Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Close to highway. Didnt like that when cold room door freezes have to get clerk to use heater to get in room. " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 12 Mar 2020

Hotel Description

Hotel near Research Triangle Park in Durham

In Durham

At this Durham hotel, you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Research Triangle Park and 3 miles (5 km) of Herndon Hills Farm. Streets at Southpoint Mall and North Carolina Central University are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Free perks

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free on-the-go breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the express check-out. A picnic area, laundry facilities, and barbecue grills are also on offer.

Free WiFi, kitchens

The 125 guestrooms feature well-equipped kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves, as well as flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and phones. Housekeeping is available on request.

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$65* Per night/room Apr 22 - Apr 23

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Studio, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Extended Stay America - Raleigh-Research Triangle Park-Hwy55 ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.2 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 1.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Raleigh-Research Triangle Park-Hwy55

Everyone (4) Couples (1) Family (2)
5 out of 5
Close to highway. Didnt like that when cold room door freezes have to get clerk to use heater to get in room.

Posted by on Mar 12, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 12, 2020 by Hotel Management

It was our pleasure accommodating you at Extended Stay America, and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our proximity to the highway. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1 out of 5
I did not like the fact that when I arrived, they proceeded to tell me that they were overbooked. So why did the system allow me to book a room?

Posted by on Jan 10, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 10, 2020 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit due to your front desk experience. We truly take pride in our guest service and the feedback we receive, good or bad, helps us to improve our services going forward. We hope you will afford us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1 out of 5
My room door was broken it wouldn’t lock, the door could be pushed open from the outside, hair all over the sheets

Posted by , from Durham, NC on Dec 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 30, 2019 by Hotel Management

On behalf of our entire team, we apologize for the issues with the condition of your room. This is not acceptable, we will immediately discuss your comments with the housekeeping and maintenance teams, and we will promptly address these issues to improve our services and facilities. We only wish we had known about these problems as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We are grateful for your patience and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better future stay. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1 out of 5
What I liked about the property was that there was a door with a working lock, blinds that (mostly) shut, a tv that worked, and a bed (I brought my own blankets and laid on them for fear of bed bugs). What I didn’t like was walking into the lobby and hearing the front desk person loudly talking on a personal call. She told I should have rang her on the phone to get a response, but it was dark out and I didn’t see a phone. The first room she gave me had a tv that didn’t work. The next room had a tv that worked, but most of the lights didn’t, the phone was unplugged, there was no soap, very little toilet paper, and the blinds did not fully close. I would give this place 3 thumbs down!

Posted by on Sep 27, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 28, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We apologize for the issue you experienced in your suite and regret the inconvenience it caused. We are also sorry you encountered poor service from our front desk associates, as this is unacceptable. We have reviewed your feedback with the appropriate individuals, and steps are being taken to ensure such mistakes are not made in the future. Thank you again, and we look forward to having another opportunity to serve you and prove that we are passionate about providing great experiences for every guest. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2 out of 5
Good: Close to where I was working. Fresh paint. Quiet neighbors. Bad: Stained carpet. Mildew in shower. No toilet paper. Electronic key stopped working. No hangers. No plastic cup. Cramped even for one. Grounds poorly keep. Lots of trash... full receptacles.

Posted by , from Lexington, KY on Jun 8, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 10, 2019 by Hotel Management

We are disheartened to read your review. Please accept our sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. Our team's first priority is making sure that every guest has a comfortable and relaxing stay, and this time we really missed the mark. Your feedback has been shared with every department involved. We hope you will give us an opportunity to restore your confidence in us on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3 out of 5
The heater was amazing and the curtains covered the window completely which was a plus considering its more of a motel then a hotel.

Posted by on Mar 21, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 22, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We're glad to know you were pleased with your well-appointed room and that had a pleasant time with us. We hope you will stay with us on another occasion so we can provide you with a much more satisfying experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Outside view great. Staff real friendly and informative. I chosed the property due to a business 5 minutes away from the property. When arriving so close to the time for my meeting at 4pm. No time check room. when returning around 10 p.m. there was rice in the bed, no heat, not enough towels or amenities. Reported to the front desk at 10:45 p.m. . Staff Check for availabilities. The available room was not suitable for anyone to live in. The room had a dog smell embedded it in the room. We left at 11:15 p.m. . To be honest I would never stay there ever again or any name of the same property. I didn't wasn't even able to enjoy checked in at 335 pm had to be in my meeting by 4 p.m. return to hotel around 10 and left Hotel 11:15 p.m. I want my refund. I had to drive 3hours back home.

Posted by on Feb 11, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 12, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely sorry that you had a negative experience here, and we assure you that all of your concerns are being taken seriously. We have no excuses to offer, but we do extend our sincerest apologies and want you to know that we are making adjustments and working to deliver better hospitality going forward. Please consider staying at our hotel again in the future so you can experience the terrific service you should always expect from us, every visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1 out of 5
Said it was non smoking but not true. Horrible smoke smells.

Posted by on Jan 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 3, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that your non-smoking room had a smoke odor. We have asked our housekeeping staff to make sure this room receives a deep clean to remove the smell and also to thoroughly inspect the suite before accommodating to our guests. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and accommodations. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1 out of 5

Horrible Hotel Experience

Pros: Location
Cons: Water pressure, better trained/professional hotel staff, hot breakfast, cleanest of property, repair toilet,
This letter is to notify you that we were extremely dissatisfied with our stay at Extended Stay America - Durham-Research Triangle Park-Hwy 55 on 5/19/16 – 5/23/16. After driving 14 long, tiring hours from Michigan, we were looking forward to settling in for a good night’s rest. As with all of the other Extended Stays we’ve resided at we were under the impression that the rooms would be enclosed, that there would be hot breakfast, a business center, a fitness center and pool. Instead, we found the property to be dilapidated. There were cigarette butts scattered throughout the grounds, an un-kept lawn, dirty entry doors, and hotel staff was subpar, ill trained, and unprofessional. Moreover, the following are problems that were found in the room: 1) The telephone in the room didn’t work. 2) The ceiling light fixture cover was missing. 3) The toilet stool seat was broken, the toilet stool water pressure was low (to the degree that we had to force the water down with a plunger each time we use it, and the toilet stool was positioned very close to the floor and at an angle (to the degree it was uncomfortable for my husband and son to sit on). 4) The water pressure in each facet was low. 5) The mattresses where extremely old. 6) The oven was antiquated. 7) The complementary breakfast was bare and oftentimes under stocked. 8) Too much traffic in and out. Drugs being bought & sold in and out of rooms. Loud residents at all hours of the night! Horrible!

Posted by on May 27, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Extended Stay America - Raleigh-Research Triangle Park-Hwy55

Location 4515 N Carolina Highway 55, Durham, NC 27713

Property Features

Free breakfast is available daily. WiFi is free in public spaces. The business-friendly Extended Stay America - Raleigh-Research Triangle Park-Hwy55 also features barbecue grills, a picnic area, and coffee/tea in a common area. Free self parking is available. You'll have access to the health club at a partner property. This Durham hotel is smoke free.

  • 125 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Front-desk safe
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Television in lobby
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Full-sized refrigerator/freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Raleigh, NC (RDU-Raleigh - Durham Intl.) (12.6 km / 7.8 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Extended Stay America - Raleigh-Research Triangle Park-Hwy55 offers 125 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. 3.2-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Kitchens offer full-sized refrigerators/freezers, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is offered on request and hair dryers can be requested.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator (full size)
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast daily from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

This property accepts credit cards only for all bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking, and for all onsite purchases. Cash is not accepted.

For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 25 per pet, per day (maximum USD 150 per stay)
  • Maximum 2 per room
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 25 per pet, per day (maximum USD 150 per stay)
  • Weekly housekeeping provided; additional cleaning fee: USD 10 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Extended Stay America Raleigh-Research Triangle Park-Hwy55 Hotel
  • Extended Stay America Triangle Park-Hwy 55
  • Extended Stay America Triangle Park-Hwy 55 Hotel
  • Extended Stay America Triangle Park-Hwy 55 Hotel Durham-Research
  • Extended Stay America Triangle Park-Hwy 55 Aparthotel
  • Extended Stay America Raleigh-Research Triangle Park-Hwy55
  • Extended Stay America Raleigh Research Triangle Park Hwy55
  • Extend Stay America Raleigh R

You should know

  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
url importing https://travel.travelocity.com/Raleigh-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Raleigh-Research-Triangle-Park-Hwy55.h81867-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Raleigh-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Raleigh-Research-Triangle-Park-Hwy55.h81867-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 https://travel.travelocity.com/Raleigh-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Raleigh-Research-Triangle-Park-Hwy55.h81867-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.