Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"We had great time here. Based on some reviews we were concerned about the quality of food but the food is really, really good so don’t understand what ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 30 Aug 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star beachfront property near Mujeres Beach

Beachfront retreat

At this Costa Mujeres property, you'll be within 3 miles (5 km) of Mujeres Beach and 6 miles (10 km) of Playa Mujeres Golf Club. Punta Sam Beach and Punta Sam Ferry Terminal are also within 6 miles (10 km).

All-inclusive

This all-inclusive property features free water park access, a full-service spa, and a nightclub. Enjoy a day at the beach snorkeling, or relax with sun loungers. There's fun for all ages with a free kid's club and a children's pool, and supervised childcare is an added bonus.

Free WiFi, flat-screen TVs

In addition to flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, the 740 guestrooms offer free WiFi and balconies or patios. Living rooms, minibars, and free bottled water are also available.

Standard Double Room (U)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Double Room, Partial Ocean View (U)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Family Room (B)

Bed Count 4 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Family Suite, 2 Bedrooms (M)

Bed Count 4 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Suite (M)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Double Room, Partial Ocean View (B)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Riu Dunamar All Inclusive ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Riu Dunamar All Inclusive

Everyone (10) Couples (4) Family (8)
2 out of 5
Stayed At RIU Dunmar On 10/5 , When We Arrived There The Hotel Looked Nice . Check In Went Well. The Problems Started Once We Got To Our room , There Was Trash Outside Our Door , Our Room Wasnt That Clean &’ Our “Open Bar” Mini Fridge Was Not Stocked. As We Changed Our Clothes To Head To The Pool . We Went To The Towel Booth With Our Towel Cards &’ Was Told There Was No More Towels. ( Idk If It Was Cause We Were People Of Color ) But Others That Were Not Our Race Was Still Receiving Towels . We Brushed It Off &’ Still Attempted To Go To The SwimUp Bar , When We Got Over There At 5:30 We Was Told They We’re Done Serving Drinks ( The Bar Closes At 6PM) , But They Gave Another Couple A Line Of Rainbow Shots. Frustrated , We Left &’ Attempted To Go Received Food. As Our Stay Was All Inclusive Let’s Attempt To Get Food. When We Went To The Restaurants We Were Told We Had To Dress Formal In Order To Eat. (ITS 90 DEGREES IN CANCUN ALL WE HAD WAS SHORTS AND TEES) . People Were Walking In The Restaurants With Bathing Suits On. The Next Day Was My Cousins Birthday &’ We Tried To See If We Could Dress Up For One Of Their Fancy Restaurants. We Headed To The Lobby &’ To The Restaurant. We Were Told To Go To The Front Desk For Reservations But We We’re Leaving For Excursions So We Just Called Over The Phone (12pM Their Time). We Were Told No Reservations The Fancy Restaurants Closed At 9:30 . We Got Down There Only To Be Told We Could Not Be Accommodated. If You’re Blck Stay In Hotel Zone!

Posted by on Oct 10, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 14, 2021 by Online Reputation Manager

Dear Qualisha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It saddens us to hear that your stay was anything less than pleasing due to the issues in your room and the inconveniences your described above. Certainly, this is not the kind of experience we would like our valued guest to have and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. We take complaints very seriously at our property. Please know, that your voice has been heard and this and we will use your feedback to optimize operations where necessary. It is our hope that you provide us an opportunity to be at your service again. In the meantime, we sincerely hope that you remain healthy and safe during this unprecedented time. Take care; we hope we can be at your service again. Warm regards, Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager

2 out of 5
Disappointing if you have stayed at other resorts along the coast in Mexico. The decor is generic to say the least. I did not feel like I was at a 4 star hotel in Cancun, they could have at least tried to use bright colors to make it feel less like you're at some club in the US. All Inclusive is a complete lie. They charge for the spa, the gym and some of the activities available. This was a first considering that even in the cheapest of hotels the gym is always free. Some of the servers were super kind, we always over tipped them and tried to sit at the tables they served throughout the week. Except one lady that rolled her eyes at me when I asked for a cup of water. I speak Spanish & I know how to use "usted" "gracias" and "por favor", so this was so uncalled for. Oh yeah, and the cherry on top of all the disappointment, my parents woke up at 5a the second night because of the itching. There was bed bugs. Yup, bed bugs. The manager upgraded them to a suite & still even the suite was okay. Again, it's disappointing because for the price we paid we know there are better hotels out there. Now, I understand that it's in September probably the slow season, after a pandemic, & they are probably understaffed, so we were very patient because we know the staff is not at fault. However, Riu needs to make some major changes to this Hotel in order to make it more appealing. We will not be going back.

Posted by on Sep 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 1, 2021 by Online Reputation Manager

Dear Marilyn, We appreciate you taking the time to evaluate your recent stay at Hotel Riu Dunamar. Please accept our apologies that we did not live up to the standards you have come to expect from us and for the unsatisfactory service you received from our front desk associates. As we are committed to providing exceptional service, what you have described is unacceptable and not what we pride ourselves on providing. We can assure you this experience was below our typical standards. We are grateful to you for bringing these concerns to our attention which we take very seriously. Your feedback will be shared with the management team to use as an opportunity to improve upon our guest experiences. To end, we are surprised to read your comment regarding your idea of what the All-Inclusive concept stands for. Please know, an All-Inclusive vacation means that your stay, unlimited food, drinks, activities and entertainment are all included in the resort's booking price. All charges for extra services are correctly displayed wherever you can book our hotel. However, while as advertised the Renova Spa is offered with an extra charge, the gym is free. We are sorry if you missed this information when booking our hotel. It is our hope you will consider a future visit in order to experience the level of hospitality we are typically known for providing to our beloved guests. Respectfully, Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager

5 out of 5
People very nice

Posted by on Sep 19, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
We had great time here. Based on some reviews we were concerned about the quality of food but the food is really, really good so don’t understand what else somebody would want….I can not say the same about deserts, they were not that great. Good drinks, they have lots of brand name whiskey, liquor again I do not understand the bad reviews about that. The complains are: no umbrellas on the beach!!!!!! This is awful since the palm trees can not give somebody all day shade, so, everyone on the beach had to move the launch chairs every hour or so in different spots to have some shade… of course we did burn, this is horrible and a deal breaker for us since we only stay to the beach. The water in the pools we tried once is literally boiling, very unpleasant. Other than that everything was really nice. We had great time here and would consider coming back in the future.

Posted by on Aug 30, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Very clean

Posted by on Jul 31, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Very cheap alcohol, restaurant food was terrible and deserts were all from a box none were homemade and tasted terrible. Pool closes at 7:30 that’s ridiculous. You need a mask to get a towel outside??? But 20 feet away outside you can order a drink at the pool with NO mask?

Posted by on Jul 30, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 3, 2021 by Online Reputation Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing the Hotel Riu Dunamar and for taking your valuable time to share your impressions. We lament that our gastronomic and beverages offer did not reach your expectations. We will be sure to pass this on to our Chef for future improvement. We are sorry that the pool closing time was not as you expected. We please hope for your understanding that we need to close at this time in order to guarantee a deep clean which is done during the night time. We are looking forward to having the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 3, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The staff was very friendly and they were constantly cleaning. I enjoyed the food. You can tell that chefs put a lot of thought into it. My room was ocean front and I enjoyed every bit of it!!!!

Posted by on Apr 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on Apr 21, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Overall very nice resort except its fairly isolated and taxi fare for 3 miles to the ferry port was over priced. 22 dollars each way which matched my day tour price to isle majuries

Posted by on Apr 18, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?

All-inclusive Details

This property is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included. Additional gratuities at guests' discretion are accepted.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet and à la carte meals, snacks, and beverages included
  • In-room minibar (all beverages included)
  • In-room liquor dispensers

Activities and facilities/equipment
All non-motorized water sports are included.

Water activities

  • Scuba-diving lessons
  • Snorkeling

Entertainment

  • Onsite entertainment and activities
  • Onsite live performances

Not included

  • Motorized water sports
  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Childcare
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Activities and services offered by independent operators
  • Offsite tours
  • Transportation to offsite activities

  • Taxes included
  • Buffet-style meals included
  • Onsite entertainment and activities included
  • A la carte dining included
  • Gratuities included
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • All meals included
  • Childcare not included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • All available beverages included
  • Minibar (all beverages included)
  • Scuba lessons included
  • In-room liquor dispensers
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Activities/services from independent operators not included
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • Onsite live performances included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Riu Dunamar All Inclusive is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. As a guest of Riu Dunamar All Inclusive, you'll find a full-service spa, a complimentary water park, and 5 outdoor swimming pools. There are 5 restaurants on site, as well as a snack bar/deli and a grocery/convenience store. For a drink, you can stop by one of the onsite bars, including 2 swim-up bars and 6 bars/lounges. Free breakfast is available daily. WiFi is free in public spaces. A children's pool, a health club, and a nightclub are also featured at the family-friendly Riu Dunamar All Inclusive. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Costa Mujeres property.

  • 1 building
  • 740 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • 5 dining venues
  • 2 swim-up bars
  • 6 bars or lounges
  • 128 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 2017
  • Buffet breakfast (free)
  • Nightclub
  • Deli
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Conference space
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Convenience store
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • Bar by the pool

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free water park access
  • Number of outdoor pools - 5
  • Children's pool
  • Waterslide
  • Number of living rooms
  • Free WiFi
  • Children's club (free)
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Playground on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Riu Dunamar All Inclusive offers 740 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Accommodations offer separate living rooms. Flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels. Rooms have partially open bathrooms. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Bathrooms are partially open
  • Private balcony or patio
  • Living room
  • Minibar
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan

Food & Drink

Guests are served free buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10:30 AM.

Isla Mujeres - This buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Kulinarium - This restaurant serves dinner only. Open daily.

Pompeya - This buffet restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves dinner only. Open daily.

Bamboo - This buffet restaurant specializes in Asian cuisine and serves dinner only. Open daily.

Las Brasas - This steakhouse serves dinner only. Open daily.

Nearby Activities

5 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a children's pool. Other recreational amenities include a complimentary water park, a health club, a spa tub, and a steam room.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Playground on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Scuba diving on site
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Kayaking on site
  • Windsurfing on site

Spa Services

Renova Spa has 2 treatment rooms. Massages are available on the beach and in the spa; other services include facials and body treatments. The spa is equipped with a spa tub and a steam room.

The spa is open daily. Guests under 18 years old are not allowed in the spa.

  • Spa tub in spa
  • Number of treatment rooms 2
  • Steam room in spa
  • Minimum age to access spa is 18
  • Massages on beach
  • Body treatments
  • Facial treatments
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 11:30 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Riu Dunamar All Inclusive

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 21 years old

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 21 years old. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, and American Express. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; the property is cleaned and disinfected with electrostatic spray. Personal protective equipment, including masks, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; masks are required in public areas.

  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are not available
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are not washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Reservation is not required for facilities onsite
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Food service has been amended for enhanced safety
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property follows regional sanitization guidelines National Guidelines for reopening Tourism (Mexico)
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Covid-19 Health Protocol (RIU)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for dinner

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A tax is imposed by the city: MXN 25.35 per accommodation, per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property Costa Mujeres
  • All-inclusive property Riu Dunamar All Inclusive Costa Mujeres
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property Costa Mujeres
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive Costa Mujeres
  • Costa Mujeres Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property
  • All-inclusive property Riu Dunamar All Inclusive Costa Mujeres
  • Costa Mujeres Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property Costa Mujeres
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive Costa Mujeres
  • All-inclusive property Riu Dunamar All Inclusive
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive Costa Mujeres
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property
  • Riu Dunamar All Inclusive All-inclusive property Costa Mujeres

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for golf tee times, massage services, and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the property before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Travelife, a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.

url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Costa-Mujeres-Hotels-Riu-Dunamar-All-Inclusive.h18133944-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Costa-Mujeres-Hotels-Riu-Dunamar-All-Inclusive.h18133944-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Costa-Mujeres-Hotels-Riu-Dunamar-All-Inclusive.h18133944-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.