Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"You can hear vehicles all night but that should be expected anyway. The lights outside were so bright it looked like it was daytime all hours of the n ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 19 Sep 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Virginia Beach motel in Northeast Virginia Beach area

In entertainment district

A stay at this Northeast Virginia Beach motel places you steps from Nightmare Mansion and within a 5-minute walk of Pacific Avenue. Jungle Golf and Seabreeze Beach are also within half a mile (1 km).

Round-the-clock service

This motel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Free parking is offered and the front desk is staffed around-the-clock.

Free WiFi, microwaves

Featuring conveniences like sitting areas and microwaves, the 67 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include coffee/tea makers, hair dryers, and phones.

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
$55* Per night/room Oct 18 - Oct 19

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Kitchenette

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Kitchenette

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Sundial Inn ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.1 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Sundial Inn

Everyone (11) Couples (1) Family (8)
2 out of 5
The decor was ok. That was about the only positive. Oh ...and parking. Other than that, it was pretty gross. Stained carpets, hole in the bathroom door, absolutely disgusting dirt in the tub. Floors not mopped. Sink & counters not cleaned (toothpaste & sticky stuff) Refrigerator dirty. Ceiling peeling. Room smelled really stale and clothes stunk when we got home. The toilet rocked. Even the walls had stuff that looked like spaghetti sauce splattered on it. There was sand in between the sheets of both beds. If we had not been so tired, we would have requested a different room. We just endured & stayed our of the room mostly. Would NOT go back. The location was really good, so it was a shame. The pool had not been vacuumed. There were lots of plant pots around the pool & around the property....with nothing or just weeds in them. Or trash.

Posted by on Sep 27, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 27, 2021 by Sundial Response Team

Ann, we sincerely apologize for the state of the room and property. We operate at 100% capacity during the spring and summer months and we do our best to maintain the hotel during the busy tourism season. If you have any problems during your stay, please do not just endure it if you are dissatisfied. We would have immediately switched the room or corrected any issue you and your party found with the accommodations. The Sundial staff would have been happy to help resolve these issues but we cannot do so if you notify us after check out.

4 out of 5
You can hear vehicles all night but that should be expected anyway. The lights outside were so bright it looked like it was daytime all hours of the night. Shower made some scary sounds but it worked, took forever to get hot as well. Bedrooms need brighter lighting within the bed. Decent beds and had good tv. 3/4 minute walk to the main strip, was super easy with almost 3 year old and 5 1/2 month woman!

Posted by on Sep 19, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 20, 2021 by Sundial Response Team

Thanks for staying with us Amber! Were glad things were up to par!

4 out of 5
It’s a nice clean facility inside , outside very clean too , just could use some general cosmetic stuff on exterior. Overall very good . Be weary of the huge speed bump entering parking lot

Posted by on Aug 13, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 13, 2021 by Sundial Response Team

Thanks for choosing to stay with us Edit

3 out of 5
The view was better than expected. Could see the ocean from our room. The room was not very clean, especially considering the state of the world the cleanliness was worrisome, the staff was very responsive and helpful and did address our concerns promptly. The room was quiet and set up nice, beds not the most comfy. Not the best not the worst. A solid ok for the price. Area was convenient and safe.

Posted by on Aug 4, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 4, 2021 by Sundial Response Team

Thank you for your feedback! We've taken your suggestions and thoughts into account as we try continue to improve our guest experience. If there are any other suggestions you might have, please feel free to reach out at any time. We hope to turn your next stay in a 5-star on !

3 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 3, 2021 by Goldy

We've taken your suggestions and thoughts into account as we continue to improve our guest experience. If there are any other suggestions you might have, please feel free to reach out at any time. We hope to turn your next stay in a 5-star on !

1 out of 5

Posted by on May 25, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 5, 2021 by Goldy

we are sorry

1 out of 5
The hotel advertised a pool but when we got there, the pool was not in operation like the orher hotels we seen while there. The hotel also advertised as an oceanfront however, it was about 2 blocks away from the ocean. Some members of the family dont swim in the ocean and for a hotel to lie about an operating pool, I should get my money back and the room was smoking when we requested non!!

Posted by , from Reidsville on Jul 24, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 26, 2020 by Sundial Response Team

We are sorry if the local pool closures have affected your stay. Unfortunately, due to covid19, most pools in the are are closed to prevent grouping. The size of the pool and its location (indoor or outdoor) determines whether or not it can remain open. We do understand the confusion regarding the term "oceanfront." The Sundial is located in the VB oceanfront resort area. The oceanfront resort area runs from Atlantic to Arctic. The Sundial is between these 2 streets (Pacific). We never advertise that we are on the beach or oceanfront, as we are located across the street.

2 out of 5
The staff was great but there were bedbugs when we got into the room staff seemed like they would take care of it ASAP but still couldn’t stay there.

Posted by on Jun 15, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 17, 2020 by Sundial Response Team

We cannot apologize enough for this embarrassing event. Truly, we rarely ever have problems like this here at the Sundial, however, we understand and respect a guests choice to stay elsewhere after an incident like that.

1 out of 5
We had a bad experience. Even though there is a sign that says 100% smoke free facility, the rooms stink like cigarette. We had to ask for a new room and the second room was the same. Another issue was the noise at night. There was a group of guys cussing very loud. They had an altercation and nobody was responding from front desk. I called Travelocity to get help and the representative tried calling at about midnight but nobody responded to travelocity from this hotel. In the morning I explained this to the lady at front and she didn’t do anything about it. No validation. Please if you need to rest and feel safe go somewhere else.

Posted by on May 17, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 17, 2020 by Sundial Response Team

We are sincerely sorry to hear that the stay wasn't up to par. We will work diligently to correct these issues in the future.

4 out of 5
Although it isn't posh it is comfortable. The basic amenities, a comfortable,clean bed and very convenient location while not being in the middle of the crowd. 2 blocks off the beach and surrounded by many places to eat, drink and shop. Our only complaint is that they don't allow dogs or our stays would probably be longer. Basic, quiet and comfortable. If you are looking for " high dollar" amenities and to spend your days in the room, try elsewhere, if you want a comfortable, quiet place to sleep after a busy day of beach and explorations this meets our needs very well.

Posted by on Sep 21, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 27, 2019 by G

Thanks A lot

Property Features

Sundial Inn offers its guests tour/ticket assistance and an elevator. Public spaces have free WiFi. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. This Virginia Beach motel is smoke free.

  • 67 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free long-term parking , Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking, extended parking, and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Sundial Inn offers 67 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. 28-inch flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Sitting area
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and debit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and debit cards. Cash is not accepted.

For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; masks are required in public areas. Contactless check-out is available.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are not available
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Reservation is not required for facilities onsite
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Food service not has not been amended for enhanced safety
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Parking height restrictions apply
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Debit cards
  • No gap period between guest stays

Hotel Names

  • Sundial Inn
  • Sundial Inn Virginia Beach
  • Sundial Virginia Beach
  • Sundial Hotel Virginia Beach
  • Sundial Motel Virginia Beach
  • Sundial Inn Motel And Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach
  • Sundial Inn Motel
  • Sundial Inn Virginia Beach
  • Sundial Inn Motel Virginia Beach

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Sundial-Inn.h1100197-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Sundial-Inn.h1100197-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Sundial-Inn.h1100197-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.