Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Lovely setting, and fine service. Not enough electrical outlets in our room! Many extra charges! But a FINE getaway. Thanks. " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 04 Mar 2020

Hotel Description

4-star beachfront hotel near Sunset Cliffs Natural Park

Beachside getaway

Your stay at this Point Loma hotel places you within 6 miles (10 km) of Sunset Cliffs Natural Park and Old Town San Diego State Park. USS Midway Museum and SeaWorld are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Poolside dining

This traditional hotel features a private beach, a full-service spa, and a marina. Relax with beach cabanas, sun loungers, and beach umbrellas. Enjoy the 2 outdoor pools and perks like free WiFi.

Free WiFi, iPod docks

The 170 individually decorated guestrooms offer free WiFi and iPod docks. Flat-screen TVs come with digital channels, and other amenities include balconies or patios and refrigerators.

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$249* Per night/room Jul 8 - Jul 9

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed, Marina View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Junior Suite, 2 Queen Beds, View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Ocean View (Bay)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed, View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Ocean View (Bay)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.8 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Everyone (11) Couples (5) Family (3)
4 out of 5
Lovely setting, and fine service. Not enough electrical outlets in our room! Many extra charges! But a FINE getaway. Thanks.

Posted by , from ESCONDIDO, CA. on Mar 4, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 4, 2020 by Kona Kai Management

Good day SKM, Thank you for taking the time rate your experience.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 23, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 24, 2020 by Sarah R

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

1 out of 5
Loads of hidden fees such as parking and resort fees. The facility was worn, on-site garbage cans overflowed for more than 3 days, bugs were in the sheets and in the shower; it seems like they put all their funds into the resort side of the business. Not sure why you pay for parking when there is street parking for free!! Toilet ran with the loudest screeching noise even after staff came to “fix it”. They asked if I was military then said there was no discount. Hilariously rude and unnecessary. The location is very close to the airport and the bay which were great but there were too many negatives to honestly think about returning. Definitely not worth the money.

Posted by on Jan 18, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 25, 2020 by Manager

Dear Faith, We apologize you did not enjoy yourself at our resort. We don't consider our resort charge or parking charge hidden as they are present on both Expedia website, confirmation, and our direct website. Our street parking is available to guests until 2am as the Harbor Police patrol during the evening. We wish we had discussed your stay while you were departing as appropriate resolution would have been applied. We encourage you to try Kona Kai again in the future and see how it truly shines above the rest!

5 out of 5

Posted by on Jan 14, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 21, 2020 by Sarah R

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

3 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 8, 2019 by Sarah R

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

5 out of 5
The area was awesome! Our room had a view of the Marina and it was beautiful !!! There was a sand area where at night they had fire pits which made the view awesome as well and during the day they had beautiful cabanas where you could sit have cocktails and enjoy the view. The 2 pools are also very nice and can also take a stroll by the marina to site view. What is also convenient is the marina has boat,ski, and other water rentals that are easy to book. Love this place and would stay here again!

Posted by , from Point Loma San Diego on Sep 16, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 16, 2019 by Sarah R

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view of the marina from your guestroom and that you were able to enjoy the beach cabanas during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

2 out of 5
When we arrived to check in, we were told that our Jr. Suite would not have a view of the water or marina, as stated in the Travelocity listing, but instead would have a view of a brick wall. The young woman who checked us in seemed indifferent at best and offered no solutions. A second, more helpful clerk offered us a different option, and we opted for a standard room with a marina view. At check-out, we were billed for the Suite instead of the less expensive standard room. I had to remind the new-yet-still-indifferent front desk clerk of this fact. She grudgingly altered the charge. At no point did she ask how our stay was. Our room was not cleaned on the 2nd day of our 3 day stay. We asked for shower soap/gel (there was none in the bathroom), were promised some would be delivered, and it wasn't. The family pool was over-populated by Marina-club members with no kids. They could have used the adult-only pool, thereby freeing up some space, but no one seems to regulate this system. Sadly. All in all, it seems like the front desk crew could use some Hospitality training, the housekeeping team could go ahead and clean the rooms (instead of asking us on day one if we wanted them to do that. Yeah, that happened.) There's got to be other options in San Diego. Seek them out.

Posted by , from Los Angeles on Aug 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 13, 2019 by Manager

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at Kona Kai. We apologize that the original suite was not to your liking, however, like that the agent was able to provide you with some alternatives. We apologize that you felt some push back from one of our agents, and we will be following up with proper procedures and customer service. Our Housekeeping department has also been informed regarding the service as every room should be tidied up unless the guest has provided a do not disturb. We again do apologize for this inconvenience, and wish you great luck in your future travels.

4 out of 5
No housekeeping until late afternoon, room service was slow.

Posted by on Aug 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 7, 2019 by Sarah R

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon

4 out of 5
We returned to Kona Kai for a second time - excellent trip! Our room the first time was much nicer...be sure to select a Bay or Marina view room. This resort has great service - and many ammenitites that mean you don't have leave much. Great restaurant, spa, firepits by the marina, pools (including 21+ pool) and more! Was slightly shocked that the resort fee did not include parking, so it was not perfect.

Posted by on Aug 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 7, 2019 by Sarah R

Thank you for coming again and for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed all of the resort amenities during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

5 out of 5
Very friendly and nice staff. Room was fine and location was excellent. Appears to cater to families which is nice. Check in was late and check out early...did not like that

Posted by on Jun 22, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 24, 2019 by Sarah R

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you found our staff nice during your stay and that you found our location ideal for your San Diego getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

About the Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Location 1551 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106

Property Features

Simply walk outside to smell the salt air and watch the ocean waves from the sand beach. Hit the beach and work on your tan in the sun loungers (chaise longues) or relax in the shade with cabanas (surcharge) and umbrellas. At Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort you can cool off in one of the 2 outdoor swimming pools and indulge in a pampering afternoon at the full-service spa. There's a restaurant on site. For a drink, you can stop by one of the onsite bars, including 2 poolside bars and 2 bars/lounges. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. This beach hotel also offers a spa tub, a steam room, and a fitness center. Parking is available for a fee. This 4-star San Diego hotel is smoke free.

  • 170 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 8 buildings
  • 2 bars by the pool
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • 56000 sq ft of conference space
  • 5203 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1959
  • Dining venue
  • Cabanas on the beach (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Cabanas by the pool (surcharge)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Charging station for electric cars
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference center
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • On private beach
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: San Diego Intl. Airport (SAN) (6.1 km / 3.8 mi)
  • Train station: San Diego-Old Town Transit Center (7.1 km / 4.4 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking and self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort offers 170 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature iPod docking stations and minibars. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Beds feature down comforters and premium bedding. A pillow menu is available. 42-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium digital channels and pay movies. Refrigerators and coffee/tea makers are provided. Bathrooms include designer toiletries and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and safes, as well as phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is offered daily and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • Minibar
  • IPod dock
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Down blanket
  • Pillow options
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 11 AM.

Vessel Restaurant and Bar - Overlooking the pool, this restaurant specializes in local cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available. Happy hour is offered.

Paloma Bar - This poolside bar serves lunch and light fare. Open daily.

Tiki Bar - This poolside bar serves lunch and light fare. A children's menu is available. Open daily.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

2 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a spa tub. Other recreational amenities include a private beach, a steam room, and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Kayaking on site
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site
  • Pilates classes on site
  • Beach yoga on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Sailing on site
  • Boat tours on site
  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Personal motorized watercraft on site

Spa Services

SpaTerre has 6 treatment rooms including rooms for couples. Massages are available on the beach and in the spa; other services include deep-tissue massages, hot stone massages, and sports massages. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy. The spa is equipped with a spa tub and a steam room.

The spa is open daily. Guests under 18 years old are not allowed in the spa.

  • Number of treatment rooms 6
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Prenatal massage
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Steam room in spa
  • Minimum age to access spa is 18
  • Sports massage
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair-accessible on-site restaurant
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Stair-free path to entrance
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair-accessible public washroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible concierge desk
  • In-room accessibility
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair-accessible spa
  • Wheelchair-accessible pool
  • Wheelchair-accessible fitness center
  • Wheelchair-accessible meeting spaces/business center

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 2:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. An adult age 18 or older must assume all liability for the booking.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. An adult age 18 or older must assume all liability for the booking.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 20.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 75.00 per accommodation, per stay
  • Only dogs are allowed
  • Maximum 2 per room (weight limit: 100 lbs)
  • Food and water bowls are available
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 110.00 per night
  • Resort fee: USD 42.86 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Spa access
  • Beach access
  • Beach loungers
  • Beach towels
  • Fitness center access
  • Fitness/yoga classes
  • Business center/computer access
  • Newspaper
  • Phone calls
  • In-room safe
  • In-room coffee
  • WiFi access (may be limited)

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 12 and USD 25 per person (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: USD 38.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 38.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Pet fee: USD 75.00 per accommodation, per stay
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 20.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Kona Kai Resort & Marina San Diego
  • Kona Kai Hotel San Diego
  • Kona Kai Resort Spa San Diego
  • Kona Kai Resort Spa
  • Kona Kai Spa San Diego
  • Kona Kai Spa
  • Kona Kai Resort San Diego
  • Kona Kai & Spa, A Noble House
  • Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort Hotel
  • Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort San Diego
  • Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort Hotel San Diego

You should know

  • Pool access available from 7:00 AM to 10:00 PM.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the hotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/San-Diego-Hotels-Kona-Kai-Resort-&-Spa,-A-Noble-House-Resort.h28118-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /San-Diego-Hotels-Kona-Kai-Resort-&-Spa,-A-Noble-House-Resort.h28118-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/San-Diego-Hotels-Kona-Kai-Resort-&-Spa,-A-Noble-House-Resort.h28118-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.