Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.5 out of 5

"Wonderful stay. Lisa at Reception was exceptional! She went above and beyond her duties. Shelia was also was very helpful! Bar and restaurant were gre ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 28 Apr 2018

Hotel Description

Family-friendly 3-star hotel near Eyre Square

In Galway

You'll find Eyre Square and National University of Ireland-Galway within 3 miles (5 km) of this Galway hotel. Galway Irish Crystal Heritage Centre and Galway Mayo Institute of Technology are also within half a mile (1 km).

4 indoor pools

This smoke-free hotel features 4 indoor pools, a 24-hour health club, and a restaurant. There's fun for all ages with a children's club and a children's pool, and families will appreciate the onsite laundry facilities. Enjoy the steam room and perks like free self parking and free WiFi.

Free WiFi, flat-screen TVs

In addition to flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, the 358 guestrooms offer free WiFi and room service. Other amenities include premium bedding, free newspapers, and hair dryers.

Double Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$71* Per night/room Feb 18 - Feb 19

Quadruple Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Family Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Triple Room

Bed Count 3 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Classic Triple Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Classic Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

The Connacht Hotel ratings based on 4 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 5.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 5.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 5.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Connacht Hotel

Everyone (3) Couples (1)
5 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 19, 2019 by l

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5/5 rating following your recent positive stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. I hope that you will return to stay with us on your next trip to Galway. Thank you for staying with us. Kindest regards, Louise Pettit Guest Relations Manager

4 out of 5
The staff at check in was extremely helpful and friendly. The waitstaff at the restaurant however were not very attentive on slow. I am unsure if this was because they were new or just slow. The room was clean and comfortable. Was also an easy commute to the main town and shopping.

Posted by on Jul 25, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 30, 2019 by l

Thank you for your 4/5 rating and feedback following your recent stay with us. I am very happy that there were many aspects of your visit that were to your full satisfaction in particualar the "extremely friendly and helpful service of the Reception Team, they will be delighted that their service enhanced the overall enjoyment of your visit. I am sorry that you did not experience our usually very high standard of service while dining with us. I have shared your feedback with the Food and Beverage Managment Team, so that they can address this unfortunate service breakdown directly witht the Team and use it for training purposes. I hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Galway Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Warm regards, Louise Pettit Guest Relations Manager

5 out of 5
Wonderful stay. Lisa at Reception was exceptional! She went above and beyond her duties. Shelia was also was very helpful! Bar and restaurant were great. The food in the restaurant was top notch and Celiac friendly! King size Bed was firm and we had plenty of pillows for comfort. Housekeeping kept our room stocked with coffee/tea and water everyday. There is a kettle in the room. We were on the 3rd floor, B-Wing and found it to be quiet. Hotel was a mile from Erye Square, which for us, was walking distance. Close by convenience stores and bus stops. Bus to Shannon airport was a 10 minute walk, not bad at all. Also, there are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The indoor pool looked inviting, we just did not have the time to enjoy it. (Water/Swim caps are mandatory and can be purchased at the front desk.) Only complaint: went to use the gym and the staff were a tad rude so we chose not to return.

Posted by , from VA on Apr 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 30, 2018 by Louise Pettit

Dear Angela, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay with us. It was great to read that there were so many aspects of your stay that you fully enjoyed and thank you for your special mention of Lisa and Shelia. They will both be delighted that they helped enhance your positive experience. I am so very sorry that you did not receive the usally very high standard of customer care delivered by our Leisure Club team. I have spoken about your feedback with Andrew the Club Manager to ensure that matter you have raised in your review is addressed with the Team. I wish to assure you that this would certainly not be the usual experience of our Guests and thank you for sharing this with us and giving us the opportunity to rectify this very unfortunate service breakdown. I hope that you will consider returning to us and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kindest regards, Louise Pettit Guest Relations Manager

4 out of 5

Centrally located

Hard to locate due to change in road name--so were we told. Restaurant seemed like hot spot for social activities. hotel restaurant good for meals. Service was adequate.

Posted by , from New York, NY on Jun 20, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the The Connacht Hotel

Location Dublin Road, Galway, Galway

Renovations + Closures

The property is closed between 14 December and 27 December.

Property Features

The Connacht Hotel offers its guests 4 indoor swimming pools, a 24-hour health club, a steam room, and a children's pool. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. There are 9 meeting rooms available. A terrace, barbecue grills, and a garden are also featured at the family-friendly The Connacht Hotel. Self parking is free. This 3-star Galway hotel is smoke free.

  • 358 guestrooms or units
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Kid's club (surcharge)
  • Supervised kid's activities (surcharge)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Concierge
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of indoor pools - 4
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Train station: Galway Station (2.2 km / 1.4 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

The Connacht Hotel offers 358 accommodations with laptop-compatible safes and complimentary newspapers. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Galway hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Electric kettle
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.

Ruebens Restaurant - This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

4 indoor swimming pools are on site along with a children's pool. Other recreational amenities include a 24-hour health club and a steam room.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Sailing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair-accessible on-site restaurant
  • Wheelchair-accessible lounge
  • Wheelchairs available on site
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair-accessible public washroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Wheelchair-accessible pool
  • Wheelchair-accessible meeting spaces/business center

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:30 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The credit card used to book the reservation must be presented by the cardholder at check-in along with matching photo identification. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

This property offers mobile check-in on request. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:30 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.

Pets

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at The Connacht Hotel

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No pets or service animals allowed
  • Debit cards
  • Online Penalty Collection

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: EUR 50.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: EUR 12.50 for adults and EUR 5.25 for children (approximately)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Connacht Galway
  • Connacht Hotel
  • Connacht Hotel Galway
  • Hotel Connacht
  • The Connacht Hotel Hotel
  • The Connacht Hotel Galway
  • The Connacht Hotel Hotel Galway

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.

National Rating

Fáilte Ireland (The National Tourism Development Authority) assigns an official star rating for accommodations in Ireland. This Hotel property is rated 3 stars.

url importing https://travel.travelocity.com/Galway-Hotels-The-Connacht-Hotel.h16232-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Galway-Hotels-The-Connacht-Hotel.h16232-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 https://travel.travelocity.com/Galway-Hotels-The-Connacht-Hotel.h16232-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.