi was very good wherever we had it. The Japanese restaurant was pretty good. Krystal restaurant was very good. Steakhouse was kinda bad. Breakfast in the main restaurant was excellent every day. Start with a Mimosa. Eggs cooked to order were great. Make them cook it longer than they want to. The main lunch buffet was ok. The pools were great. The sand was deep and fluffy. The ocean is not why you are going to this part of the world. It is too rough and a little to murky to enjoy a bunch. They keep the vendors on the other side of the rope. No prob. BEST TIP OF THE TRIP Find the Olympus booking guys in the lobby in orange shirts. Book the Ocean Rider Whale Watch in season.Go in the morning. Amazing!! I have been several times in Hawaii and California. This was 100 times better. Fast, comfortable, fun not a whole bunch of ecological stuff. Just a great tour where we saw and got close to 25-30 whales and dozens of dolphins. They get it. It's fun, not a Holy grail. One of the highlights of any vacation I've been on. The Olympus guy even told me honestly that the club hopping tour wasn't worth it. He was right. We went to Cabo Wabo on our own and had a blast!!!! Best downtown Cabo San Lucas Bar= Happy Endings Great bartenders, atmosphere, music, beer and beer prices, local feel, free internet, took our pictures, even called us a taxi to pull up out front when we were leaving. Awesome! They get it. Back to the Resort Are the hotel hallways loud at night? Yep, many people drink too much and yell. The hallways are tile. Mine would be too if I had people throwing up from over consumption. It echoes. We got an oceanwave app on our phone and turned it up to compliment the real thing. problem solved. Used room service once and it was great. Watch the safe. 2 times we had to get security because we left it open supposedly. They count your money etc. Just felt creepy. Favorite server was Guiterez. Favorite bartender was Irwin. Julian best at the pool. Choose activity or laid back. We laid back this time. Guys. Don't let all the other reviews scare you like it did me. It is a great, beautiful, friendly, very clean place. Entertainment is par for this kind of course. We paid $160 to Cape Travel to transport us from the airport to the hotel. I'd do it again. We were the only 2 in a nice SUV both ways. On time and very friendly. Couldn't have been better and gave us 2-3 more hours of fun. Note: Leave 3 hours to clear customs on your return home if catching a connection. Have fun and God bless!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Wingofrom Boston, MA, USA

Staff was excellent

Posted Jan 12, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
Just stayed at the riu palace with my husband daughter and college friend January 5 2013 for 6 days. Hotel was very clean, staff worked hard and service was excellent. This was a very safe hotel. They have turn down service and the girls left the room safe open. The staff closed the safe and brought the key to front desk for the girls to pick up. At the gate when at the entrance, the vehicle was always checked and you had to show your wristbands. The Palace was the quieter of the two resorts with a mixed aged clientele, but it was great that the kids could go over to the Riu Santa Fe at night to be with kids there own age and it was perfectly safe. Breakfast buffet excellent. Other buffet had lots of choices. You do need to make restaurant reservations early as the times are limited. Excursion staff a helpful not pushy. The city (Cabo) was close $1.00 by bus or a $12.00 cab ride. Lots of shops and restaurants. If you go in town you have to eat at Salvatore's Italian restaurant. It is just as good if not better than the Boston North end where we are from. The only a thing I did not love was the beach was ok, but the hotel pools etc made up for it.