Ratings based on 66 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ktadeufrom Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Great vacantion...

Posted Oct 26, 2013
I was with my wife for a week and found the hotel very comfortable, the service and the services provided were very good, the breakfast and other meals with plenty of options and excellent quality. The place has a wonderful look and is close to the main attractions to put 40 minutes from Cancun. Despite some criticism I read here, so we were very good and recommend this vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A travelerfrom Kansas

Great family vacation!

Posted Jul 30, 2013
We booked this trip about 6 months ago with 35 other family and friends.  The resort and grounds were just beautiful.  The service was terrific.  We were able to make reservations in two of the restaurants.  They were both delicious.  I love food so this was important to me.  Our only complaint is that we wish there was a little more night life on the resort.  But all in all a great place to go and relax.  We would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by nobuenofrom San Francisco, CA

Worst Experience

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Picked this resort based off of previous reviews that said this place was nice. It was nothing of the sort. We reserved two rooms but upon check-in, got assigned rooms in separate buildings across the resort. We were told that the hotel was completely booked, however it never seemed filled to capacity. First night, got attacked by mosquitos in the room and ended up getting huge welts on our bodies for the rest of trip. Beds were rock hard and not comfortable at all. Phone lines did not work. Showers were not well cleaned, one towel was hanging off the rack with dirty stains, elevator was inoperable, food was either bland or super salty (it may be all inclusive but you won't want to eat the food here).  During our stay there was a thunderstorm. We had dinner reservations at one of the resort's restaurants. The roof started to leak, with water pouring out of the lighting panels. Within a matter of ten minutes, the entire restaurant was flooded. Because we had already placed our orders beforehand, we sat in two inches of water, stuffed our mouths and tried to flee back to our rooms. According the wait staff, the place leaks and floods with every rainstorm. I don't understand why the resort would not make repairs if they are already aware of this situation. This may seem like a harsh review however it is sadly all true. I'm not a frequent reviewer of any business but I felt the need to warn others amongst the many positive reviews this place has received. If I paid money to stay at a resort recommended by reviewers, I would expect to know the truth. The only positive aspect of this place were the friendly servers and hotel staff, they gave great service to the extent possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by meganita83from San Francisco, CA

Can't Wait to Go Back!

Posted May 3, 2013
We stayed here from April 25-30th and had a fabulous time!  We had a little trouble checking in- the type of room we booked wasn't available, but they did upgrade us for a night.  Which was nice, but we then had to move rooms the following day.  It all worked out though and we got settled in and started enjoying the beautiful grounds and amenities.  It was my first trip to an all inclusive resort and I enjoyed it very much.  I could have used a little more variety in food, as it starts to get boring after a few days- but the quality was very good.  My favorite part of the whole place has to be the bar on the beach, and Roberth the bartender.  We were there every night and had so much fun!  The whole staff was very nice and courteous but we can't wait to head back next year and have more drinks made by Roberth!
3 out of 5
by Stush1973from Houston, TX

The water was very rocky!!!!!!

Posted May 1, 2013
I had read some reviews and people said the water had rocks...But holly cow. We went to the beach only once because it was so rocky. No one posted that the pool and hot tub(Which is for adults only) closed at 7:00pm everyday!! I was really upset about that. The food was okay nothing to write home about. After the second day I was ready for McDonald's...lol The people there are very nice. The people cleaned 24/7. Hotel is very clean. The pool was the highlight of the trip. If you have kids with you they will absolutely love it!! I took my 5 year old and he had a blast.. The room was very nice. We stay in building 14 in a one bedroom suite. The view was to die for. But like I said before the beach was beautiful but we couldn't use it. As a matter of fact the whole week we saw about 15 people in it and they were about ankle deep..I had planned this trip for about a year and I would have to say if I only knew what I know now I would have stayed in Cancun or Playa Del Carmen. But if you just want to swim in a pool then this is your place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by browndwarffrom BC Canada

Great resort love it's size

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
Except for the guests that let their kids run wild in the resteraunt and the attempted lounger saving at the pool this is a great place to vacation. Staff could not be better Rooster, Carlos and the gang at the pool very friendly and helpful. Did not meet any staff we did not like or become friends with. This small resort is great for service and meeting new friends I will gladly rebook for future vacations
1 out of 5
by Kammifrom Colleyville, TX, USA

El Cid = El Terrible : A timeshare plot wrapped in a locals hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, apathetic front desk, timeshare sales high pressure, horrible mattress, no running water on last day, rocks-jagged rocks at beach, overcrowded locals hotel, smell of sewer from ponds, overcrowded shuttle bus, uncomfortable high pressure check in for club plat, a/c wasn't working first day
This was just a BAD decision to stay here- 1)Front desk apathetic to any concerns (Diego,Paulo)- unable to fix a mattress that I couldn't sleep on because of the springs coming through. I didn't want a different room- just change out the mattress- no can do. Pillows were pancakes (had to request 4 additional at night). We called to discuss with front desk about the bed and and then asked for a manager/supervisor to help, but they could never bring him/her to phone. Called at night,same story- the run around. Walked to front desk to ask to speak- not there, I was told. Said they would take care of, but never did. 2) NO running water on our last day- unable to let us USE another room to take a shower and use bathroom! When the water came back on-pressure was just enough to wash you hair if you held the showerhead right over your head to let it drip the water out. 3)Sewer smell coming from the local pond outside our room. (didn't appear to have any filtration system- so had pretty funky smell as you approach the rooms) 4)If you think the timeshare salespeople are tough at the airport- wait until you get to the hotel and checkin- then it begins a piranha feeding frenzy.-Club Platinum,snorkel,scuba,massages,etc They are not discreet about what they are doing to each and every person that came throught the doors. (we had drinks in lobby and watched them in action- high-fiving each other after a sold deal- crazy. 4)Waiters are nice and I tipped for their service in appreciation.-they worked hard for you. 5)This is a locals hotel. I had a chance to visit with a few and they were here with their families- kiddos, aunts, uncles, grandparents,nieces, nephews. Very large groups. 6)Do NOT come here for the beach- the sand is fine- the ocean is loaded with ROCKS, ROCKS, ROCKS- not pebbles, BUT asphalt-type, jagged rocks! Wow-we found a 10x10ft area in isolated spots that we could wade in that was sand- as long as you didn't sway from that area. 7)Overall, just GO SOMEWHERE ELSE- !
1 out of 5
by dunklesfrom Bay Area, California

Time Share Sharks

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Pros: lovely setting
Cons: No free Internet, sales staff ruthless
We purchased a time share with El Cid a few years ago. We went to this location in July. When they wanted to upgrade our time share to a higher level we were not interested. Instead we shared with them our disappointment with the low cost airfare and RCI component of the time share package. They not only weren't interested, but became rude as they tried to get us out of the sales area. We returned a few days later to try and talk to someone else that we hoped would be more responsive. That person became more defensive and threatened to fine us money, per our contract, if we spoke about our dissatisfaction to any other guests. We were shocked that buried in the fine print of our contract there was a clause that controlled our conversation while staying on this property. We clearly made a bad decision to join this time share, but we hope our experience will help others spend their money ANYWHERE in Mexico but an EL Cid resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by soonerbootsfrom lawton ok

very clean , great staff

Posted May 31, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet
I will not hesitate to book this hotel again. Great time!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda123loveswaterfrom Washington

Great size for property - not overwhelming!

Posted May 14, 2012
We really enjoyed our recent stay. The restaurants (for evening - by reservation only) had outstanding food! The buffet food was good - but got boring after a couple of days - the menu didn't change much. We really enjoyed the area of the beach that was for adults only - much quieter. The water was a disspointment in that there was much seaweed - you had to go way out to not be dealing with it floating in the water. would I go back? I'm not sure - as there are so many other places to go in our great world. If someone told me they were thinking of going there, would I encourage them to do so? Yes.