Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"The property was nice, but needs a lot of upgrades. You have to watch your step when walking out of the room if you're staying in the upper cliff bui ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 30 Mar 2019

Hotel Description

3.5-star beach resort near Seven Mile Beach

Seaside stay

Your stay at this West End resort places you within 3 miles (5 km) of Seven Mile Beach and Negril Lighthouse. Throne Room and Time Square Mall are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Poolside dining

A full-service spa, 2 restaurants, and 2 outdoor pools are all featured at this smoke-free resort. Enjoy a day at the beach snorkeling, or relax with sun loungers. Enjoy the outdoor tennis court and perks like free self parking and a free area shuttle.

Free WiFi, cable TV

The 50 individually furnished guestrooms offer free WiFi and room service. TVs come with cable channels, and other amenities include furnished balconies or patios and in-room massages.

Pillar House Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Gardenside Junior Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room (Garden Side)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Oceanside family Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Superior Room (Ocean Side)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Samsara Resort ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.3 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Samsara Resort

Everyone (3) Couples (2) Family (1)
4 out of 5

Posted by , from Michigan on Feb 12, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 13, 2020 by Holly

Thank you for giving us a 4-Star ranking, we appreciate feedback from all our guests. Thank you for staying with us at the Samsara Cliff Hotel and thank you for this review.

2 out of 5
DONT BOOK UNTIL YOU READ THIS I booked my stat thru Travelocity. It was bundled with my flight. I booked it 3 weeks out, so I thought $613 for flight and all inclusive was great. When we arrived, we were told we did not have the all inclusive package. So Samsara is not FULLY all inclusive. 1. You must ADD all inclusive when selecting your room options. 2. You will be charged $100 for deposit even though you already paid 3. Their are no snacks included. It says it, but it's not. You only at very stretched out times. 4. Buffet includes 4-5 main items, salad, and fruit. Not a lot of options. Those that are vegan, don't stay here. 5. Chez Maurice and Ciao Jamaica are not restaurants that are included. 6. All inclusive only includes their rum, vodka, and beer. No wine, no Tequila, and no champagne. 7. The shuttle is NOT 100% free. The shuttle is only free twice a day at certain times. Otherwise they charge you per trip per person. 8. NO SNORKELING EXCURSION! That's a lie. 9. NO SCUBA DIVING EXCURSION. That's a lie. 10. Bathrooms are outdated and small. 11. No lotion, shampoo, conditioner, or amenities provided. Bring your own and your own beach towel. Now I liked the authentic look and feel of the resort. Very colorful and beautiful plants. The surrounding area is a very poor neighborhood, so not glamorous, but authentic to the country. Taxis pass often so you can get a ride. 12. Only ride in RED PLATE TAXIS for safety.

Posted by on Jul 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 10, 2019 by Holly

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are pleased that you liked the ambiance of our little family-owned hotel, and the well-loved gardens we tend. We regret the confusion over whether you had booked all-inclusive and were pleased to be able to add that on upon arrival. We aren’t entirely sure where you might have seen that we provide snorkeling and scuba diving excursions—as you noted we do not but our front desk staff are happy to help you book any excursions you want. The rest of the information that you’ve noted here is all stated on Travelocity and on our website. People who are on special diets are encouraged to contact us ahead of their visit so we can assist with special requests. We understand it is not always possible to meet expectations and we wish you all the best in finding a hotel more to your liking when you next return to Negril.

2 out of 5
lost power , no a/c did not give us at least cold water to mini mice the heat, and did not fix it till late , a lack of towels

Posted by on Jul 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 10, 2019 by Holly

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback with your concerns. Please note that the local power company Jamaica Public Service experienced power outages affecting the entire town of Negril during your stay which is unfortunately beyond the control of our hotel. Although our backup generator supplies power to the hotel, it cannot power air conditioning units or the laundry machines, and we can’t make much ice. There was free cold water available at the bar though, in a large insulated jug—we apologize that you missed out on that information. We hope you give our hotel another try sometime when the power is working, and thank you for your visit this time.

3 out of 5
The property was nice, but needs a lot of upgrades. You have to watch your step when walking out of the room if you're staying in the upper cliff buildings. Lots of uneven steps around this property. Lack of authentic Jamaican foods there. Everything is not all inclusive there either. This hotel is about 30 minutes from the seven mile beaches. No beach here, just one pool here and 1 kids pool. You can jump into the water off the cliffs here. The staff is nice, the times when you eat are spaced out. Breakfast 8-10 Lunch 12-2pm and dinner 8-10 pm. Lack of towels and wash cloths as well and the water pressure here is not good. The toilet stops up also. The rooms need celling fans, because the A/C unit wasn't working that great. The one bar closed at 10pm once dinner was over. There is nothing to drink or eat from this place after that. We paid for all inclusive and we had to go the the local store to buy drinks and food to bring back to the room. No mini refrigerator in rooms either.

Posted by , from Jacksonville, Fl. us on Mar 30, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 4, 2019 by Holly

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! We appreciate your feedback about our little family-owned hotel but we would like to know which room you stayed in, and if you reported the A/C and bathroom issues to the front desk. We generally respond to maintenance requests promptly, so if you could PM us your room number so we can investigate, we would really appreciate it! We are actually only 15 minutes by taxi from 7-Mile Beach – and we offer a free daily shuttle to our sister hotel Legends, on the beach. And just for clarification, dinner hours are 7 to 9pm. :) We are delighted that you found our staff to be nice and friendly, we are known for having the friendliest staff in Negril. Regretfully, it seems that Samara was not a good fit for you, so we wish you all the best as you look for another place to stay while visiting the lovely Negril.

3 out of 5
The bungalow we had was ocean front which was beautiful. The lack of updating was very apparent. No outlets in bathroom. No blow dryer, no coffee in room. No complimentary shampoo or conditioner. No cups. No beach towels. Toilet back up constantly. Food was just okay and not a variety. A lot of steps throughout resort. Phone did not work so couldn’t call front desk or anyone for that matter. No bottled water unless you pay. Staff was friendly was one positive thing.

Posted by on Mar 24, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 26, 2019 by Holly

Thank you for the 3 stars and your review. We are known for having the friendliest staff in Negril, so we’re grateful you found that to be a positive experience at our little family-owned hotel. We generally respond to maintenance requests promptly, so we’d like to investigate what happened with your phone and the toilet. Please PM us your room number if you would, that would be very helpful. It is true that we don’t provide much in the way of amenities, mostly to keep our prices down. Since we’re on an island, nearly everything has to be imported. We do try to let everyone know in advance what they need to bring with them, and we apologize if somehow we missed letting you know what to expect. For future reference, you can borrow a hair dryer from the front desk, and the tap water in Jamaica is completely safe to drink. Thank you for choosing Samsara, and we hope you’ll try us again sometime but if not, we understand and wish you all the best.

3 out of 5

Good for am snorkeling, no night life.

Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see qbove
Sister resort to LEGENDS... Samsara is better choice. Has more privacy, cleaner, more cordial/pleasant staff. Food is SUB-PAR! All inclusive drinks, not so great. Positive is no higglers trying to rip you off constantly for "whatever"... Better to stay at Samsara and voyage over to Legends if you wanna see what seven mile beach is like. (One day is enough). Across the street to Times Sq Mall: typical tourist trap. Locals big hassle too. AVOID the Sat Nite Reggae "concert" next door. Scary, ripoff, almost bullied. Dont go there. Do go to "three-dives" restaurant ab 1/2 mile from Samsara. You can walk to it. GREAT local food...SAFE. Reasonable priced...memorable. The Italian Rest acrx fr Samsara is good for pizza too. Be forewarned, when Samsara staff goes home for the night, they shut off most of the lights and ur on ur own. Get food and water beforehand. I've stayed at legends and at samsara. Do yourself a favor....stay at samsara and venture out as you feel adventurous. ps. boat trip to Booby Cay with snorkeling and lobsters on island worth it. The red "glass bottom boat" with "Kuyaba" sign, see "Captain Happy" ...tell him I said so. GREAT TIME. Avoid Ricks Cafe.... expensive tourist trap and jumping at 40 feet dangerous. 20 feet ok for most. Respect man. Bring lotsa one dollar bills. Dont get sucked in by the higglers. You can have fun here I did: TWICE! Just be careful. Remember: NEVER go on the beach at night, in the dark. (no matter what).

Posted by , from Ipswich, MA, USA on Mar 25, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Birthday getaway

I was alone and had great time with staff. Owner was around but only talked to the couples and eourpean guest. I was just an African American by myself on vacation and I guess I wasn't worthy enough to meet the owner.

Posted by , from Washington, DC on Mar 24, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Great location and privacy.

Pros: The location, privacy and staff.
Cons: The beds are only slightly softer than sleeping on the floor...(which is tiled concrete).
Location: Plenty of room without be jammed together with other beach chairs. Many restaurants near by to walk or take a taxi to. Convenience store close by.
I have been to Jamaica over 30 times and stay in Negril at SamSara almost exclusively. I love the location on the cliffs with wonderful swimming and great privacy. The staff at the hotel have always been excellent. You are close to some of the best restaurants and bars which you can walk to or if uncomfortable with walking the West End road can easily take a taxi anywhere on the cliffs or to the beach. Do not expect a 5 star hotel but I love the intimate atmosphere.

Posted by , from Wisconsin on Mar 23, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Nice resort.

The resort is nice/relaxing and priced even better for the amount amenities available. They offer all-inclusive options and the resort staff is inviting. A shuttle is provided in to the town of Negril with access to the 7 mile beach. Please note that if you do not book/reserve an air conditioned room it is an additional cost. The rooms with a fan option only is not a good option for someone with respiratory concerns.

Posted by on Jul 24, 2013

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

u get what u pay for ...

Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: Nothing close
the hotel is ok … they need to have more to do in it tho … they really need to specify that the rate they are offering may or may not include a room with a/c … food was ok bar .. was average … if ur considering to stay here just know that is not close to any of the action … so if what ur looking for is relaxation and not so much action or night life this might be the place for you ..

Posted by , from Florida, USA on Nov 29, 2012

Was this review helpful to you?

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from July 1 2020 to November 1 2020 (dates subject to change).

All-inclusive Details

All-inclusive room rates at Samsara Resort are available. These rates are higher because they include onsite food and beverages in the room rate (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Taxes are included.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet meals, snacks, and local beverages included
  • Meals and beverages at companion properties
  • Number or type of beverages limited at one or more venues

Activities and facilities/equipment
Water activities

  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Snorkeling
  • Snorkeling excursions

Land activities
  • Tennis

Entertainment

  • Onsite live performances

Not included

  • Motorized water sports
  • Surcharge for premium food items
  • Premium and/or non-domestic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Airport transfers
  • Childcare
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Offsite tours
  • Gratuities

  • Scuba diving excursions included
  • Taxes included
  • Snorkeling excursions included
  • All meals served buffet-style
  • Airport transfers not included
  • Premium/non-domestic beverages not included
  • Premium food items not included
  • Tennis included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Childcare not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Local beverages and soft drinks only
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • Gratuities not included
  • All food and beverages included
  • Food and beverage restrictions apply
  • One or more venues limit beverages
  • Surcharge for premium food items
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Meals and drinks at companion properties included
  • Onsite live performances included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Some rates at Samsara Resort are all-inclusive. These rates include onsite meals and beverages, and may include taxes and gratuities. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Samsara Resort offers its guests a full-service spa, 2 outdoor swimming pools, an outdoor tennis court, and a children's pool. There are 2 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a poolside bar and a bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. Spa services, a library, and a terrace are also featured at the business-friendly Samsara Resort. An airport shuttle (available 24 hours) is available for a fee. Free self parking is available. This 3.5-star Negril resort is smoke free.

  • 50 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 10 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • Built in 1982
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Library
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Television in lobby
  • Onsite shopping
  • No smoking on site
  • Water dispenser

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis court
  • Free area shuttle
  • Arcade/game room

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Sir Donald Sangster Intl. Airport (MBJ) (81.8 km / 50.8 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle; airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Samsara Resort offers 50 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature ceiling fans and blackout drapes/curtains. Rooms open to furnished balconies or patios. These individually furnished accommodations include desks. Premium cable television is provided. Bathrooms include showers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. In-room massages, irons/ironing boards, and hair dryers can be requested. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio (furnished)
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan
  • Unique furnishings

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 8 AM to 10:30 AM.

Chez Maurice - This poolside restaurant specializes in local and international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Happy hour is offered.

Ciao Jamaica - Overlooking the ocean and garden, this restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves lunch and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting).

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

2 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a children's pool. Other recreational amenities include an outdoor tennis court.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Water skiing nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Rafting nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Spa Services

Sugar Island has 2 treatment rooms and outdoor treatment areas. Services include deep-tissue massages, Swedish massages, facials, and body scrubs. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including reflexology.

  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Number of treatment rooms 2
  • Outdoor treatment areas
  • Reflexology
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 9:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 10 PM. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 9 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

The resort has a rocky shore, not a sandy beach. Partner resort, Legends Beach Resort, features a powdery, white-sand beach. The resort does not provide snorkeling equipment. Guests should plan to bring their own equipment, or to rent from local vendors.

The credit card used to book the reservation must be presented by the cardholder at check-in along with matching photo identification. Any other arrangements must be coordinated with the property prior to arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 10 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 9 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Samsara Resort

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

This property offers all-inclusive rates that include all meals and room only rates that do not include meals.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property, and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff.

  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • No elevators
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100.00 per stay
  • Christmas Day (25 December) Gala Dinner per adult: USD 30.00
  • Christmas Day (25 December) Gala Dinner per child: USD 15.00 (from 5 to 12 years old)
  • New Year's Eve (31 December) Gala Dinner per adult: USD 30.00
  • New Year's Eve (31 December) Gala Dinner per child: USD 15.00 (from 5 to 12 years old)

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: USD 12 for adults and USD 6.00 for children (approximately)
  • Airport shuttle fee: USD 80 per person (roundtrip)
  • Airport shuttle fee per child: USD 40 (roundtrip), (from 4 to 12 years old)
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 4 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Samsara Negril
  • Samsara Resort
  • Samsara Resort Negril
  • Samsara Cliff Resort
  • Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
  • Samsara Cliffs Negril
  • Samsara Hotel Jamaica
  • Samsara Resort Resort
  • Samsara Resort Negril
  • Samsara Resort Resort Negril

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the resort before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Negril-Hotels-Samsara-Resort.h889882-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Negril-Hotels-Samsara-Resort.h889882-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Negril-Hotels-Samsara-Resort.h889882-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.