Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Check-in was a little disappointing at first. Due to some employment turnover, we were checked into an uncleaned room. Once we brought it to the atten ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 10 Jul 2021

Hotel Description

Enjoy the indoor pool at this 3-star Monarch hotel

On river

At this Monarch hotel, you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of San Isabel National Forest and 6 miles (10 km) of Monarch Ski Area. Elation Ridge and East Trees are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Business services

This hotel features a restaurant, an indoor pool, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the free WiFi in public areas and onsite conference space. Enjoy the sauna and perks like free self parking.

Flat-screen TVs

Boasting comforts like premium bedding and down comforters, the 90 guestrooms also offer coffee/tea makers and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Other amenities include free long-distance calls, free local calls, and hair dryers.

Family Room, Multiple Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 7 Max

Classic Single Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Executive Single Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Double Room, 2 Bedrooms, Balcony, Mountain View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 8 Max

Deluxe Single Room, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony, Mountain View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Executive Single Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Monarch Mountain Lodge ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.0 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Monarch Mountain Lodge

Everyone (11) Couples (2) Family (3)
4 out of 5
Check-in was a little disappointing at first. Due to some employment turnover, we were checked into an uncleaned room. Once we brought it to the attention of the staff they were quick to re-room us! Overall we really enjoyed our stay!

Posted by on Jul 10, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
This is a nice property but the toilet was broken in our room when we checked in and the shower was not the best because the temperature range was narrow and it was hard to take a shower without getting scaled or freezing.

Posted by on Jun 8, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 8, 2021 by Kelly Ritz, Owner

Hi there Anonymous! Thanks so much for the kind word about our nice property. We love it here at Monarch Mountain Lodge. I wish you would have said something to the front desk, we would have moved you to a more comfortable room immediately. And, since we don't have an "Anonymous" on our registry, we cannot turn in a maintenance request. We are Sad Pandas over scalding our next guest! Happy Travels Anonymous! --Kelly Ritz

1 out of 5
We never planned to stay here due to the horrible reviews and we were right! Our planned hotel had to close unexpectedly and we could only find immediate lodging at Monarch Mountain Lodge. We booked our "family room" with Travelocity. However, when we arrived we were greeted at the front desk by a wonderful gentlemen who couldn't offer us the family room that we purchased because they no longer had one available. After hearing our story, he then helped us by giving us the only two rooms in the lodge available but both were under maintenance because the windows were broken. We decided to take the rooms since there were no other available locations. We were thrilled and thought that the lodge wasn't that bad. HOWEVER, we received a phone call at 11:00pm after we were all sleeping that we needed to present our credit card to be charged another $100 after we already paid the full price for the family room that we were charged for. We then talked to the owner (not a nice lady at all!!!!) and she informed me that we could pay the $100 or leave. So, after talking to Travelocity, determining that we had no other option, we stayed and paid the $100. I have to say that my boys enjoyed the amenities and the staff were very friendly but the owner was NOT (very rude). This was absolutely horrible customer service to put us in rooms that couldn't be rented anyway and then forcing us to pay full price for them. We will NEVER stay here again!!!! Don't waste your money or time.

Posted by on Mar 7, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 12, 2021 by Kelly Ritz, Owner

Hi Amanda Krause from Oklahoma—Your original hotel in which you booked in town, caught on fire!—ON FIRE!—as you mentioned, we were completely booked that weekend as we often are, but we thought we would try to help you out as best as we could considering we were fully booked—FULLY BOOKED as in “no guest rooms available”. You, Amanda Krause from Oklahoma, did not pay online as you said you did, so our front desk had to retrieve your card. After you spoke with Travelocity, they too, explained you would have to pay for your lodging with us. You did not pay full price for the rooms. You stayed there at a 50% discount. We gave you a 50% discount since these rooms were off market due to a crack in the window. So glad your boys enjoyed the amenities and you recognized how friendly our staff was. Frankly, I am also glad you recognized how rude I am when you try not to pay us—that is something I like to stay consistent with portraying. Rude is kind of my go-to when someone tries to get out of paying when we go out of our way to accommodate a guest. OX, Happy Travels! The Rude Owner, Kelly Ritz.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 3, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 8, 2021 by Roann

Thank you for the 5-stars! Hope to see you again soon!

2 out of 5
Property was dirty and staff was disorganized. Staff was friendly but poorly managed

Posted by on Sep 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 4, 2019 by Administrative Manager

We are very sorry to hear that we did not provide as exceptional of an experience as we aim for. We will consider your feedback in upcoming training.

1 out of 5
Upon arrival at the hotel I noticed it smelled of pot as soon as the doors opened and I had my two year old so not impressed then I noticed it really needed to be vaccumed and dusted. We got to our room and it was disgusting there was pee all over the toliet, black hair all over the bath tub, the floor needed to be vaccumed in the room as well. But with no other vacancy in the area we stayed and left the next morning. The coffee pot in room covered in dust, the mirror had huge while smears all over it on the wall, then I pulled out the little nightstand the coffee pot sat on to plug in my straightener and found a pile of old dirty rags that of course were not ours. and to top it off the ac doesn't work so you have to open the window to be comfortable to sleep and listing to the big rigs engine break all night down the mountain is super loud and annoying.

Posted by on Jul 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Very nice rustic hotel could use a little bit more of updating but was very clean and the staff was wonderful the view was awesome. On the other hand the room was warm had no air-conditioning needed to have ceiling fans a room faces the road so we had to listen to rope noise all night because we needed the windows open to stay cool. Put ceiling fans in

Posted by on Jul 28, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Worst hotel I've stayed at. Amazing views and location but hotel needs MANY updates. The bed was VERY worn and uncomfortable. No AC or fan, so miserable stale (and of course thin) air. Hotels restaurant and bar were closed. Very worn down property.

Posted by on Apr 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 10, 2019 by John K.

Thank you for your feedback.

2 out of 5

Posted by on Mar 30, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 12, 2019 by John Konig

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you feedback.

4 out of 5
Great location, clean room, decent pool and 2 hot tubs to soak in after skiing. Convenient shuttle to and from the nearby Monarch ski area. Comfortable and great views. Basic amenities, cereal and bagels for complementary breakfast and coffee in the room. We had a lovely stay and were pleasantly surprised with the meaty delicious hamburgers at the hotel restaurant. Not a posh luxury place and little to no cell service or WiFi but exactly what we were needing as an inexpensive family getaway.

Posted by on Jan 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 17, 2019 by Carolyn

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the positive feedback and glad you like us.

About the Monarch Mountain Lodge

Location 22720 W US Hwy 50, Monarch, CO 81201

Property Features

Monarch Mountain Lodge offers its guests an indoor pool and a sauna. Along with a restaurant and a coffee shop/café, there's a snack bar/deli on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Tour/ticket assistance, a vending machine, and a fireplace in the lobby are also featured at the business-friendly Monarch Mountain Lodge. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3-star Monarch hotel.

  • 90 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • Built in 1971
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Deli
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Wedding services available
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Computer for guest use
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Denver International Airport (DEN) (283.1 km / 175.9 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Monarch Mountain Lodge offers 90 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Beds feature down comforters and premium bedding. 39-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium satellite channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Business-friendly amenities include phones; local and long-distance calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is offered daily and irons/ironing boards can be requested.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Down blanket
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Long distance calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (heating)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast on weekends from 6:00 AM and 10:00 AM.

Monarch Mountain Lodge has a restaurant on site.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool and a sauna.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snowboarding nearby
  • Snowmobiling nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Cave exploring/spelunking nearby
  • Snowshoeing nearby
  • Downhill skiing nearby
  • Cross-country skiing nearby
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Sledding nearby
  • Racquetball/squash on site
  • Rafting nearby
  • Snow tubing nearby
  • Ski lessons available nearby
  • Basketball on site
  • Ski equipment rental shops nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 4:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Guests arriving outside of regular check-in hours can use the front desk telephone to alert a staff memeber.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM.
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.00.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 25.00 per accommodation, per night
  • Only dogs and cats are allowed
  • Maximum 2 per room
  • Certain rooms only
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash

Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector and a smoke detector

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector and a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • LGBTQ friendly
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Debit cards
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Utility surcharge: USD 2 per accommodation, per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 8.00 and USD 15.00 for adults, USD 6.00 and USD 8.00 for children (approximately)
  • Pet fee: USD 25.00 per accommodation, per night
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Monarch Mountain Lodge
  • Monarch Mountain Hotel Monarch
  • Monarch Mountain Lodge Hotel
  • Monarch Mountain Lodge Monarch
  • Monarch Mountain Lodge Hotel Monarch

You should know

  • Pool access available from 7:00 AM to 10:00 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets are welcome in specific rooms only, which can be requested by contacting the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
  • This property welcomes guests of all sexual orientations and gender identities (LGBTQ friendly).
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Buena-Vista-Hotels-Monarch-Mountain-Lodge.h9846499-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Buena-Vista-Hotels-Monarch-Mountain-Lodge.h9846499-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Buena-Vista-Hotels-Monarch-Mountain-Lodge.h9846499-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.