Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.2 out of 5

"Very beautiful property, the views where gorgeous. Quiet, park like setting on the south coast of Kauai. The restaurant which is on the property has ... " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 04 Jan 2023

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3.5-star beachfront resort near Kauai Veterans Memorial Hospital

On the beach

Stay at this Waimea resort and you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Kauai Veterans Memorial Hospital and 2 miles (3 km) of Russian Fort Elizabeth State Historical Park. Kekaha Beach Park and Barking Sands Beach are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Fun at the beach

This resort features a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and a bar/lounge. WiFi in public areas is free. A business center, a terrace, and a garden are also on offer.

Coast Cottage, 1 Bedroom, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Coast Cottage, 3 Bedroom, Ocean View

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Coast Cottage, 2 Bedroom, Ocean Front

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Coast Cottage, 2 Bedroom, Garden View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Coast Cottage, 3 Bedroom, Garden View

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Coast Cottage, 1 Bedroom, Garden View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort

Everyone (6) Couples (1) Family (3)
5 out of 5
Very beautiful property, the views where gorgeous. Quiet, park like setting on the south coast of Kauai. The restaurant which is on the property has awesome service and food. If you are looking for a laid back, very small town local feel, this is the place to stay at in Waimea.

Posted by on Jan 4, 2023

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 11, 2023 by Waimea Plantation Cottages

Mahalo for your wonderful feedback, Suzanne. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of our cottages and the serene setting. We hope to welcome you again soon. A hui hou.

5 out of 5
quiet place to stay beautiful Love it

Posted by , from GRAFTON on Apr 8, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 8, 2022 by Jasmine

Aloha Yueher, Thank you for an awesome rating. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit again. Mahalo!

5 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 14, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
My stay at Waimea Plantation Cottages was one of the best vacations I have ever had! The grounds were incredible and my cottage was perfect. It was so nice to have a place all to myself where I did not share a wall with others. The staff was very friendly and Cherrie went above and beyond to make sure my stay was perfect. In fact, I wouldn't have made it home without her! Thank you, Cherrie!

Posted by on May 25, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 25, 2021 by Elle, Sales & Markting

Mahalo for the lovely review. And thank you for including Cherrie's name in it. We'll make sure she's recognized for her excellent guest care.

5 out of 5
I loved my little place... it was an oceanfront view with a banyon tree drive thru... great for a little escape. Mahalo!

Posted by on Sep 27, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 28, 2019 by Jasmine

Aloha! Thank you for an awesome rating! thank you for choosing to stay with us! Thrilled you enjoy your cottage. Mahalo!

4 out of 5
The Staff were super friendly and helpful! The cottage was comfy and near the beach.

Posted by on Sep 24, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 24, 2019 by Jasmine

Aloha! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us. We hope you will visit again. Mahalo!

2 out of 5
I liked the cottage setting and the service was fine. However, the beach is black sand and rocky which makes it a shark haven and nobody goes in the ocean. Also, the cottages are not air conditioned well and the power went out in the middle of the night and I had to figure out how to get everything turned back on to my cottage and it looked like others had the same problem. The main living areas in the cottage would get into the upper 80s from about 1 pm until 6 pm due to the poor a/c setup and we would have to leave the cottage during that time frame every day. I felt like we overpaid a lot for the stay based on the location and the cottage conditions.

Posted by on Sep 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 16, 2019 by Jasmine

Aloha Jeff, We appreciate you taking a few minutes to share your experiences with us. The black sand and dirty water fronting the resort is because about a quarter-mile above us the Waimea river flows out of the Waimea Canyon into the ocean, and the currents churn up the sediments causing the water to be dirty and people chose to use the beach as a walking beach instead of a swimming one. Actually, the ocean fronting the property is all sand bottom and not rocky. Yes both August and September are the hottest months out of the year, and with little to no tradewinds did not help the matter either. I did some research and saw that we tried to install a portable AC or provide additional fans, and I am guessing that did not work. We are sorry we could not make it better while you were here. We hope you were able to discover the beauties the island had to offer. Mahalo!

4 out of 5
Lovely cottages with fully supplied kitchens. Very spacious living, bath, and bedroom. Place os immaculate. I’m sitting in the living room with my feet up, coffee in hand looking out at the beautiful ocean view. The only downsides: this is clearly a family place. Great for kids, but, not necessarily a honeymoon or adult time place.

Posted by on Apr 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 3, 2019 by Jasmine

Aloha! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us. Yes, we are not for everyone, we're for those looking to be away from the hustle and bustle of a typical resort destination, and just looking for downtime and serenity. Congratulations on your Honeymoon! and thank you for experiencing Waimea Plantation Cottages! Mahalo!

5 out of 5

Special experience

I have to be honest when we first arrived at the Waimea plantation I was thrilled when I saw the gorgeous reception area. When I got to our 2 bedroom oceanfront cottage I was honestly a little disappointed as the cottage looked nothing like the photos I had seen. We returned to the reception and explained that we were disappointed with the cottage and they graciously upgraded us to the 3 bedroom ocean front directors cottage which was perfect! The cottage isn't fancy, but so charming and a very special was to explore the west side of Kauai.

Posted by , from Temecula CA on Sep 16, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Step back in time

We stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom oceanfront cottage. It felt like a step into the past. The cottage was from the 1930's. The view was spectacular, black sand beach, pine and palm trees, flowers everywhere. There were loads of windows and french doors with white curtains, ceiling fans in every room, air conditioners in the bedrooms, porches front and back, fully equipped kitchen and a gas grill out front. Beautiful, but keep in mind it is old, so if you like that kind of character it is good. There were some little bugs that came in the bathroom and a couple of geckos made it inside. For me...it was charming.

Posted by on Aug 23, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort

Location 9400 Kaumualii Highway, Waimea, HI 96796

Property Features

Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort offers its guests an outdoor pool and a children's pool. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. You'll find a business center on site. A terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and barbecue grills are also featured at Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort. This 3.5-star Waimea resort is smoke free.

  • 1 floor
  • 59 guestrooms or units
  • 59 buildings
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Cabanas by the pool (free)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Business facilities
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site
  • Bar or lounge
  • Dining venue

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 1
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Full-sized refrigerator/freezer
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Room Amenities

Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort offers 59 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and safes. Rooms open to lanais. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Accommodations at this 3.5-star resort have kitchens with full-sized refrigerators/freezers, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include complimentary newspapers and phones; local and long-distance calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and rice cookers. Housekeeping is provided on request.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Private lanai
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator (full size)
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Rice cooker
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Long distance calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor

Food & Drink

Chicken In A Barrel BBQ - Overlooking the ocean and garden, this restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting).

Nearby Activities

An outdoor pool and a children's pool are on site.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Ecotours on site
  • Fishing on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Surfing/bodyboarding nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Skydiving nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Health or beauty spa nearby
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Rafting nearby
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children 17 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds and onsite parking

Tax ID - 198-476-3904-01.

This property uses solar energy

Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector

Be prepared: check the latest COVID-19 travel requirements and measures in place for this destination before you travel.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds and onsite parking. The tax ID number is 198-476-3904-01.. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, JCB International, and Carte Blanche. Cash is not accepted. This property uses solar energy. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-out is available. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Children stay free - maximum age 17
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • LGBTQ friendly
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Smoke detector
  • Children stay free
  • State tax ID - 198-476-3904-01.
  • Renewable energy source - solar
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Resort fee: USD 30 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Beach access
  • Beach loungers
  • Beach towels
  • Business center/computer access
  • Internet access
  • Newspaper
  • Phone calls
  • In-room safe
  • In-room coffee
  • Self parking
  • Parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • Lending library access
  • Housekeeping
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Aston Plantation Cottages
  • Aston Plantation Cottages Hotel
  • Aston Plantation Cottages Hotel Waimea
  • Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Resort Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Resort Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages a Coast Resort
  • Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Resort Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Resort Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages a Coast Resort
  • Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages
  • Plantation Cottages Coast
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Resort
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Waimea
  • Waimea Plantation Cottages, a Coast Resort Resort Waimea

You should know

  • Up to 2 children 17 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • This property welcomes guests of all sexual orientations and gender identities (LGBTQ friendly).
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Waimea-Hotels-Waimea-Plantation-Cottages,-a-Coast-Resort.h52880-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Waimea-Hotels-Waimea-Plantation-Cottages,-a-Coast-Resort.h52880-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Waimea-Hotels-Waimea-Plantation-Cottages,-a-Coast-Resort.h52880-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.