Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"The staff was excellent they all went above and beyond. Jennifer at the front desk made check in and check out quick and easy. Tina and Marcia did a ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 30 Oct 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3.5-star beach resort near Seven Mile Beach

Seaside stay

Your stay at this West End resort places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Seven Mile Beach and Throne Room. Negril Lighthouse and Time Square Mall are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Poolside dining

A full-service spa, 2 restaurants, and 2 outdoor pools are all featured at this smoke-free resort. Enjoy a day at the beach snorkeling, or relax with sun loungers. Enjoy the outdoor tennis court and perks like free self parking and a free area shuttle.

Garden Side Bungalow

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$95* Per night/room Jul 3 - Jul 4

Deluxe Sea VUZ

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Superior Room Ocean View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Sea View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Samsara Resort ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.4 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Samsara Resort

Everyone (5) Couples (3) Family (2)
5 out of 5
The staff was excellent they all went above and beyond. Jennifer at the front desk made check in and check out quick and easy. Tina and Marcia did a great job at the restaurant. The pool and outdoor areas are some of the best in Jamaica

Posted by on Oct 30, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 31, 2021 by Sabrina

Wow thank you for this fantastic review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our spectacular location and friendly staff who work hard each day to make sure our guests feel comfortable and welcome. Thanks again for your visit and hope to see you again soon!

5 out of 5
Very nice the new part is a nice addition to the property.

Posted by on Sep 18, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 3, 2021 by Holly

Thank you for this 5-Star Review, we’re really happy you like the renovations. The new rooms have incredible views of the ocean and our beautiful sunsets. It’s great that you enjoyed your Samsara experience enough to give us a full five stars. Thank you for this review and thank you for staying with us at the Samsara Cliff Hotel.

1 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 8, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
It's a nice place. Quiet and private. Not much to do on the property but swim and jump off cliffs. But 3 pools and some great ocean made daily swimming fun. The rocks and coral right off the shore are great to snorkel on, saw octopus eel stingray fish urchins and soft corals. We were there the first day they opened after a long covid caused down time, so it was almost empty of people, but the staff were all very nice. Food and service were good, not fancy but well done. No sailboat or beach so if you want the all inclusive tourist thing do the Sandals or Beaches place. I prefer the cliffs and family run atmosphere. The beach is 2 miles away, we did that 2 days and it was nice, but just a beach. For me, waking at 7 and going from the room to the water and just immediately being in a beautiful clear deep reef is much better than staying on a crowded bland beach.

Posted by on Jun 25, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 1, 2021 by Holly

Thank you for this 5-Star review, we’re very happy to learn you enjoyed your Samsara experience! For those who prefer the beach, our sister hotel just a short shuttle ride away offers access to 7-Mile Beach, voted one of the world’s top ten beaches. But we were very happy to have been of service at the Samsara Cliff Hotel on the occasion of our reopening following months of remodeling work. Thank you for a great review and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Samsara.

4 out of 5

Posted by , from Michigan on Feb 12, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 13, 2020 by Holly

Thank you for giving us a 4-Star ranking, we appreciate feedback from all our guests. Thank you for staying with us at the Samsara Cliff Hotel and thank you for this review.

2 out of 5
DONT BOOK UNTIL YOU READ THIS I booked my stat thru Travelocity. It was bundled with my flight. I booked it 3 weeks out, so I thought $613 for flight and all inclusive was great. When we arrived, we were told we did not have the all inclusive package. So Samsara is not FULLY all inclusive. 1. You must ADD all inclusive when selecting your room options. 2. You will be charged $100 for deposit even though you already paid 3. Their are no snacks included. It says it, but it's not. You only at very stretched out times. 4. Buffet includes 4-5 main items, salad, and fruit. Not a lot of options. Those that are vegan, don't stay here. 5. Chez Maurice and Ciao Jamaica are not restaurants that are included. 6. All inclusive only includes their rum, vodka, and beer. No wine, no Tequila, and no champagne. 7. The shuttle is NOT 100% free. The shuttle is only free twice a day at certain times. Otherwise they charge you per trip per person. 8. NO SNORKELING EXCURSION! That's a lie. 9. NO SCUBA DIVING EXCURSION. That's a lie. 10. Bathrooms are outdated and small. 11. No lotion, shampoo, conditioner, or amenities provided. Bring your own and your own beach towel. Now I liked the authentic look and feel of the resort. Very colorful and beautiful plants. The surrounding area is a very poor neighborhood, so not glamorous, but authentic to the country. Taxis pass often so you can get a ride. 12. Only ride in RED PLATE TAXIS for safety.

Posted by on Jul 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 10, 2019 by Holly

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are pleased that you liked the ambiance of our little family-owned hotel, and the well-loved gardens we tend. We regret the confusion over whether you had booked all-inclusive and were pleased to be able to add that on upon arrival. We aren’t entirely sure where you might have seen that we provide snorkeling and scuba diving excursions—as you noted we do not but our front desk staff are happy to help you book any excursions you want. The rest of the information that you’ve noted here is all stated on Travelocity and on our website. People who are on special diets are encouraged to contact us ahead of their visit so we can assist with special requests. We understand it is not always possible to meet expectations and we wish you all the best in finding a hotel more to your liking when you next return to Negril.

2 out of 5
lost power , no a/c did not give us at least cold water to mini mice the heat, and did not fix it till late , a lack of towels

Posted by on Jul 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 10, 2019 by Holly

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback with your concerns. Please note that the local power company Jamaica Public Service experienced power outages affecting the entire town of Negril during your stay which is unfortunately beyond the control of our hotel. Although our backup generator supplies power to the hotel, it cannot power air conditioning units or the laundry machines, and we can’t make much ice. There was free cold water available at the bar though, in a large insulated jug—we apologize that you missed out on that information. We hope you give our hotel another try sometime when the power is working, and thank you for your visit this time.

3 out of 5
The property was nice, but needs a lot of upgrades. You have to watch your step when walking out of the room if you're staying in the upper cliff buildings. Lots of uneven steps around this property. Lack of authentic Jamaican foods there. Everything is not all inclusive there either. This hotel is about 30 minutes from the seven mile beaches. No beach here, just one pool here and 1 kids pool. You can jump into the water off the cliffs here. The staff is nice, the times when you eat are spaced out. Breakfast 8-10 Lunch 12-2pm and dinner 8-10 pm. Lack of towels and wash cloths as well and the water pressure here is not good. The toilet stops up also. The rooms need celling fans, because the A/C unit wasn't working that great. The one bar closed at 10pm once dinner was over. There is nothing to drink or eat from this place after that. We paid for all inclusive and we had to go the the local store to buy drinks and food to bring back to the room. No mini refrigerator in rooms either.

Posted by , from Jacksonville, Fl. us on Mar 30, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 4, 2019 by Holly

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! We appreciate your feedback about our little family-owned hotel but we would like to know which room you stayed in, and if you reported the A/C and bathroom issues to the front desk. We generally respond to maintenance requests promptly, so if you could PM us your room number so we can investigate, we would really appreciate it! We are actually only 15 minutes by taxi from 7-Mile Beach – and we offer a free daily shuttle to our sister hotel Legends, on the beach. And just for clarification, dinner hours are 7 to 9pm. :) We are delighted that you found our staff to be nice and friendly, we are known for having the friendliest staff in Negril. Regretfully, it seems that Samara was not a good fit for you, so we wish you all the best as you look for another place to stay while visiting the lovely Negril.

3 out of 5
The bungalow we had was ocean front which was beautiful. The lack of updating was very apparent. No outlets in bathroom. No blow dryer, no coffee in room. No complimentary shampoo or conditioner. No cups. No beach towels. Toilet back up constantly. Food was just okay and not a variety. A lot of steps throughout resort. Phone did not work so couldn’t call front desk or anyone for that matter. No bottled water unless you pay. Staff was friendly was one positive thing.

Posted by on Mar 24, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 26, 2019 by Holly

Thank you for the 3 stars and your review. We are known for having the friendliest staff in Negril, so we’re grateful you found that to be a positive experience at our little family-owned hotel. We generally respond to maintenance requests promptly, so we’d like to investigate what happened with your phone and the toilet. Please PM us your room number if you would, that would be very helpful. It is true that we don’t provide much in the way of amenities, mostly to keep our prices down. Since we’re on an island, nearly everything has to be imported. We do try to let everyone know in advance what they need to bring with them, and we apologize if somehow we missed letting you know what to expect. For future reference, you can borrow a hair dryer from the front desk, and the tap water in Jamaica is completely safe to drink. Thank you for choosing Samsara, and we hope you’ll try us again sometime but if not, we understand and wish you all the best.

3 out of 5

Good for am snorkeling, no night life.

Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see qbove
Sister resort to LEGENDS... Samsara is better choice. Has more privacy, cleaner, more cordial/pleasant staff. Food is SUB-PAR! All inclusive drinks, not so great. Positive is no higglers trying to rip you off constantly for "whatever"... Better to stay at Samsara and voyage over to Legends if you wanna see what seven mile beach is like. (One day is enough). Across the street to Times Sq Mall: typical tourist trap. Locals big hassle too. AVOID the Sat Nite Reggae "concert" next door. Scary, ripoff, almost bullied. Dont go there. Do go to "three-dives" restaurant ab 1/2 mile from Samsara. You can walk to it. GREAT local food...SAFE. Reasonable priced...memorable. The Italian Rest acrx fr Samsara is good for pizza too. Be forewarned, when Samsara staff goes home for the night, they shut off most of the lights and ur on ur own. Get food and water beforehand. I've stayed at legends and at samsara. Do yourself a favor....stay at samsara and venture out as you feel adventurous. ps. boat trip to Booby Cay with snorkeling and lobsters on island worth it. The red "glass bottom boat" with "Kuyaba" sign, see "Captain Happy" ...tell him I said so. GREAT TIME. Avoid Ricks Cafe.... expensive tourist trap and jumping at 40 feet dangerous. 20 feet ok for most. Respect man. Bring lotsa one dollar bills. Dont get sucked in by the higglers. You can have fun here I did: TWICE! Just be careful. Remember: NEVER go on the beach at night, in the dark. (no matter what).

Posted by , from Ipswich, MA, USA on Mar 25, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

All-inclusive Details

All-inclusive room rates at Samsara Resort are available. These rates are higher because they include onsite food and beverages in the room rate (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Taxes are included.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet meals, snacks, and select beverages included
  • Meals and beverages at companion properties
  • Number or type of beverages limited at one or more venues

Activities and facilities/equipment
Water activities

  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Snorkeling
  • Snorkeling excursions

Land activities
  • Tennis

Entertainment

  • Onsite live performances

Not included

  • Motorized water sports
  • Surcharge for premium food items
  • Premium/non-domestic alcoholic beverages
  • Premium food items
  • Childcare
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Offsite tours
  • Gratuities

  • Scuba diving excursions included
  • Snorkeling excursions included
  • Taxes included
  • Buffet-style meals included
  • Local non-alcoholic beverages and soft drinks included
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • Premium/imported alcoholic beverages not included
  • Gratuities not included
  • Premium food items not included
  • All meals included
  • Tennis included
  • Childcare not included
  • One or more venues limit beverages
  • Surcharge for premium food items
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Meals and drinks at companion properties included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Onsite live performances included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Some rates at Samsara Resort are all-inclusive. These rates include onsite meals and beverages, and may include taxes and gratuities. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Samsara Resort offers its guests a full-service spa, 2 outdoor swimming pools, an outdoor tennis court, and a children's pool. There are 2 restaurants on site, along with a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a bar/lounge and a poolside bar. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. Spa services, a library, and a terrace are also featured at the business-friendly Samsara Resort. An airport shuttle (available 24 hours) is available for a fee. Free self parking is available. A complete renovation of Samsara Resort was completed in December 2020. This 3.5-star Negril resort is smoke free.

  • 50 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 10 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • Built in 1982
  • Deli
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Library
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Television in lobby
  • Onsite shopping
  • No smoking on site
  • Water dispenser
  • Bar or lounge
  • Bar by the pool

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 1
  • Free area shuttle
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Arcade/game room

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle; airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Samsara Resort offers 50 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature blackout drapes/curtains. Rooms open to furnished balconies or patios. These individually furnished accommodations include desks. Beds feature pillowtop mattresses. Premium cable television is provided. Bathrooms include showers. This Negril resort provides complimentary wireless Internet access. In-room massages and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio (furnished)
  • Pillowtop beds
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Unique furnishings
  • Wardrobe or closet

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 8 AM to 10:30 AM.

Chez Maurice - This poolside restaurant specializes in local and international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Happy hour is offered.

Ciao Jamaica - Overlooking the ocean and garden, this restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves lunch and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting).

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

2 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a children's pool. Other recreational amenities include an outdoor tennis court.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Water skiing nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Rafting nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Spa Services

Sugar Island has 2 treatment rooms and outdoor treatment areas. Services include deep-tissue massages, Swedish massages, facials, and body wraps. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including reflexology.

  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Number of treatment rooms 2
  • Outdoor treatment areas
  • Reflexology
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body treatments
  • Body wraps
  • Facial treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 9:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 10 PM. If you are planning to arrive after 9 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

The credit card used to book the reservation must be presented by the cardholder at check-in along with matching photo identification. Any other arrangements must be coordinated with the property prior to arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 10 PM.
Guests arriving after 9 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for USD 10.0 per day.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Samsara Resort

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards and cash

Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

This property offers all-inclusive rates that include all meals and room only rates that do not include meals.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and cash. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Enhanced food service safety measures are in place. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings, and can be accessed from outside the building via exterior corridors. On-site PCR COVID-19 testing is available for a USD 119 fee, and antigen/rapid COVID-19 testing is available for a USD 45 fee; reservations are required for on-site testing. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Health Protocol (Jamaica). This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC).

  • Property follows sanitization practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC)
  • Property does not require health documentation at check-in
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Food service has been amended for enhanced safety
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property follows regional sanitization guidelines COVID-19 Health Protocol (Jamaica)
  • Onsite COVID-19 testing (PCR) is available
  • Onsite COVID-19 testing (Antigen) is available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Reservations are required for onsite COVID-19 testing
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 24 hours
  • Minimum age for COVID-19 test requirement: 12

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100.00 per stay
  • Christmas Day (25 December) Gala Dinner per adult: USD 30.00
  • Christmas Day (25 December) Gala Dinner per child: USD 15.00 (from 5 to 12 years old)
  • New Year's Eve (31 December) Gala Dinner per adult: USD 30.00
  • New Year's Eve (31 December) Gala Dinner per child: USD 15.00 (from 5 to 12 years old)

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: USD 14 for adults and USD 7 for children (approximately)
  • Airport shuttle fee: USD 80 per person (roundtrip)
  • Airport shuttle fee per child: USD 40 (roundtrip), (from 4 to 12 years old)
  • Early check-in fee: USD 75 (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out fee: USD 75 (subject to availability)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: USD 10.0 per day
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 4 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Samsara Negril
  • Samsara Resort
  • Samsara Resort Negril
  • Samsara Cliff Resort
  • Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
  • Samsara Cliffs Negril
  • Samsara Hotel Jamaica
  • Samsara Resort Resort
  • Samsara Resort Negril
  • Samsara Resort Resort Negril

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the resort before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Negril-Hotels-Samsara-Resort.h889882-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Negril-Hotels-Samsara-Resort.h889882-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Negril-Hotels-Samsara-Resort.h889882-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.