Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.0 out of 5

"I have to be honest when we first arrived at the Waimea plantation I was thrilled when I saw the gorgeous reception area. When I got to our 2 bedroom ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 16 Sep 2016

Hotel Description

3.5-star beachfront resort near Russian Fort Elizabeth State Historical Park

On the beach

Stay at this Waimea resort and you'll be within 2 miles (3 km) of Russian Fort Elizabeth State Historical Park and 6 miles (10 km) of Kekaha Beach Park. Barking Sands Beach is within 6 miles (10 km) and Kauai Soto Zen Temple Zenshuji is within 9 miles (15 km).

Dining, outdoor pool

This resort features a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and a bar/lounge. Guests will appreciate free perks like free self parking and WiFi in public areas. A garden, a picnic area, and laundry facilities are also on offer.

Free Internet, kitchens

The 61 individually decorated guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as DVD players. Well-equipped kitchens come with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves. Limited housekeeping is available.

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, Garden View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$289* Per night/room Mar 8 - Mar 9

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, Ocean View

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, Garden View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, Garden View

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort

Everyone (4) Couples (1) Family (1)
5 out of 5
I loved my little place... it was an oceanfront view with a banyon tree drive thru... great for a little escape. Mahalo!

Posted by on Sep 27, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 28, 2019 by Jasmine

Aloha! Thank you for an awesome rating! thank you for choosing to stay with us! Thrilled you enjoy your cottage. Mahalo!

4 out of 5
The Staff were super friendly and helpful! The cottage was comfy and near the beach.

Posted by on Sep 24, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 24, 2019 by Jasmine

Aloha! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us. We hope you will visit again. Mahalo!

2 out of 5
I liked the cottage setting and the service was fine. However, the beach is black sand and rocky which makes it a shark haven and nobody goes in the ocean. Also, the cottages are not air conditioned well and the power went out in the middle of the night and I had to figure out how to get everything turned back on to my cottage and it looked like others had the same problem. The main living areas in the cottage would get into the upper 80s from about 1 pm until 6 pm due to the poor a/c setup and we would have to leave the cottage during that time frame every day. I felt like we overpaid a lot for the stay based on the location and the cottage conditions.

Posted by on Sep 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 16, 2019 by Jasmine

Aloha Jeff, We appreciate you taking a few minutes to share your experiences with us. The black sand and dirty water fronting the resort is because about a quarter-mile above us the Waimea river flows out of the Waimea Canyon into the ocean, and the currents churn up the sediments causing the water to be dirty and people chose to use the beach as a walking beach instead of a swimming one. Actually, the ocean fronting the property is all sand bottom and not rocky. Yes both August and September are the hottest months out of the year, and with little to no tradewinds did not help the matter either. I did some research and saw that we tried to install a portable AC or provide additional fans, and I am guessing that did not work. We are sorry we could not make it better while you were here. We hope you were able to discover the beauties the island had to offer. Mahalo!

4 out of 5
Lovely cottages with fully supplied kitchens. Very spacious living, bath, and bedroom. Place os immaculate. I’m sitting in the living room with my feet up, coffee in hand looking out at the beautiful ocean view. The only downsides: this is clearly a family place. Great for kids, but, not necessarily a honeymoon or adult time place.

Posted by on Apr 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 3, 2019 by Jasmine

Aloha! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us. Yes, we are not for everyone, we're for those looking to be away from the hustle and bustle of a typical resort destination, and just looking for downtime and serenity. Congratulations on your Honeymoon! and thank you for experiencing Waimea Plantation Cottages! Mahalo!

5 out of 5

Special experience

I have to be honest when we first arrived at the Waimea plantation I was thrilled when I saw the gorgeous reception area. When I got to our 2 bedroom oceanfront cottage I was honestly a little disappointed as the cottage looked nothing like the photos I had seen. We returned to the reception and explained that we were disappointed with the cottage and they graciously upgraded us to the 3 bedroom ocean front directors cottage which was perfect! The cottage isn't fancy, but so charming and a very special was to explore the west side of Kauai.

Posted by , from Temecula CA on Sep 16, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Step back in time

We stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom oceanfront cottage. It felt like a step into the past. The cottage was from the 1930's. The view was spectacular, black sand beach, pine and palm trees, flowers everywhere. There were loads of windows and french doors with white curtains, ceiling fans in every room, air conditioners in the bedrooms, porches front and back, fully equipped kitchen and a gas grill out front. Beautiful, but keep in mind it is old, so if you like that kind of character it is good. There were some little bugs that came in the bathroom and a couple of geckos made it inside. For me...it was charming.

Posted by on Aug 23, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Beautiful, off the beaten path

Pros: Far from touristy areas, felt local, amazing grounds, private cabin to ourselves, comfortable room.
Cons: Cabin could've used some updating just to spruce things up (e.g., painting, new floors). Everything was clean and comfortable, but well-worn.
Location: Waimea is a small, charming town without much tourist activity; About 1+ hour drive from activities on the northshore.
Stayed here on our first trip to Hawaii and loved it. I agree with other reviewers that this isn't a luxury hotel experience, but it brings it's own benefits. It's not very touristy, somewhat secluded and gave us our own little retreat while on Kauai. We had a premium oceanfront 1-bedroom (#49). Most of the cabins are fairly close together so they're not necessarily secluded, but they are separate from each other and much more private than any condo or hotel room. There's enough screens and vegetation that we felt sufficiently private. I'd compare the condition of the cabin to an old beach house - it was well-worn but clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed. The setting is what really sets this place apart - the grounds are absolutely beautiful and we had a view from our front porch straight out to the ocean. Being able to sip coffee on that porch and watch the sun come up, then go walk on the beach is really something I don't think we would have gotten at any other resort on the island. You really do feel like you have your own little place on the ocean. The beach is black/brown sand and not suitable for swimming or sunbathing, but it's beautiful in its own right and perfect for sunrise/sunset walks. We hardly ever saw anyone else on the beach, which was a bonus. You can also easily walk down the beach to the town of Waimea.

Posted by on Jun 21, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

This is the perfect place.

Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, small friendly bar on site
This was one of the best places I have ever stayed. It reminds you of the "old Hawaii" inthe way the cottages have been restored. The the grounds are beautiful and very well kept. I just loved the place.

Posted by , from Sacramento, CA, USA on Nov 6, 2012

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

The feel of old Hawai'i.

Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
If you want to take a vacation that is laid back and not go go go, Waimea plantation cottages is it. Away from the hustle and bustle of most Hawawiin vacations, the people of Waimea are friendly and helpful and make you feel part of their community while staying at the plantation. This place truly has the feel of old Hawai'i. Just rent a car and see the Island during the day to return to paradise in the evenings. Aloha and Mahalo !!!

Posted by , from Los angeles on Apr 13, 2011

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

AMAZING

I must say this place is amazing! We stayed in the ""bull pen"" cottage. The roosters are everywhere all over the island thousands of them. They cannot be avoided and are not bothersome! It is true that there is no AC here however there is a celling fan in every room even the bathrooms! The restaurant on the property's food is amazing!! although there are cats walking around and geckos on the ceilings they cause no trouble what so ever! And the prices are very decent! Although in the town there is not a lot to do. There is JoJo's shaved ice and a drive through espresso bar. If you want people all around you, and 50,000 people staying in the same place as you are then this IS NOT the place for you. There are hardly no people staying here and it is quite and cozy! best of all we had a kitchen which saved some money by making our own breakfasts! I HIGHLY recommend this place and am as we speak planning my next trip there! we stayed in may 09

Posted by on Jun 6, 2009

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort

Location 9400 Kaumualii Highway, Waimea, HI 96796

Property Features

Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort offers its guests an outdoor pool and a children's pool. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. Tour/ticket assistance, barbecue grills, and gift shops/newsstands are also featured at Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort. Free self parking is available. This 3.5-star Waimea resort is smoke free.

  • 1 floor
  • 61 guestrooms or units
  • 60 buildings
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Cabanas by the pool (free)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Full-sized refrigerator/freezer
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Lihue, HI (LIH) (41.2 km / 25.6 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort offers 61 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and safes. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Accommodations at this 3.5-star resort have kitchens with full-sized refrigerators/freezers, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include complimentary newspapers and phones; local and long-distance calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and rice cookers. Housekeeping is provided on a limited basis.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Private balcony or patio
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator (full size)
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Rice cooker
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (limited)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Long distance calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor

Food & Drink

Chicken In A Barrel BBQ - Overlooking the ocean and garden, this restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting).

Nearby Activities

An outdoor pool and a children's pool are on site.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Fishing on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Skydiving nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Rafting nearby
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Assistive listening devices available

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily until 8:00 PM.
If you are planning to arrive after 8:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily until 8:00 PM.
Guests arriving after 8:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds. Tax ID - 198-476-3904-01.. Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds. The tax ID number is 198-476-3904-01.. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector in each accommodation.

  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No elevators
  • Tax ID - 198-476-3904-01.
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Resort fee: USD 30 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Beach access
  • Beach loungers
  • Beach towels
  • Business center/computer access
  • Internet access
  • Newspaper
  • Phone calls
  • In-room safe
  • In-room coffee
  • Self parking
  • Parking
  • Lending library access
  • Housekeeping
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Aston Plantation Cottages
  • Aston Plantation Cottages Hotel
  • Aston Plantation Cottages Hotel Waimea
  • Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Resort Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Resort Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages a Coast Resort
  • Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Resort Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Resort Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages a Coast Resort
  • Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Resort Waimea
url importing https://travel.travelocity.com/Waimea-Hotels-Waimea-Plantation-Cottages,-a-Coast-Resort.h52880-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Waimea-Hotels-Waimea-Plantation-Cottages,-a-Coast-Resort.h52880-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 https://travel.travelocity.com/Waimea-Hotels-Waimea-Plantation-Cottages,-a-Coast-Resort.h52880-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.