Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"It was ok. You can not go in the water. So there for, its to much " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 30 Mar 2019

Hotel Description

Enjoy 2 restaurants at this 3-star Chesapeake Beach hotel

On waterfront

At this Chesapeake Beach hotel, you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Chesapeake Beach Water Park and 20 miles (32 km) of Show Place Arena. Six Flags America and FedEx Field are also within 32 miles (52 km).

Full-service spa, indoor pool

A full-service spa, 2 restaurants, and an indoor pool are all featured at this smoke-free hotel. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center and free WiFi in public areas. You'll appreciate the fitness center, bar/lounge, and coffee shop.

Free WiFi, iPod docks

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and coffee/tea makers, the 72 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. IPod docks, DVD players, and room service are also available.

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Double Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Rod 'N' Reel Resort ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.8 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Rod 'N' Reel Resort

Everyone (6) Couples (1) Family (2)
1 out of 5
Will not return due to poor service and ignorant staff.

Posted by , from Norfolk on Jun 6, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 7, 2020 by Director of Guest Services

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your service here at our property. We do not tolerate that type of behavior and will be speaking to our teams to improve for future guests. Thank you for your feedback and hope you have a great day.

1 out of 5
Poor customer service, the parking is a nightmare,

Posted by on Jun 1, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 11, 2019 by Director of Guest Services

I want to apologize about our parking. We are building a large parking structure that should be completed within the next couple of months. We try our best by offering Free Valet and 24/7 Shuttle service to our satellite lots. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to make the next time you visit a more pleasurable experience.

3 out of 5

Posted by on May 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 11, 2019 by Director of Guest Services

Thank you for the feedback. We hope you come back again to see all of our new changes and improvements.

4 out of 5
It was ok. You can not go in the water. So there for, its to much

Posted by on Mar 30, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Room smellef of smoke when i first entetef. Nskcony doorwas ajar toeliminTe the ofor.

Posted by on Feb 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 16, 2019 by Management

Thank you for letting us know about your stay we are sorry to hear that the room had a smell, we are a non-smoking hotel even on our balconies. We hope to see you again in the near future for another stay with us.

2 out of 5


Tired hotel with a cute man made beach. Room had a moist mildew feeling. Noisy neighbors, not a pleasant experience. Will not go back.

Posted by , from VA on Jul 17, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5


Room not ready at 3:00 check in. We were told that because we booked through Travelocity, we were put in least expensive room, which was a handicapped room with water view mostly blocked by a/c. Since our room wasn't ready at 3, they "upgraded" to a room with better view- which was what it should've been to begin with. But without balcony as it should've also had. Their "walkable beach" is actually a large sandbox. No access to water, no beach to walk along. Beautifully decorated. Most employees pleasant. One desk person we dealt with a few times --neither friendly not helpful. Stayed three nights. Second day, no housekeeping came . Returned to room at night with nothing cleaned, no new towels etc. walkable beach has seating but no umbrellas -little to no shade depending on time of day, and they didn't allow us to use our own. Local nearby beach was small fenced in area with a cost of $60 for family of four for the day. Was disappointing beach.

Posted by , from 14823 on Jul 26, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Perfect Ocean Getaway

Pros: The Spa
Location: Lots of restaurants around!
I am so satisfied with this hotel, it's the perfect getaway by the sea. The Spa in the hotel was the highlight of my little winter adventure. I highly recommend this location!

Posted by , from Odenton, MD on Jan 18, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 6, 2016 by Stacey Schuhardt, GM

Hello Lia, Thank you for sharing your experience on line. It means so much to know our staff is taking great care of our guests! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

3 out of 5

Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Pros: The rooms, free valet parking, beautiful scenery of the ocean, live music on the sand!!
Cons: customer service (front desk)
Location: Everything was nice. Broad walk, beach, a lot of restaurants, water park, casino etc!!
Hotel was nice. Staff was overwhelmed so we didn't get the best of service. Wasn't greeted with a smile at all. The morning of our check out I had to call the front desk several times until someone answered to get a no to my question which was a little hurtful. We needed a late check out but is very understanding that we couldn't. It's just the way she spoke to me was my problem. Now will I stay here again most likely yes I just hope we'll get better service next time!!

Posted by , from Upper Marlboro, MD on Sep 8, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

Renovations + Closures

The following facilities or services will be unavailable from September 9 2020 to December 31 2020 (dates subject to change):

  • Dining venue(s)

Property Features

Rod 'N' Reel Resort offers its guests a full-service spa, an indoor pool, and a sauna. There are 2 restaurants on site, along with a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. Business amenities include a business center and a meeting room. Event space at this hotel measures 65908 square feet (569 square meters) and includes conference space. A fitness center, tour/ticket assistance, and an arcade/game room are also featured at the business-friendly Rod 'N' Reel Resort. This 3-star Chesapeake Beach hotel is smoke free.

  • 72 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • 2 dining venues
  • 65908 sq ft of conference space
  • 569 sq m of conference space
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Beauty salon
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Arcade/game room
  • Miniature golf on site
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


  • Airport: Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) (59.7 km / 37.1 mi)

Room Amenities

Rod 'N' Reel Resort offers 72 air-conditioned accommodations with iPod docking stations and DVD players. Televisions come with cable channels. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks, safes, and phones. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • IPod dock
  • In-room dining
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast for a fee.

Rod N Reel Restaurant - This restaurant specializes in seafood and serves breakfast and dinner. Happy hour is offered.

Boardwalk Cafe - This beachfront restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Room service is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool, a sauna, and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Miniature golf on site
  • Fishing on site

Spa Services

Guests can indulge in a pampering treatment at the hotel's full-service spa. Services include hot stone massages, facials, body wraps, and body scrubs. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy.

  • Hot stone massage
  • Prenatal massage
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Facial treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Massages


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve onsite parking

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve onsite parking. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast.The property affirms that it adheres to the SafeStay (AHLA - USA) sanitization guidelines.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast


Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 25.00 per accommodation, per day
  • Resort fee: USD 20.00 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Fitness center access
  • Business center/computer access
  • Internet access
  • Newspaper
  • Phone calls
  • Faxes
  • In-room coffee
  • Concierge service
  • Self parking
  • Valet parking
  • Housekeeping

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Chesapeake Beach Hotel And Spa
  • Chesapeake Beach Hotel Chesapeake Beach
  • Rod 'N' Reel Resort Hotel
  • Rod 'N' Reel Resort Chesapeake Beach
  • Rod 'N' Reel Resort Hotel Chesapeake Beach

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing'N'-Reel-Resort.h1050433-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Chesapeake-Beach-Hotels-Rod-'N'-Reel-Resort.h1050433-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301'N'-Reel-Resort.h1050433-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.