Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"The check in desk employees were prompt and helpful. The location is convenient. The front entrance and grounds were dirty as were the hallway carpe ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 18 Sep 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Hotel with an indoor pool, connected to the convention center in South Bend

Heart of South Bend

Within 2 miles (3 km) of this South Bend hotel, you'll find University of Notre Dame and Roseland Town Park. St. Mary's College and Clay Township Park are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Free shuttle, parking

This hotel features an indoor pool and a gym. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center, free WiFi in public areas, and free airport shuttle. Enjoy the sauna and perks like free self parking.

Cable TV, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 135 guestrooms also offer coffee/tea makers and TVs with cable channels. Free newspapers, free local calls, and hair dryers are also available.

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$72* Per night/room Nov 23 - Nov 24

Suite, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking (Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking (Upgrade)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, Multiple Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame - South Bend ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.4 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame - South Bend

Everyone (9) Couples (1) Family (5)
3 out of 5
The check in desk employees were prompt and helpful. The location is convenient. The front entrance and grounds were dirty as were the hallway carpets and elevator. the room was satisfactory but towels were not refreshed for a two day stay.

Posted by , from Amherst on Sep 18, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 18, 2021 by The Front Desk Staff

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

2 out of 5
Hotel is a dump, no reason for this being so close to notre dame,

Posted by , from BLOOMFIELD on Aug 24, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 25, 2021 by The Front Desk Staff

John I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do hope that in the future you would consider staying with us again so we can try to do better for you.

1 out of 5
We couldn’t stay the night is was so awful. They gave us wrist band to use for the pool which tells me they must has an issue with non-guest using the pool. The room was dirty with carpet stains. All the smoke detectors were ripped out in our room. There was just wiring where they had once been. Do not stay here!!!

Posted by on Aug 5, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 5, 2021 by The Front Desk Staff

I'm very sorry that you did not like our hotel. With regards to the wrist bands for the pool, this was an idea from our owners to keep track of how many people are entering the pool at any given time to ensure we are not going over the maximum capacity for the pool. I am checking all of our notes with regard to the smoke detectors and myself and the upper management will be looking into this situation.

5 out of 5

Posted by on May 10, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 1, 2021 by The Front Desk

Thank you for your review!

2 out of 5
This hotel had a lot of potential but falls just short of being a great place. The room was fairly clean, but some areas of the property were just gross, specifically the railing on the stairs, elevator buttons and sticky floors outside of the elevator where you could see that a trash bag was drug across. Also, this hotel WILL charge your card $50. Better to have that extra in your account that you will not be able to access until the cancellation goes through, could be several days. My reservation was mixed up with another guest so I was charged their room fees, even though I had already plain in full online. I'm still waiting for a refund for that as well as for a canceled room reservation. Basically I was charged for 3 rooms and the room I got was not what I paid for. I reserved a 2 full bed suite, thinking it would be enough for 5 of us since that's what travelocity app indicated, but I was given a 1 bed suite that sleeps 4 adults using the sofa sleeper. Overall, the hotel was mediocre and my intrractions with travelocity customer service is horrible. I am less than pleased.

Posted by , from Indiana on Jul 6, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 7, 2020 by Justin

Dear Linda, Please allow me to apologize for any cleanliness issues you had during your stay in regards to the public areas. We will be sure to use better care in those departments in the future. As far as the $50 incidentals hold, this is a standard practice for most hotels to safeguard against any property damage and smoking. We apologize whole heartedly and would like an opportunity to make amends in the future if you ever come through the area.

3 out of 5
The staff at check in was not welcoming. She seemed bothered by our arrival. We checked in after midnight and were the only ones in the lobby.

Posted by on Oct 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 7, 2019 by JT

Please allow us to apologize for failing to meet your expectations with your stay. We take our guest's satisfaction very seriously. I will relate this to our front desk mgr and staff .We hope you will consider giving us another try in the future so we can provide you with a better quality visit.

1 out of 5
Price gouging, no maid service, dirty sheets, not enough towels for number of guests, no tissue, unfriendly staff who did not apologize for bad service.

Posted by on Sep 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 24, 2019 by jt

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future

4 out of 5

Posted by on May 31, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 4, 2019 by Justin

Thank you for the positive review! Hope to have you again soon.

5 out of 5
Front desk staff excellent. Really made us feel welcome

Posted by , from Pennsylvania on Sep 10, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 16, 2018 by Tasha

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete our survey, We here at the Comfort Suites University take pride in our property, I will be sharing this with the rest of the front desk staff.

3 out of 5
When I pulled up at 8:30pm, the lights on the front of the hotel were out and I had a moment of panic thinking the place closed and I was stuck but they were open. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was adequate. The public spaces show signs of wear. The parking lot was nothing but pot holes but it's South Bend in the Spring so I kind of expected things to be that way. I was there to visit my daughter at the University so the location was convenient.

Posted by , from Ft. Wayne on Apr 16, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 19, 2018 by Jason A

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

About the Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame - South Bend

Location 52939 Us 933, South Bend, IN 46637

Renovations + Closures

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame-South Bend offers its guests an indoor pool, a sauna, and a fitness center. WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. A roundtrip airport shuttle is free (available on request). The business-friendly Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame-South Bend also features an arcade/game room, a picnic area, and coffee/tea in a common area. Self parking is free. This South Bend hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 135 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Front-desk safe
  • Game room or arcade
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Arcade/game room
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Train station: South Bend Station (8.2 km / 5.1 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame-South Bend offers 135 accommodations with safes and complimentary newspapers. Refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee/tea makers are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Premium cable television is provided. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool, a sauna, and a fitness center.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at 2:00 AM
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for USD 10.0 per night.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 25 per pet, per stay
  • Maximum 2 per room (weight limit: 40 lbs)
  • Pets cannot be left unattended
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, JCB International, and Carte Blanche; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, a first aid kit, and window guards

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, JCB International, and Carte Blanche. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, a first aid kit, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F; the property is cleaned and disinfected with electrostatic spray. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions; masks are required in public areas. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Enhanced food service safety measures are in place. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 48 hours between bookings. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Commitment to Clean (Choice). This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Pets cannot be left unattended
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Security system
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Electrostatic spray is used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Reservation is not required for facilities onsite
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Food service has been amended for enhanced safety
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Commitment to Clean (Choice)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 48 hours

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 25 per pet, per stay
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: USD 10.0 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Comfort Suites University Area
  • Comfort Suites University Area Hotel
  • Comfort Suites University Area Hotel South Bend
  • Comfort Suites University Area South Bend
  • Comfort Suites South Bend
  • Comfort Hotel South Bend
  • South Bend Comfort Suites
  • Comfort Suites University Area
  • Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame South Bend
  • Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame - South Bend Hotel

You should know

  • Comfort Suites University Area Notre Dame-South Bend offers transfers from the airport. Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/South-Bend-Hotels-Comfort-Suites-University-Area-Notre-Dame---South-Bend.h692695-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /South-Bend-Hotels-Comfort-Suites-University-Area-Notre-Dame---South-Bend.h692695-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/South-Bend-Hotels-Comfort-Suites-University-Area-Notre-Dame---South-Bend.h692695-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.