Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"I liked the tropical atmosphere. I enjoyed relaxing at the various places to enjoy the scenery. " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 29 Apr 2019

Hotel Description

3-star hotel near Sarasota Jungle Gardens

Close to airport

Within a 15-minute walk of this Indian Beach Sapphire Shores hotel, you'll find Sarasota Jungle Gardens and John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art. Ca’ d’Zan and Sarasota Classic Car Museum are also within half a mile (1 km).

Free perks

This hotel features an outdoor pool and a bar/lounge. Business travelers can take advantage of the free WiFi in public areas. Guests will appreciate freebies like continental breakfast and free self parking.

Free WiFi, cable TV

The 80 guestrooms have TVs with cable channels and offer free WiFi and coffee/tea makers. Other amenities include hair dryers, phones, and ironing boards.

Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Pool View

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$117* Per night/room Mar 1 - Mar 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Golden Host Resort ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Golden Host Resort

Everyone (14) Couples (1) Family (2)
4 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 16, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
I liked the tropical atmosphere. I enjoyed relaxing at the various places to enjoy the scenery.

Posted by on Apr 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Comfortable property. Would stay again when in the area.

Posted by on Mar 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Rooms were clean and commodious. Nice breakfast and lobby amenities - games, books, etc. Towels too small. No capital maintenance -none - on exterior of buildings, walks, drive, pool in last 10+ years.

Posted by on Feb 26, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Not only did the bar in the parking lot keep us up all night with fighting and cops coming to break up the fighting, but this morning we woke up to an ambulance in front of the room next to us. Someone was MURDERED in this hotel last night in the room next to us. We want a refund - this was NOT safe and should NOT be on Travelocity!! Who is doing investigations of these properties you recommend???

Posted by on Feb 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 8, 2019 by General Manager

Dear Guest, We are disappointed to hear that you needed to fabricate a story about your stay in order to get a refund. Please note that fortunately no one was murdered as you allege. Sarasota police also has no record of anyone being murdered in Sarasota. Also, please note that the hotel bar is over 400 yards in a different direction from the room you occupied. No other guest reported any disturbance from the bar. Thank you.

1 out of 5
When I entered my room the smell was awful. It wasn't until my 3rd morning that I found the cause of the odor. There was a rotten lime resting behind the curtains near the sliding door. The only reason I opened the curtains was because I could see sun shining through the holes in them. The bar on the property had a similar odor. When I entered the men's room there was a trash can catching water in the center of room.

Posted by , from Buffalo NY on Mar 27, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 4, 2018 by GM

Dear J, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were unhappy. We have noted down the issues that you have commented on and will ensure to get them resolved.

2 out of 5

Golden host resort

Pros: Price & location
Cons: Pretty much everything
Location: Lots of nice restaraunts & beach nearby, many museum & other attractions as well, Im not rating the area, just the hotel
older motel showing its age. NO HEAT ! We were Really cold, I was finally able to close the broken sliding door & curtain ( also broken ) & no extra blankets, so we used our coats & towels. At check out the person at the desk could have cared less. pretty poor continental breakfast as well, Good location, place does have possibilities but we werent too impressed, maybe its better in the summer, it was spring break when we were there

Posted by , from indiana on Mar 18, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 4, 2018 by GM

Dear Rick & Susan, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were unhappy. We have noted down the issues that you have commented on and will ensure to get them resolved.

2 out of 5

heating and cooling system did not work

only stayed five hrs to get some sleep on a road trip fine for that. Heating and cooling system didn't work. got cool during the night but covers were enough to keep me warm. place is dated and old needs a lot of upgrades.

Posted by on Mar 17, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 4, 2018 by GM

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were unhappy. We have noted down the issues that you have commented on and will ensure to get them resolved.

2 out of 5

Not Recommended

Pros: Proximity to Sarasota area beaches.
Cons: Lobby and buildings need a coat of paint, clean up the outside grounds, dispose of dead plants and debris.
Location: Lido Key Beach and St. Armand's Circle about a 10 minute drive.
Very old motel. In a convenient location to Sarasota beaches which is our main priority. Both me and my partner are in school and working lower paying jobs right now so any time we can cut back some money and still enjoy ourselves, we take advantage. I was on the lookout for a budget place to stay and this one showed up at a much lower price than most hotels in the area, so we took a chance. I understood the motel was very old and dated and would cost money that the owners likely don't have to renovate. But what I cannot understand is lack of cleanliness. Sure it does cost a bit to pay people to clean, but not nearly as much as it does to renovate rooms. The grounds themselves had old pots of dead flowers laying around, an old drain gutter laying on its side just outside the breakfast room, wallpaper so dated that it was likely from 30 years ago. A coat of paint, some swiffers, take down old drapery, replacing some carpets here and there, employing someone to cut back trees, dispose of waste all over the property and throw down some grass seed...would go a long way in making people like me understand that they are TRYING. This property is not trying at all and that's what I take issue with. Sure, it was a budget motel, I wasn't expecting the Ritz but many of this property's issues could be solved with some common sense. And although I didn't pay top dollar, it also wasn't on the ultra cheap side either, not worth what I paid.

Posted by , from Central Florida on Jun 25, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 11, 2017 by Management

Jake, thanks for your feedback, We're glad you found our property had a great value. We're always improving and taking guest suggestions into account. We hope to see you again.

3 out of 5

Relaxing

Pros: The staff was accommodating to start and the motel had everything we meeded
Cons: The age of the facility,pillows and the breakfast could be improved without adding cost to the motel.
Location: convenient
It was a comfortable and ,relaxing motel. The entrance was not very obvious because of bushes as you drove from North to South approaching it.

Posted by , from FL on Feb 21, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 5, 2017 by Alexander

TC, thanks for your kind words! We've actually recently gotten new pillows, so come back soon and you should enjoy your stay even more!

Renovations + Closures

This property is undergoing renovations from 01 October 2019 to 30 April 2020 (completion date subject to change).

Renovation work will only be conducted during business hours. Every effort will be made to minimize noise and disturbance.

Property Features

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. An outdoor pool, a library, and a terrace are also featured at the business-friendly Golden Host Resort. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3-star Sarasota hotel.

  • 80 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Bar or lounge
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Library
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Sarasota, FL (SRQ-Sarasota-Bradenton Intl.) (2.1 km / 1.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Golden Host Resort offers 80 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Cable television is provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an outdoor pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Sailing nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 11 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7 AM - 11 PM.
If you are planning to arrive after 11 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7 AM - 11 PM.
Guests arriving after 11 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • No elevators
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Golden Host
  • Golden Host Resort
  • Golden Host Resort Sarasota
  • Golden Host Sarasota
  • Golden Host Hotel Sarasota
  • Golden Host Resort Hotel
  • Golden Host Resort Sarasota
  • Golden Host Resort Hotel Sarasota
url importing https://travel.travelocity.com/Sarasota-Hotels-Golden-Host-Resort.h21331-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Sarasota-Hotels-Golden-Host-Resort.h21331-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 https://travel.travelocity.com/Sarasota-Hotels-Golden-Host-Resort.h21331-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.