Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.3 out of 5

"The location is great, the staff are great. The rooms are older, small, and dark. The breakfast is just OK. You are paying for location. We stayed in ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 20 Jun 2016

Hotel Description

Hotel near Yellowstone Park West Entrance in West Yellowstone

City center stay

With a stay at this well-placed hotel, you'll be half a mile (1 km) from Gallatin National Forest and within 2 miles (3 km) of Yellowstone Park West Entrance. Two Top and Yellowstone Park Zipline are also within half a mile (1 km).

Renovated in 2013

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free continental breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the business center. There's an indoor pool on site, and a fireplace in the lobby and express check-out are also provided.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 79 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and coffee/tea makers. Other amenities include free local calls, hair dryers, and safes.

Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Traditional Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds (Plus Sofa Bed)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Room, Multiple Beds (Three Queens)

Bed Count 3 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Traditional Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Yellowstone Westgate Hotel ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Yellowstone Westgate Hotel

Everyone (7) Couples (1)
5 out of 5
Breakfast both mornings was delicious. The hotel was neat and clean. The front desk personnel was helpful and friendly.

Posted by on Sep 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 17, 2019 by FD

Thank you for your comments and for the review. Thank you for staying with us during your trip.

5 out of 5
Clean, easy to get to. Staff was very nice. Beds were comfortable.

Posted by on Jul 22, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 24, 2019 by Front Desk

Thank you for staying at the Yellowstone Westgate Hotel. We value your comments. We hope your stay was comfortable and rewarding. Thank you again.

3 out of 5
It was "meh" and so over priced! The breakfast was okay. The toaster was broken and could not be used for most of the items. The carpet needs changed and the beds were very small.

Posted by on Jun 24, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 25, 2018 by Heidi, Front Desk

Hello, thank you for choosing us as your base while you visited Yellowstone National Park, hope you got to see some bears. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you would have liked to. As we get into our busy season here our rates do begin to climb, however if you decide to come and stay with us again (and we hope you do) you can try coming in September or May when our rates aren't as high but the park is still all open. We are planning on doing renovations this fall when the season dies down. The toaster we do apologize I am not sure how long you were here for, but it was brought to our managers attention and she got a new one that same morning, we apologize again if you did not get toast in the morning. We hope you will choose us again, and we hope the rest of your trip is a fun one!

3 out of 5

Great staff, below average facilities.

Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: More light in the rooms, sound proofing. You could hear everything in the rooms beside and above you.
Location: Yellow Stone National Park.
The location is great, the staff are great. The rooms are older, small, and dark. The breakfast is just OK. You are paying for location. We stayed in Kalispell, MT several days later in a much nicer hotel for less money.

Posted by on Jun 20, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Big-city prices for rural hotel showing its age.

Pros: Convenient to Yellowstone National Park.
Cons: Included breakfast was uninspiring, but typical. Heating/Cooling system needs a tune-up. The property in general is dated, although functional.
Location: YNP
Yellowstone National Park is currently in the process of self-imploding from over-use by unsustainable high-demand by tourists. Accommodations within the park itself are booked over a year in advance, and the surrounding communities' hotels get booked several months before the season starts. So understandably all the accommodations, restaurants, activities, etc. have inflated prices due to market pressures. This hotel is not immune from this trend. We were desperate for a hotel room that would sleep five family members and found a limited supply to choose from. Maybe accommodations for two or even four would be easier and less expensive, but for a family needing two queen beds and a pull-out couch, there isn't much choice and you pay dearly for what you can find. So feeling a little bit like we were taken advantage of, we paid too much for below-average accommodations. The hotel looks like an older property from the 1960's but with some improvements over time to keep it functional and freshen it up in an attempt to keep pace with newer hotels in the area. The room itself was fairly large given our requirements for sleeping five, but had a small bathroom and a strangely awkward entrance with a bar/refrigerator counter added as an after thought that blocked the doorway. The heating and cooling seemed to have a mind of its own. We didn't use the pool/spa. Breakfast was basic.

Posted by , from Wisconsin on Jun 18, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

nice hotel on the far side of town

Pros: the beds were comfortable
Location: this motel was at the end of Madison, to main street where everything is 3 blocks up and 2 blocks down. laundry and dry cleaner was close.
Our stay was pleasant, room was clean and beds were comfortable. End of season and there was no ice in the ice machine, got ice from the breakfast bar. Breakfast was okay, the staff was very nice and was happy to help with anything we needed.

Posted by , from Glade Hill, VA on Oct 2, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Yellowstone West Hotel

Pros: the people working there were very friendly.
Cons: rooms need to be updated !
Location: the a Hotel was located on the very last street so not close to anything.
We were disappointed in the Hotel. It was clean but the carpet and rooms need updated. The breakfast area was always packed and no place to sit . They had one lady dong all the clean up and fixing all the food. I think she needed help!

Posted by , from kansas on Sep 20, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

A Lucky Find !

Pros: I had a larger than average, modern room and everything worked. Breakfast was a fine as I've ever had. The sausages were unusually good.
Cons: Nothing to improve.
Location: By noon on July 28 every parking lot from West Thumb to Gibbon Falls was overflowing. I lucked into a parking space for Old Faithful. That was all !
This is the finest hotel/motel In which I've stayed in West Yellowstone! Usually one must reserve a room here at least six months in advance. It was on impulse that I decided to extend a long drive by one day and route myself through Yellowstone Park. I couldn't find a room closer than Belgrade, Montana! Because of past experience with Travelocity, I kept searching at least once a week and just one week before my trip, Yellowstone Westgate apparently had a cancellation, which I grabbed! Sure this room cost more, but it was worth it! I could improve the scenic value of my route, but more importantly, being able to stay overnight in West Yellowstone shortened the day by two hours, which I used to visit the park. In the past three years every National Park I've visited has been crowded. On July 28 Yellowstone was too crowded!

Posted by , from Louisiana on Aug 1, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

The hotel met my expectations.

Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet
We were able to reserve our room at the last minute due to changes in our travel plans, but were only able to reserve the room for one of our three nights in West Yellowstone. As it turned out, we had a better experience at Comfort Inn than at the other hotel we had to use.

Posted by , from Lawrenceville, GA on Aug 30, 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

The hotel was a good value for the area.

Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
The room was clean, staff helpful and the free breakfast was very good. The only issue was noise. We could hear the tv and conversations of the rooms next to our bed wall and overhead. Otherwise we would rate this a 4.

Posted by , from Il on Oct 18, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Yellowstone Westgate Hotel

Location 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758

Renovations + Closures

The property is closed between 22 October and 03 May.

Property Features

A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Business amenities include a business center and a meeting room. Free breakfast is available daily. An indoor pool, tour/ticket assistance, and a fireplace in the lobby are also featured at the business-friendly Yellowstone Westgate Hotel. Free self parking is available. A complete renovation of Yellowstone Westgate Hotel was completed in November 2013.

  • 79 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Business facilities
  • 1 conference room
  • Self-service laundry
  • Express check-out
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free self parking


  • Airport: West Yellowstone, MT (WYS-Yellowstone) (5.2 km / 3.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Yellowstone Westgate Hotel offers 79 accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This West Yellowstone hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Heating
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 6 AM to 9 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool.

Children under 16 years old are not allowed in the swimming pool or spa tub without adult supervision.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Rafting nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Ziplining nearby


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Wheelchair accessible parking

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 3 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.00 per day.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • Pets are welcome and stay free
  • Maximum 2 per room
  • Certain rooms only
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • Pets allowed (no fees)
  • Debit cards


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.00 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Yellowstone Westgate Hotel
  • Yellowstone Westgate
  • Yellowstone Westgate
  • Yellowstone Westgate Hotel Hotel
  • Yellowstone Westgate Hotel West Yellowstone
  • Yellowstone Westgate Hotel Hotel West Yellowstone

You should know

  • Pets are welcome in specific rooms only, which can be requested by contacting the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing
There was an error importing /West-Yellowstone-Hotels-Yellowstone-Westgate-Hotel.h27519-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.