Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.1 out of 5

"We really enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the scenery by the water, nice pool area as well " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 16 Feb 2021

Hotel Description

3-star golf hotel near Sombrero Beach

Seaside stay

Stay at this Marathon hotel and you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Crane Point Museum and Nature Center and 2 miles (3 km) of Fishermen's Community Hospital. Florida Keys Country Club and The Turtle Hospital are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Marina, outdoor pool

This smoke-free hotel's marina and 2 outdoor tennis courts are some of the highlights. Enjoy the outdoor pool and free perks like self-serve breakfast and WiFi in public areas. A poolside bar, a bar/lounge, and a garden are also provided.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and coffee/tea makers, the 59 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and TVs with satellite channels. Rainfall showerheads, ceiling fans, and hair dryers are also available.

Room, 1 King Bed (Chic)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$269* Per night/room May 16 - May 17

Room, 2 Queen Beds (Chic)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony (Captivating)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony (Captivating)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed (Chic)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony (Stunning)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Banana Bay Resort & Marina ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 5.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Banana Bay Resort & Marina

Everyone (17) Couples (5) Family (11)
4 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 9, 2021 by Management

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your rating. I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Safe Travels,

4 out of 5
We really enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the scenery by the water, nice pool area as well

Posted by on Feb 16, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 22, 2021 by Management

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again sometime. Safe Travels

2 out of 5
The property was OK, nothing special. It is not really a resort. On our last night at the hotel I woke up itching, I had bites over my body so I inspected the bed and the mattress. Although I did not find any blood stains on the mattress, I did find hair from a previous guest. The mattress did not have a mattress protector. It should have had one. At check-out I mentioned to the front desk (I did not he was actually the manager) that the mattress did not have a mattress protector and that there were hair on it, his response was that all beds have a mattress protector and even thought my bed did not have one I did not have a direct contact with the hair... I could not believe that the manager would respond like this. He did show any interest when I mentioned the bites, he just ignored it. Very unprofessional manager. We had other small issues that were fixed immediately: the room did not have an extra lamp and did not have chairs. The front desk staff got surprised when we told her that we did not have this items in the room. The room was not checked before it was opened for sale. If you stay at this hotel make sure you check the bed and mattress.

Posted by on Jan 26, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 2, 2021 by Management

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I want to apologize you felt the room was not checked prior to your arrival, but I can assure you all rooms are thoroughly inspected as well as sanitized with our electrostatic sprayer. The items that were in your room are exactly what are in every room as we have one simple layout. The additional Lamp that was placed in your room was an addition upon your request which I am aware we put in. We do not typically add chairs, or tables, or any other furniture as the rooms are as they come. If we have available we will definitely try to accommodate but if we rebuild our rooms for every guest, this would be a magnificent place! I am glad we were able to get everything fixed for you immediately and I hope you give us another chance in the future to have a better memorable stay. Thank you again and B Well.

4 out of 5
Location. View. Staff was great. Nice room. Nice ammenities, even tho we couldnt use the m because of a huge tropical storm. Oh well..next time

Posted by on Nov 24, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 1, 2020 by Management

Dear Guest, Thank you for the 4 out of 5! Glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully next time you are in town there is better weather! Safe Travels,

4 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 31, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 3, 2020 by Management

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the rating. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe Travels,

5 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 20, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 26, 2020 by Management

5 out of 5 with no feedback. Looks good to me! Thank you for the rating. Safe Travels

5 out of 5
Nice and clean outside of the rooms. Staff are quick and polite.

Posted by on Oct 11, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 12, 2020 by Management

Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind review! I will let my staff know you were very satisfied. We hope to see you again sometime. B Well

2 out of 5
This hotel need a lot of improvement. When we arrived we found out the pool was closed for the entire time we were there. I called the day before we left to make sure all amenities were available and no one mentioned the pool being under construction. They also had a box breakfast which was terrible instead of the hot breakfast as promised. Ceiling fan in room, phone and refrigerator did not work. I would not recommend this hotel at all. Terrible

Posted by , from Fort Myers FL on Aug 2, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 3, 2020 by Management

Good afternoon Beth, I am sorry to see your dissatisfaction during your stay with us. I want to apologize for the issues you have brought up here. I wish we could have fixed everything for you while you were still on property. Most guests are not aware where the ceiling fan on off switch is and sometimes wires mistakenly get plugged in to the outlet attached to the switch on the wall. I am guessing that would have been a quick fix. Next time, please just let us know if there is an issue. We want to make your trip enjoyable and not have to worry about things not working. I hope you give us another chance in the future. Safe Travels

2 out of 5
The staff was very accommodating, however, the lights in the room did not work fully and we had to wait 2hrs past our promised check-in.

Posted by , from Florida on Jun 27, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 30, 2020 by Management

Good afternoon S.P, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I want to apologize for the delayed check-in. We are trying to take extra time in the rooms to make sure everyone stays safe and healthy and on occasions this sometimes delays our services. I am glad you thought our staff was very accommodating! I hope you come see us again when things get back to normal! Safe Travels

5 out of 5
All good despite the timing of our trip. We had 2 good days before the Covid-19 craze hit but in all the resort did fantastic.

Posted by , from Pittsburgh on Mar 24, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 26, 2020 by Management

Good afternoon Dan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star rating. I am glad to see you got a good 2 days out of our property. Hopefully you can come back in the future and stay a bit longer! Stay safe!

About the Banana Bay Resort & Marina

Location 4590 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050

Property Features

Banana Bay Resort & Marina offers its guests a marina, outdoor tennis courts, and an outdoor pool. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a poolside bar and a bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. A business center and a meeting room are available. Event space at this hotel measures 200 square feet (19 square meters). Banana Bay Resort & Marina also features barbecue grills, a garden, and a picnic area. This 3-star Marathon hotel is smoke free.

  • 59 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • 200 sq ft of conference space
  • 19 sq m of conference space
  • Breakfast available (free)
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Business facilities
  • 1 conference room
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Front-desk safe
  • Wedding services available
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • ATM
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Transport

  • Airport: Key West Intl. Airport (EYW) (75.7 km / 47 mi)

Room Amenities

Banana Bay Resort & Marina offers 59 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Televisions come with satellite channels. Bathrooms include showers with rainfall showerheads, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Marathon hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered daily and irons/ironing boards can be requested.

  • Television
  • Satellite channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

Guests are served free self-serve breakfast daily from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include outdoor tennis courts, an outdoor pool, and complimentary bicycles.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Free bicycles on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Braille or raised signage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7 AM - 11 PM. If you are planning to arrive after 10:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7 AM - 11 PM.
Guests arriving after 10:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 65.00 per accommodation, per week
  • Only dogs are allowed
  • Weight limit: 65 lbs
  • Food and water bowls are available

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

The property's pool, cable TV, and continental breakfast is not currently available due to Hurricane Irma.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; masks are required in public areas. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Reservation is not required for facilities onsite
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Resort fee: USD 31.50 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Beach towels
  • Internet access
  • Phone calls
  • Faxes
  • In-room safe
  • In-room coffee
  • Self parking
  • Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 65.00 per accommodation, per week
  • Late check-out fee: USD 50.00 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Banana Bay Marathon
  • Banana Bay Resort Marathon
  • Banana Resort
  • Banana Bay Resort
  • Banana Bay
  • Banana Bay & Marina Marathon
  • Banana Bay Resort & Marina Hotel
  • Banana Bay Resort & Marina Marathon
  • Banana Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Marathon-Hotels-Banana-Bay-Resort-&-Marina.h921804-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Marathon-Hotels-Banana-Bay-Resort-&-Marina.h921804-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Marathon-Hotels-Banana-Bay-Resort-&-Marina.h921804-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.