Ratings based on 92 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lrdali21158from OC California

great service

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Very helpful staff at all the time:-)  From the gate to the pool area the staff is great.  They work very hard to entertain guests.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Staff

Posted Jan 30, 2013
This was our 3rd stay at the property. The staff around the pool and the hot tubs were wonderful. One issue the place shuts down on New Years Eve if you do not wish to participate in the hokie property prepayed evening. The bars close early to force folks to the property
1 out of 5
by slhansen219from San Clemente, CA

Don't Stay Here...COCKROACHES!!

Posted Dec 5, 2011
Pros: free internet in hospitality suite, nice market & deli on premises
Cons: coachroaches & other bugs, dingy & dark rooms, old and tattered furniture
This is our second stay at Villa Del Palmar. I was not impressed when I stayed there in November 2009, but decided to try them again since I knew they were in the process of remodeling at that time. My mistake. Yes... they did some remodeling, if you consider changing the drapes, bedspreads, some painting & 1 TV (in a unit with 3 TVs) remodeling. The rooms are very run down & dingy & dark. There is only 1 real window in the 1 & 2 bedroom units leading to the small balcony in the living room. The furniture is very old & ugly. I'd say a minimum of 10 years old. This resort is a timeshare resort and is traded through Interval International & RCI. It is my belief the that "owners" get the rooms surrounding the pool area and on the upper floors & everyone else will get the exterior units which may only have a view of the adjacent resort or a private residence. Although we were situated in an exterior unit on the 4th floor, we did have a fairly good view of the beach and bay. But you can't be sure what your view will be. I tried to get our room changed, but of course, they had nothing available. Worst part was our room had cockroaches!!! I saw 3 during our 6 night stay. Not only were there cockroaches, but when I used the kitchen sink the first time small bugs, kind of like moths, crawled out of the drains... maybe about 20. I ran hot water for the next few minutes trying to kill them & that seemed to work... at least for a couple of days until a saw a couple crawling out again. Needless to say I would not eat anything that was not sealed or stored in the refrigerator. The toilet in one of the bathroom ran constantly keeping us awake at night & 2 times during our 6 night stay we walked into the bathroom to find a puddle of water on the floor. YUCK. They have 2 restaurants at Villa del Palmar. Bella California & Tortugas. (There are restaurants at the sister resorts which we did not try on this trip). Bella California has a nice breakfast buffet and is located at the beach with beautiful views. At night they serve Italian food. The food was passable, not great. The second restaurant, Tortugas, seems to be used solely for the timeshare people for breakfast. It may have been available for guests, but always looked empty when the timeshare people were not there. For dinner, they have the "festivals" in Tortugas. Dinners (for adults) were listed at $37 USD or $32 USD if you had their "Gold Card". The Gold Card gets you 15% off of pretty much everything at the resort & a couple of places in town, but the only way to get it is to attend a timeshare presentation. Be careful of the timeshares here (or anywhere in Cabo... especially the airport). We had time to kill so decided to subject ourselves to the torture for a couple of freebies & discounts. Well, if you show ANY interest at all, the 90 minute presentation becomes a 3 hour ordeal, so just be prepared. There is a nice little market area on the premises. Prices are pretty reasonable and a fairly good variety. There is also a little deli with breakfast foods, sandwiches, pastries and beverages. It is also the internet cafe with about 12 computers. Rates vary from 1/2 hour for $5 USD to $14 USD for 1 day up to $61 USD for an entire week. I believe wifi is offered in all of the rooms but have no idea what the rates are. BUT...if you get a "concierge" that is willing, you can get the password for the hospitality suite's complimentary wifi. It worked out great using our iPads. Although we were given coupons for free welcome drinks, the margaritas were the absolutely the worst I have ever had! REALLY BAD. So opt for a Pina Colada, if given a choice. We will DEFINATELY not be returning to this resort!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Enjoy2Travel2from CA

Nice resort but staff could be better

Posted Oct 26, 2011
Pros: loved our room
Cons: No free Internet
While we enjoyed our stay at this resort, several things fell below our expectations. This resort lacked being hospitable for most of the staff. It was difficult to get someone's attention for service particularly at the pool restaurant. One stand out employee was Esther. She was friendly and always had a smile. We paid upfront for the all-inclusive but yes you still have to sign for everything including bottled water requests. Beware of the extra charge upon checkout for the groundskeeper staff. I am only glad the bill was pesos because at first I thought the bill was in American dollars. Lastly, while I appreciated upon check-in I was told all rooms were non-smoking, unfortunately this meant inhaling smoke anywhere you wanted to sit outdoors. It would have been nice if there was an area dedicated to non-smoking for those wanting to relax outside. I would recommend this resort to a friend but would also let them know what to expect of the staff and other things we thought were negative. To end on a positive note, our room was fantastic, large, and clean. Overall, the resort is well-maintained.
3 out of 5
by jlowrie33

Nice hotel.. but some advice

Posted Aug 12, 2011
Pros: great room with a small kitchen
Cons: Nothing close, bad service at the pool bar, forgot to clean our room half the time
Our room was excellent. Staff upfront was great. However.. The bar at the pool had TERRIBLE service. Downright rude. I talked to a few other guests who felt the same way. Be prepared to be completely ignored and don't expect them to crack a smile. (even if you're a tipper like myself) Cleaning service: For some reason they forgot to clean our room 3 of the 6 nights we stayed. Pool area.. If you have kids, it's a little awkward. The top pool is intended for adults. The bottom pool during the day has volleyball with A LOT of yelling.. the pool is pretty much taken over. Most of us with kids would just ignore the rules and use the top pool anyway. That being said, we DID have a nice stay there. The room was great and overall pretty pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by snooperfrom Vegas

Pleasently surprised

Posted Jul 12, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet, pushy sales staff for time-share purchase
My wife and I went for a short honey moon at Villa del Palmar. The experience was great. Staff very attentive to our needs, extremely friendly. Food was great, except the buffets at the evening events. A lot of activities for the whole family. Pleanty of restaurants along the beach, great music. all activities end aroung 11pm so you can rest in the room without any noise. We went during the first week of june and the weather was just perfect. Be aware this is a time-share resort and part of the package may force you to listen a sales pitch for 2 hours so they can honor the all- inclusive package. Sales people are very aggresive. Enjoy and have a wonderful time! I recommend this particular hotel because of the location and the friendly staff. The staff is fluent in English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kellyg

We will be back...

Posted Apr 17, 2011
We stayed for 6 nights at the Villa del Palmar and will definitely be back next year. The location of the property was perfect for us...a nice walk to downtown Cabo San Lucas where we could enjoy the marina area and local shops & bars, but far enough away from the really loud party hotels that were closer to downtown. The service was excellent - very friendly (not really fast service, but I think that is just Mexico!) and the food was delicious - wonderful breakfast bar each morning - could order anything off the menu & eat by the pool or the ocean as well. Nightly themed buffets was another option. (I recommend the Mexican buffet). They do require that you sign a receipt after each drink or food purchase. The receipt includes a line for gratuity...not really sure if we had to include a tip each time they brought us a drink, but we did. The staff really worked hard. I think next time we will just give cash though vs. charging the tips to our room...this added up to a substantial charge at the end of the week. The grounds were immaculate, our room was beautiful & very clean, bed was comfy! One issue that we had: we booked online & could only choose "Junior Suite" for all-inclusive. We didn't get an option of ocean view or mountain view, etc. We called the hotel prior to our arrival to try to confirm an ocean view room, but were told we had to wait for check in. We did get an ocean view room, however, there was an upgrade charge ($250 USD for the week). The view was amazing, but it would have been nice to know this up front when booking. Another issue was the daily bombardment of the time-share/condo staff - we were not interested in buying a condo or attending a presentation & made that clear the first day. We still were asked daily & every time we left the property. They were pretty relentless...we just kept saying "no thank you". I would also highly recommend Cabo Expeditions for the whale watching tour. Overall, the best vacation we've ever had! We will stay at this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AmyGfrom Colorado Springs, CO

Take me back to CABO!

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: faster internet was expensive
What an enjoyable time! The beach is beautiful...although steep to reach the waters edge but we really found the pool to be a fun place to participate in activities. We have a 9 year old son and he thoroughly enjoyed the slide, poolside BINGO, and pool volleyball. The activity staff are very personable and have a great sense of humor! We loved our room albeit it was not an ocean side room it was still clean, fresh and beautiful. The on-site market is so convenient for any snacks or breakfast ...good food with reasonable prices. The best part was the close close proximity to downtown for shopping, food, and nightlife. Lastly, we took a fishing tour that made the trip very memorable. If you haven't fished Cabo, you're really missing out! Our concierge helped us with a charter. Don't be afraid of anything at this resort. Es Muy Bueno!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by happyriderfrom Grand Rapids, MN

This resort had a grat location and wonderful staff.

Posted Feb 18, 2011
Pros: Quiet
We enjoyed our stay there. The staff was always nice and quick to serve you. The location was perfect. We had amazing views of the beach and it was just a quick water taxi to Cabo. The rooms were always clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Reynoldsfrom Denver

Would go again!

Posted Feb 18, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, very friendly and hard working staff
Cons: No free Internet
We were looking for a beautiful beach, clean, nice hotel, nice pools and good food. We found all of that at Villa del Palmar. The highlight of our trip was the entertainment staff. They work so hard, are funny, entertaining, they made the trip! This place is not "fancy" but perfectly suitable for what we were looking for and we feel like we received a great value for the money! Would go back!