Enter dates to see availability

"Nice Hotel, great service....The only thing and there is only one...the shower was on the dirty side. " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 31 Jul 2018

Hotel Description

Hotel near San Mateo County Event Center in San Mateo

Near the airport

Your stay at this South San Mateo hotel places you within 2 miles (3 km) of San Mateo County Event Center and Bay Meadows Park. Hillsdale Shopping Center and Paddock Park are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Round-the-clock service

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the express check-in. A coffee shop and express check-out are also provided.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 44 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and LED TVs with cable channels. Premium bedding, coffee/tea makers, and free local calls are also available.

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$111* Per night/room Aug 25 - Aug 26

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Stone Villa Inn San Mateo ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.8 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Stone Villa Inn San Mateo

Everyone (18) Couples (1)
2 out of 5
The people next to us on the 2nd floor stayed out on the balcony and talked all night. Very noisy and made it difficult to sleep, especially for an early flight from SFO. Even though I called the front desk to complain, they were still outside talking at 4 AM. Please, if you rent people a room they should be required to actually be in their room and quiet after 10 PM. A nice property, but based on this experience I will not be staying there next time (and I travel often).

Posted by on Aug 19, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 19, 2019 by Customer Care Team

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you don't seem to have had the wonderful experience that the vast majority of our guests do. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 8, 2019 by Customer Care Team

We are delighted to have provided you with suitable accommodation for your trip here. We appreciate your kind rating, and we hope to welcome you back again before long.

5 out of 5
Nice Hotel, great service....The only thing and there is only one...the shower was on the dirty side.

Posted by , from San Mateo CA on Jul 31, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Pleasant overnight stay

We were just traveling through the area and only stayed one night. We arrived at 11:00 pm and we’re nicely taken care of. We were given a nice clean room. It was quiet and we have no complaints. Check out was easy and the staff were all very friendly.

Posted by , from san luis obispo on Jul 31, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Quick trip to the City!

Pros: Good location, recently remodel and clean rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: Minor issues could not change TV to HDMI to watch dish and the Fan did not work in the bathroom.
Location: Close to the city and restaurants.
I found this hotel on tripadvisor, choose it for its location and pictures of the rooms.

Posted by , from SLO on May 18, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 23, 2017 by Jessie M.

Thank you for staying with us! We are sorry that you had issues with the TV/Dish. Our Front Desk is always available to assist our valuable guests. We hope to see you soon and be able to provide a better experience. Thank you for staying with us!

1 out of 5

Very bad /Front desk not nice - you won't sleep

Room was a dive. First night up all night gap under door let air in room, TV didn't work and loud swearing in parking lot right out side. Room small. Tried to cancel they said they would charge me one extra night. After I left and went to new hotel they charged me for full wee not refunding.

Posted by , from san mateo on Feb 4, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 10, 2017 by Jessie

Thank you for your feedback. Upon checking your reservation we see that you are only charged for one night that you stayed. You were not charged any penalty for cancellation of in-house reservation. If you have any further concerns,please feel free to contact the property. Thanks

2 out of 5

Would not recommend

Pros: Location was perfect for an event we were attending in the area. Staff was fairly responsive when asked, but overall the hotel was not great.
Slow check in as there was some confusion with my reservation. Ultimately given room I requested. Lamp on bedside table missing its lampshade. Light fixture over bathroom sink did not work. Staff replaced bulb and broke some glass in room in the process. Picked up the big pieces but did not sweep up. We found small pieces of glass on floor. Water in shower took a long time to heat up. Housekeeping quietly knocked on room door at 9am and when we didn't immediately answer (we were asleep), they walked into the room. Overall a little sketchy of a place.

Posted by on Sep 20, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

better than we expected for the money

Hotels are really expensive in this area so we did not expect much but we were fine with the hotel. And they are spending a lot of money to renovate the facility so in a few months it should be very decent.

Posted by , from virginia on Jul 13, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Photos Are Misleading

Greeted by an unfriendly front desk employee in a sparse lobby. Room had a bed with no head board and stained pillow cases. Shower had black scum on the floor. Upholstered chair and carpet were stained. Sign out front advertised "Deluxe Breakfast Included". We were told the next morning that no food (or even coffee) was available. Spend a few extra bucks and go somewhere else.

Posted by , from CNY on May 18, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Horrible

Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The customer service. Food. Shadiness of the ownership and selling rooms to highest bidders after reservations have been made and paid for.
Location: Location is good.
I book the hotel for 2 nights. Pre-paid! The hotel sold my room off to someone else. I also stayed another time after that, and the rooms were disgusting. The food was old and bad. The customer services was horrible. The beds were uncomfortable. Definitely would give less than 1 star if it was an option. They even kept my money for one of the nights that they sold my room to someone else.

Posted by , from Sacramento, CA on Nov 13, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Stone Villa Inn San Mateo

Location 2175 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403

Property Features

There's a coffee shop/café on site. Public spaces have free WiFi. The business-friendly Stone Villa Inn San Mateo also features express check-in and express check-out. Free self parking is available. This San Mateo hotel is smoke free.

  • 44 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Coffee shop
  • 1 conference room
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: San Francisco, CA (SFO-San Francisco Intl.) (15.6 km / 9.7 mi)
  • Train station: San Mateo Hayward Park Station (1.5 km / 1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Stone Villa Inn San Mateo offers 44 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Beds feature premium bedding. LED televisions come with premium cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include showers. This San Mateo hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • LED television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Hotel Names

  • San Mateo Stone Villa Inn
  • San Mateo Villa
  • Stone Inn San Mateo
  • Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - Francisco Sfo Hotel
  • Stone Villa Inn
  • Stone Villa Inn San Mateo
  • Stone Villa San Mateo
  • Villa San Mateo
  • Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.