Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.2 out of 5

"Beautiful property with nice size rooms that are a little worse for wear. Staff couldnt be nicer and amenities served well " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 04 Sep 2019

Select your room to view prices

Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Balcony, Pool View

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 3 Twin Beds, Non Smoking (Fourth Bed is Single Bed)

Bed Count 3 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Classic Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, City View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Classic Room, 2 Double Beds, Balcony, City View

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, Pool View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hotel Description

Family-friendly 3.5-star hotel near Museum of Costa Rican Art

Near the airport

Within 3 miles (5 km) of this San Jose hotel, you'll find Costa Rica National Stadium (Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica) and Museum of Costa Rican Art. Gold Museum (Museo de Oro) and National Theater are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Multiple dining options

This smoke-free hotel includes 2 restaurants, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. Families will appreciate the onsite laundry facilities, kid-friendly dining, and in-room childcare. Relax with a drink at the bar/lounge and enjoy free perks like buffet breakfast and free self parking.

Free WiFi, cable TV

The 194 guestrooms have TVs with cable channels and offer free WiFi and 24-hour room service. Other amenities include coffee/tea makers, free local calls, and hair dryers.

Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios

Everyone (6)
5 out of 5
Beautiful property with nice size rooms that are a little worse for wear. Staff couldnt be nicer and amenities served well

Posted by on Sep 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 5, 2019 by Guest Relations Manager

Dear Traveler , thanks for sharing your very nice comments about your stay with us. It is truly rewarding knowing that you found our premises so beautiful and that you were more than pleased with our staff's excellent customer service and with the amenities we offer and provide. We strive to comply with our guests needs and requests as quickly as possible and always, with big and warm smiles across our faces so that our guests can see how proud we are of having them here with us and how happy we are of being able to serve them. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us as your hotel. We hope to see you back again soon. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager

3 out of 5
When we called from the airport for the shuttle, they did not answer the phone so we had to take a cab. $25. Upon arrival, the clerk questioned our reservations, made through Travelocity. It took some time before she found it. I was in line behind a large group of American students who took forever.

Posted by on Mar 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 14, 2019 by Guest Relations Manager.

Dear FromNewYork, thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. We really do hope that it was good and that you were pleased with our services and accommodations because nothing is more important than our guests'total comfort and satisfaction. We are truly sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced when you first arrived during your check in; please accept our most sincere apologies for them. We assure you that it was not our intention to make you wait so much after such a long trip, both with the shuttle and later at the hotel, when our front desk staff could not find your reservation. We are glad that in the end, we were able to find it and once again, we apologize for the delay and inconveniences you experienced. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.

2 out of 5
I DIDN'T LIKE THE FACT THAT THE WEBSITE GIVES THE OPTION OF SMOKING OR NON SMOKING ROOMS. THEN WHEN WE ARRIVE WE ARE TOLD THAT THERE IS NO SMOKING ALLOWED ON THE PREMISES. THE MAJORITY OF MY ENTOURAGE SMOKES CIGARS. THAT WAS THE MAIN REASON WE CHOSE THIS 3 STAR HOTEL. THE IRON & IRONBOARD WERE BROKE. IT TOOK 15 TO 20 MINUTES FOR THE SHOWER WATER TO GET HOT. I REQUESTED A FRIDGE, IT TOOK 2 DAYS TO ARRIVE & NEVER GOT COLD

Posted by on Feb 12, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 20, 2019 by Guest Relations Manager.

Dear LEGRANDE, thank you so much for sharing your kind comments. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay at our hotel was not up to your expectations so we ask you to please accept our most sincere apologies for it. We are truly sorry that we have not taken out the smoking option at the website because due to Costa Rican law, smoking is prohibited in any places such as restaurants, hotels, bars, discos, casinos, ect, and any public areas that do not specify that smoking is allowed. Once again, we apologies for our mistake and for any inconvenience it might have caused you. We are also very sorry and embarrassed that the iron and ironing board in your room were broken, we assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know about it, they would have immediately send someone from housekeeping with an iron and ironing board. Regarding the mini fridge that you requested which never arrived, we are truly distraught about it because we assure you that there is nothing more important to us than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction. Not complying with our guests' requests is something totally unacceptable to us which goes against our customer service standards and against our hospitality philosophy, our management is going to see to it that this never happens again. Please, accept our apologies for that and for all the other inconveniences you experienced. It has been a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.

4 out of 5
We did have to change our sheets because they had stuff in them. It took the staff a long time to bring those items and also towels to our room and had to call the front desk multiple times to finally get them. We really enjoyed having breakfast to multiple places everyday. They staff at the restaurants were awesome. The hotel was very clean around the area and the room size (even with 4 beds) was great. I would stay here again.

Posted by on Mar 17, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 20, 2018 by Juan C.Sevilla

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

2 out of 5

Chaotic stay in a below average Best Western

We had a one night stay at the Best Western Irazu, unfortunately, at the same time as two childrens' football/soccer clubs. We were surrounded by 100+ ten to twelve year olds, with no adults in sight. The kids were running the halls & stairs for hours, slamming doors, throwing balls in the hallway (while we were trying to walk at the same time). When I asked the front desk staff to please reach out to the adults who were supposedly responsible, they said 'ok' but then did nothing. This is a pretty large hotel, I can't beleive they didnt have ONE available room on the other side of the property. The fact that they would stick us in the middle of all of these kids is extremely irritating and shows they have no interest in customer satisfaction whatsoever. As for the room itself, an electrical outlet was hanging from the wall - it appeared someone had try to rip it out, unsuccessfully. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. One high note, the Housekeeping staff were very nice, they were eager to make sure our room was clean and seemed genuinely happy to welcome us.

Posted by , from Phoenix, AZ US on Jan 25, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 2, 2018 by Guest Relations Manager

Dear L AZ, thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. Our hotel and all its staff are completely committed to our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being so we are very distressed to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations and that you were not able to rest as much as you were looking forward. Please accept our most sincere apologies for al the inconveniences you experienced. Our front desk staff did speak to the adults in charge of the children not once but 3 times. We assure you that if you had let our front desk staff know that you wanted to change your room to another one further away from the children, they would more than glad to immediately comply with your request because as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction. Once again, we really do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.

5 out of 5
stay was great but food in Sangria BAr was horrible. Also Dennis was not good. But the Casino food was excellant. Great food and good service.Could accomodate a few changes in an order

Posted by on May 5, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 8, 2017 by Hotel Staff

Dear Traveler, thank you for sharing your review about your stay in our hotel. We really do thrive on our guests' total comfort and satisfaction so it is very important to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful and pleasant hotel experience. We are very sorry to learn about the food of both restaurants at our premises. Neither of those two restaurants belong to the hotel but since we are so committed to your satisfaction, we are going to send your review to their Managements so that they can immediately take them into account. Once again, we are very sorry about it. On the other hand, it is nice knowing that you did like the food at the Casino and that your stay was in general a very pleasant experience. Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure being able to serve you. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager

3 out of 5

NO good shuttle service to airport!

Pros: Room, internet access, food
Cons: SHUTTLE SERVICE
Location: Lots of tours happening in San Jose
The hotel was nice, but NOT 24 hour shuttle service. I was picked up okay at 10pm but had to take a taxi the next day at 9am. Also, when I return from the beach at 3pm, there is no shuttle service and none to take me to the airport at 7am for my flight back to US.

Posted by , from Arizona on Dec 19, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 29, 2015 by Hotel Staff

Dear John, thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments about our hotel. It is very nice knowing how good you found your accommodations and some of the services we offer such as our free wifi and our complimentary breakfast in either both restaurants in on premises. We really do thrive on our guests' happiness and satisfaction so we are very sorry that our shuttle transportation was not up to your expectations. We do offer free shuttle transportation from the airport to the hotel, but if our guests need transportation from the hotel to the airport for US $8.00 per guest and it follows a certain schedule which they can check either at the front desk or at our website. Once again we are truly sorry about your dissatisfaction with our shuttle service, we assure you that we are going to share your comments with our Management so they can take it into account. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you a happy New Year. Best regards.

5 out of 5
Restaurant and room great. No one told us shuttle cost 8 until the very last minute. Should have shuttles past 7am. Taxi took us to airport because shuttle never arrived. Casino should not show US dollar amount on tickets and it's really colones. I really appreciated that Alamo was right there at hotel.

Posted by on Nov 15, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 2, 2015 by Hotel Response

Dear Traveler, thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel, we really appreciate them because it lets us know exactly how our guests feel about the hotel and its services so we can know what we need to do in order to have our guests' complete satisfaction. We are delighted that you liked your accommodations so much, finding them so comfortable and cozy, also liking the food that the on site restaurants offer. We are truly sorry about the lack of information you had regarding the hotel's shuttle. We were certain that our web page had been updated with that information so please accept our apolgies for our mistake. We also will like to thank you for your advice regarding the tickets in the casino, we are sure going to take it into account. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. We hope to see you back again soon. Warmest regards.

5 out of 5

Nice Hotel and Excellent Customer Service

Pros: Location is great and the staff is wonderful
Cons: Monitoring the Taxi drivers in front of the hotel. They are the only thing bad.
Location: Great location
This is my second stay in Best Western Irazu. I have enjoyed both trips very much and the staff is excellent. Very helpful and try to help you in any way they can. Great Job. Keep up the good work.

Posted by , from Virginia, USA on Nov 7, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 1, 2015 by Hotel Response

Dear E Sammy, thank you for sharing your phenomenal comments about your experience in our hotel. We are more than proud to know that you are already a part of our extended global family and that you are so satisfied with the hotel and everything it offers and provide. We are totally committed to our guests' satisfaction and comfort so we are always going the extra mile to make sure that they have everything they might need in order to make their stay an unforgetable hotel experience. We are very lucky to have a very conveninet location since we are only about 15 miutes away from the airport, just 10 minutes away from downtown and right infront one of the country's most important highways. It has been a pleasure being able to serve you. Thank you so much for making us your hotel of choice. Warmest regards.

5 out of 5

Great place to stay,

I have stayed at this hotel three times for two weeks during each stay.  I enjoy staying here because the staff are wonderful, friendly and very helpful.  i feel very safe as the security is always present. It's quiet during the day, the pool is nice and you have the option of laying in the sun or under a shady tree.  I even like the Denny's as the staff is also very friendly and attentive. There's a little shopping center about a block away with a grocery store, restaurant upstairs is very good.  There's also a restaurant across the road within walking distance that has good food. 

Posted by , from Richmond, VA on Jul 24, 2013

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios

Location General Canas Hwy KM3, San Jose, San Jose

Renovations + Closures

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios offers its guests an outdoor pool and a fitness center. There are 2 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is available daily. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. Event space at this hotel measures 3315 square feet (308 square meters) and includes conference space. Tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and gift shops/newsstands are also featured at the family-friendly Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios. An airport shuttle at scheduled times is available for a fee. Self parking is free. This 3.5-star San Jose hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 194 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • 2 dining venues
  • 3315 sq ft of conference space
  • 308 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1969
  • Buffet breakfast (free)
  • Bar or lounge
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Juan Santamaria Intl. Airport (SJO) (13.6 km / 8.5 mi)
  • Train station: San Jose Pavas Station (3.5 km / 2.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios offers 194 accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Premium cable television is provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This San Jose hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free buffet breakfast daily from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Dennys - This brasserie serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. A children's menu is available. Open 24 hours.

Sangria - This tapas bar specializes in fusion cuisine and serves lunch, dinner, and light fare.

24-hour room service is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an outdoor pool and a fitness center.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair-accessible on-site restaurant
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair-accessible public washroom
  • In-room accessibility
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Stair-free path to entrance
  • Wheelchair-accessible pool
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Wheelchair-accessible meeting spaces/business center

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Airport shuttle service is available at scheduled times from 4:30 AM to 10 PM. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to make arrangements.

Due to COVID-19, this property's food and beverage options may be limited pursuant to local regulations.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Airport transportation is offered at scheduled times from 4:30 AM to 10 PM. Fees may apply. Please make arrangements in advance by contacting the property.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for CRC 8100.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher and a security system

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place

Disinfectant is used to clean the property

Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer

Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast

Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings

The property affirms that it follows sanitization practices of We Care Clean - Best Western guidelines

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher and a security system in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.The property affirms that it follows sanitization practices of We Care Clean - Best Western guidelines.

  • One child stays free
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines We Care Clean - Best Western
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Debit cards
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Airport shuttle fee: CRC 4500 per person (one-way)
  • Airport shuttle fee per child: CRC 4500 (one-way), (up to 12 years old)
  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Rollaway bed fee: CRC 8100.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Best Western Hotel Irazu
  • Best Western Irazu Casino
  • Best Western Irazu Casino San Jose
  • Best Western Irazu Hotel
  • Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
  • Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino San Jose
  • Casino Hotel Irazu
  • Casino Irazu
  • Irazu Best Western
  • Irazu Hotel
  • BEST WESTERN Irazu Costa Rica/San Jose
  • Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
  • Best Western Irazu Hotel Casino San Jose
  • Best Western Irazú Hotel Studios San Jose
  • Best Western Irazú Studios San Jose
  • Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios San Jose
  • Hotel Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios San Jose
  • San Jose Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios Hotel
  • Best Western Irazú Hotel Studios
  • Best Western Irazú Studios
  • Hotel Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios
  • Best Western Irazu Hotel Casino
  • Best Irazu Studios San Jose
  • Best Irazu & Studios San Jose
  • Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios Hotel
  • Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios San Jose
  • Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios Hotel San Jose

You should know

  • Best Western Irazú Hotel & Studios offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/San-Jose-Hotels-Best-Western-Irazú-Hotel-&-Studios.h805-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /San-Jose-Hotels-Best-Western-Irazú-Hotel-&-Studios.h805-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/San-Jose-Hotels-Best-Western-Irazú-Hotel-&-Studios.h805-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.