Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.7 out of 5

"Did not like microwaved breakfast. " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 21 May 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Altoona guestrooms with kitchens

In Altoona

Within a 15-minute walk of the hotel, you'll find Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino and Adventureland. Also, Outlets of Des Moines is within 2 miles (3 km) and Grand View Golf Course is within 6 miles (10 km).

Round-the-clock service

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. A business center, dry cleaning, and luggage storage are also on offer.

Room, 1 Queen Bed (With Recliner)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
$90* Per night/room Oct 2 - Oct 3

Room, 2 Queen Beds (Hearing Impaired)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 Queen Bed (Roll In Shower)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

My Place Hotel - Altoona/Des Moines, IA ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.7 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 5.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for My Place Hotel - Altoona/Des Moines, IA

Everyone (10) Couples (4) Family (6)
2 out of 5
No breakfast . Tiny queen for two adults. Rented three rooms and one smelled awful - overpriced after all the added taxes 250.00 not 119.00 Becausw we booked through Travelocity they would not credit the room that smelled!

Posted by on Jun 23, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 23, 2022 by Melanie Spencer| General Manager

Thank you for the feedback, we will use it to improve our housekeeping processes. Unfortunately, the rate is set by the 3rd party you booked through; the hotel is unable to change this.

4 out of 5
Did not like microwaved breakfast.

Posted by , from Topeka on May 21, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 11, 2022 by Melanie Spencer| General Manager

I apologize you did not enjoy the breakfast in bed program. Unfortunately, being an extended stay we do not offer a hot continental breakfast. I do hope the rest of your stay was wonderful.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 12, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
NA

Posted by on Aug 7, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 20, 2021 by Melanie Spencer | General Manager

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 9, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 24, 2021 by Melanie Spencer | General Manager

Thank you for the wonderful review, I will be sure to share it with the staff. Thanks for your stay!

5 out of 5
Our room had a full kitchen and we were able to bring our golden retriever.

Posted by on Jun 20, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 29, 2021 by Jeremy M | True Hospitality, LLC

Thank you very much for taking a moment to rate and review your recent stay with us! We certainly appreciate your time- and look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe travels- always!

5 out of 5
Great service. Very easy process.

Posted by on May 30, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 2, 2021 by Josh Sievers | True Hospitality, LLC

Thank you for being our guest! We are delighted to know you had an EXCELLENT stay and received great service!

5 out of 5
Really nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Full size kitchen of your own.

Posted by on Feb 2, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 3, 2020 by JM

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!

5 out of 5
Mini kitchen was nice. Room was clean. Staff friendly

Posted by on Jan 1, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 3, 2020 by JM

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!

4 out of 5
The room smelled bad. It was pet friendly it may have been that.

Posted by on Aug 19, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 20, 2019 by JM

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the odor of the room. We will have this addressed immediately. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again for a more fragrant visit!

About the My Place Hotel - Altoona/Des Moines, IA

Location 2315 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009

Property Features

A computer station is on site, and both WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. My Place Hotel - Altoona/Des Moines, IA also features a vending machine, laundry facilities, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Self parking is free. This Altoona hotel is smoke free.

  • 64 guestrooms or units
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Newspapers for purchase
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired internet

Parking

Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

My Place Hotel - Altoona/Des Moines, IA offers 64 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Kitchens offer refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations with deep soaking bathtubs and hydromassage showerheads, and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include phones along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided weekly.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Deep soaking tub
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Hydromassage showerhead
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy to-go breakfast daily from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair-accessible public washroom
  • Handrails in stairways
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 10 per accommodation, per day
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Be prepared: check the latest COVID-19 travel requirements and measures in place for this destination before you travel.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and JCB International. Cash is not accepted. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff does not wear personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Tourism fee: USD 5 per accommodation, per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for to-go breakfast: USD 4.49 per person (approximately)
  • Pet fee: USD 10 per accommodation, per day
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • My Place Hotel-Altoona/Des Moines IA Hotel
  • My Place Hotel-Altoona/Des Moines Hotel
  • My Place Hotel-Altoona/Des Moines IA
  • My Place Hotel-Altoona/Des Moines
  • My Place Hotel-Altoona/Des Moines, IA Hotel Altoona
  • My Place Hotel-Altoona/Des Moines, IA Hotel
  • My Place Hotel-Altoona/Des Moines, IA Altoona
  • My Place Hotel Altoona/Des Moines IA
  • My Altoona Des Moines, Ia
  • My Altoona Des Moines, Ia
  • My Place Hotel Altoona/Des Moines IA
  • My Place Hotel - Altoona/Des Moines, IA Hotel
  • My Place Hotel - Altoona/Des Moines, IA Altoona
  • My Place Hotel - Altoona/Des Moines, IA Hotel Altoona
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-My-Place-Hotel---Altoona/Des-Moines,-IA.h19402965-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Des-Moines-Hotels-My-Place-Hotel---Altoona/Des-Moines,-IA.h19402965-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-My-Place-Hotel---Altoona/Des-Moines,-IA.h19402965-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.