Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.3 out of 5

"Very friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. Great for a fun getaway, just be aware because it's an older property rooms don't have tons of outle ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 24 Jan 2020

Hotel Description

4-star historic hotel near Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad

In historical district

A stay at this Historic Downtown Durango hotel places you steps from Henry Strater Theater and within a 5-minute walk of Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Durango Area Tourism Office and Sorrel Sky Gallery are also within half a mile (1 km).

Free perks

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free continental breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the laundry service. A terrace, luggage storage, and concierge services are also on offer.

Free WiFi, comfy beds

The 39 individually decorated guestrooms offer free WiFi and comfy beds. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and other amenities include iPod docks and Egyptian cotton sheets.

Room 208-Queen Bed No Windows

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$126* Per night/room Feb 22 - Feb 23

Room 303-Queen Bed with Windows

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room 304-Queen Bed with Windows

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room 212-King Bed No Windows

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Presidential King Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Palace Sunlight Suite

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

The General Palmer Hotel ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The General Palmer Hotel

Everyone (10) Couples (1) Family (3)
5 out of 5
Very friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. Great for a fun getaway, just be aware because it's an older property rooms don't have tons of outlets.

Posted by on Jan 24, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 25, 2020 by Dionna

Thank you for sharing your experience at the general Palmer Hotel. We hope to see you again!

3 out of 5
Older westen property has some character. Breakfast was cheap and tasteless. Staff was lax. No elevator to second floor of our building. Waaaay over rated hotel!

Posted by on Oct 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 7, 2019 by Shannon

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and apologize for not meeting your expectations. The "Palace" building, which is the original building, does not have an elevator while the main building has maintained the original elevator from 1898. Again, we truly hope you will accept our apologies.

4 out of 5
Great property. Breakfast was great. The bathtub in 307 didn’t drain well.

Posted by on Jul 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 8, 2019 by Shannon

We apologize for the slow drain and have had it resolved. Thank you so much for sharing and we hope to see you again soon.

2 out of 5
The Desk Clerk for the evening was terrible. NO HELP AT ALL. She seemed to be pleased that she could continue to offer no help. We picked the General Palmer because we were taking the Durango train the next day. We were given a room in the Annex building with no elevator and very long steep stairs. We needed assistance in relocating our luggage to another hotel and she said it wasn't possible. We asked to have the luggage put in our car and the car left in their lot until we came back on the train. She said we needed to remove the car from the lot by checkout time (we would be on the train between Durango and Silverton at that time) and said that no one would be available to help us before 8am (exactly when the train was departing the station). We are older women (one handicapped) and she refused to try to give us any options. I asked to leave the luggage in their storeroom for the day -- that was a no also. And if we didn't remove our luggage before checkout, we would be charged for another day. I had to carry all of our bags down to the car before 7:30 am, move the car to the street and still try to get to the depot on foot in costume before 8am. Rooms were ok, but we had to get an electric heater from the hotel. Yes it was clean, but this was the worst experience I have ever had from an employee of any hotel and I travel all over the world. Even in countries where english is not the first language, everyone has tried to be helpful with unusual circumstances.

Posted by on Jan 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 6, 2019 by Hotel Manager

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room that you booked through Travelocity. You booked one of our Family suites which are only available in our Palace Wing. Our front desk agent offered other options, but as a small historical hotel we only have 5 rooms that have more than one bed and they are usually the first to be booked. Unfortunately, our hotel does not assist in moving luggage to other hotels. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you enjoyed your time in Durango.

5 out of 5
This could not have been a nicer experience. Thanks!

Posted by on Jan 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 17, 2019 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Durango. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will be back to visit again soon!

4 out of 5
In the heart of downtown Durango. The room was nice, however, we had to call to get the heat turned on. The lobby area was quite cold as well. The staff was very friendly.

Posted by on Dec 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 31, 2018 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Durango. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will be back to visit again soon!

4 out of 5
Nice details in the room,... Real wine glasses, great chocolates, nice sitting chairs, quiet, good towels You have to keep in mind it is a historical hotel

Posted by on Sep 16, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 17, 2018 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Durango. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will be back to visit again soon.

5 out of 5
Perfect stay for a short weekend! This hotel is right down in the historic part of Durango and right next door to the train station. We rode the Durango Blues Train (it was awesome) and coming back to our room at the Hotel was a wonderful experience. It is also very beautiful!

Posted by on Aug 21, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 23, 2018 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Durango. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will be back to visit again soon.

5 out of 5

Stay here often

Stay here each time I come to Durango. Very friendly staff and love the old hotel and they have kept it period correct.

Posted by , from Grand Junction, Colorado on Jul 9, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 13, 2018 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you coming to stay with us when you're in Durango. We appreciate your feedback and comments and we thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope you will be back to visit again soon.

5 out of 5

Great Experience!

Stayed on the third floor room was great and clean, super comfy bed, linens, even down to the provided robes. Felt more like staying in a nice home rather than a hotel room. Loved the historic charm of the place

Posted by , from Grand Junction, Colorado on Jun 27, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 30, 2018 by Hotel Manager

Thank you for your review and for your pictures! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments and feedback. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will be back to visit again soon!

About the The General Palmer Hotel

Location 567 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301

Property Features

Free breakfast is available. Public spaces have free WiFi. The business-friendly The General Palmer Hotel also features a terrace, concierge services, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Self parking is free. This 4-star Durango hotel is smoke free.

  • 39 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Built in 1898
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Concierge
  • Terrace
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Airport: Durango, CO (DRO-La Plata County) (23.5 km / 14.6 mi)
  • Train station: Durango Narrow Gauge Railroad Station (0.1 km / 0.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

The General Palmer Hotel offers 39 air-conditioned accommodations with iPod docking stations and MP3 docking stations. These individually decorated and furnished accommodations include desks. Pillowtop beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets. 42-inch flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations with hydromassage showerheads. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and ceiling fans.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • IPod dock
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Egyptian cotton linens
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Hydromassage showerhead
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast.

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Horse riding nearby
  • Hunting nearby
  • Snowboarding nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Mountain climbing nearby
  • Rock climbing nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Cave exploring/spelunking nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Downhill skiing nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby
  • Ziplining nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 11 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Late check-out fee: USD 35.00 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • General Palmer
  • General Palmer Durango
  • General Palmer Hotel
  • General Palmer Hotel Durango
  • The General Palmer Hotel Hotel
  • The General Palmer Hotel Durango
  • The General Palmer Hotel Hotel Durango

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing https://travel.travelocity.com/Durango---Purgatory-Hotels-The-General-Palmer-Hotel.h2357283-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Durango---Purgatory-Hotels-The-General-Palmer-Hotel.h2357283-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 https://travel.travelocity.com/Durango---Purgatory-Hotels-The-General-Palmer-Hotel.h2357283-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.