Ratings based on 16 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by VirginiaLEHRfrom Richmond, CA

Average all around-and this is a good thing!

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, nice staff
ROOMS-the bathrooms need some serious updating. If you notice details like I do, you will be a bit distracted by corner cutting. STAFFING-The staff was lovely and you can tell they did their jobs very well. The cleaning ladies were very detail oriented and the front desk was pleasant and helpful. OVERALL-I wouldn't call the room extra cozy, or the complimentary breakfast good, the "ocean view" was taking the word "partial" to it's limit, and the location was a few blocks away from perfect. But overall it did the job, I was well rested every morning, and happy to return at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by EPMWfrom New Jersey, USA

We were there for our son's wedding. I slept wonderfully and the service was great. Good value for the dollar!

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, comfortable bed and pillows, location
Very pleased with our stay. Would return in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by pilikia7from Orange County, CA

The hotel was quiet and the staff friendly.

Posted Dec 14, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet
For an older property it is quite well maintained. We had a drippy faucet and they sent a man to fix it in a timely manner. The free breakfast is nothing special. Overall we would stay there again. It is in downtown La Jolla and once the car is parked you can walk to many cafes and shops.
5 out of 5
by psca

Good time in LaJolla!

Posted Oct 12, 2011
Staff was helpful; room was pleasant; good breakfast selection;great location for walking to food & shopping.
3 out of 5
by onther0adfrom CA

Truly it was average in service. No "thank you's etc."

Posted Jun 26, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Noisy, Poor breakfast, uncomfortable bed/pillows
Our room was on the second floor in a corner - we THOUGHT -"great! A quiet room".. WRONG---we could hear kids in the pool well past the hours of operation. Our bed was so hard I don't think I slept more than an hour and the pillows were too bulky and made our necks ache all night and into the next day. I ended up using my jacket rolled up and when my husband finally fell asleep, it was without a pillow for the same reason. We're average people, we don't need fluff, just common comfort. Breakfast was horrible - we couldn't bear to stay. It was not inviting looking. I would rather that they didn't even offer a free breakfast - we went to a restaurant down the street. Although the accomodations weren't what we believed they would be, our purpose in going was fulfilled. Next time we'll pick a different hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ChoosyTraveller

Nice room, great pool, dull breakfast

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
The room was nice--a little small, but OK. The mini-balcony was a nice touch. The outdoor pool was lots of fun--again, small, but not crowded. After a few days semi-swimming in moderate surf, my kids were happy to have a chance to swim in something less challenging. The breakfast was subpar. Dry, heavy bagels; bland scrambled eggs; limited selection of cereal. I think we mostly wound up eating yogurt. The parking was problematic, too; the underground lot was *really* cramped, making it difficult to get in and out without damaging something.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Savananahafrom dc

Great hotel. Only thing lacking is a health club.

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Good hotel and great location.I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is situated right by restaurants and the cove.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sydney1133from St Petersburg, Florida

This hotel is a great value with a great location.

Posted Feb 3, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
We loved La Jolla and this hotel was a great value. We had oceanview with beautiful sunsets every night and we were a walk away from the beach. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and catered to our every need. Breakfast was not the best but it was free and you could go if you needed something quick. There was always coffee and fruit available.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice location but dated

Posted Nov 20, 2010
While in a great location, this hotel is dated and has water issues. The first morning there was NO hot water and no apology or explanation from the hotel. The other mornings, the water pulsed hot and cold. Parking is also $*/day, although I did not find anything on their website outlining the parking policy. Two bottles of water a day was a nice suprise but I would rather not pay for parking and drink tap water. Brcause the hotel is older, the sink vality area is small. It is stocked with a coffee maker etc. as well as a large plastic shell that holds the hotel provide tioletries, leaving no room for your personal items.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great location!

Posted Aug 7, 2010
We had a great week at the Best Western Inn by the Sea. The hotel is located in the heart of the La Jolla shopping district. We walked to shopping, resteraunts and the beach. Lots of extras like ice coffee in the afternoon, baskets of apples in the lobby and a breakfast by the pool are all included. The hotel was clean and our room was comfortable. Kids had fun in the pool. The front desk staff was very helpful. The laundry room was closed during our visit and parking is limited.