Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"The room was very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 25 Feb 2020

Hotel Description

3-star hotel near PPG Paints Arena

City center stay

Within a 15-minute walk of this South Side Flats hotel, you'll find PPG Paints Arena and Duquesne University. PNC Park and Station Square are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Free shuttle, breakfast

This hotel features an indoor pool and a fitness center. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the free WiFi in public areas and free Internet in public areas. Enjoy freebies like buffet breakfast and an area shuttle

Free Internet, flat-screen TVs

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 125 guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as flat-screen TVs. Other amenities include showers, phones, and desks.

Room, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max
$84* Per night/room Mar 5 - Mar 6

Standard Room, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Mobility, Roll-In Shower)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Hearing, Roll-In Shower)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.8 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Everyone (6) Couples (6) Students (1) Family (9)
5 out of 5
The room was very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Posted by , from Pittsburgh, Pa on Feb 25, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 25, 2020 by Ray

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express PITTSBURGH-SOUTH SIDE. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

2 out of 5
The quality is diminishing. We have been staying here on and off since November and there has been a decrease in quality. Loud arguing next door and back door to parking lot is broken or left propped open. One member of the hotel breakfast staff had a hole in her leggings. Periodically she would sit down, go serve food, and go sit back down. She was very unprofessional. Positives: Price, location.

Posted by , from Columbus on Feb 12, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 12, 2020 by Ray

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn Express PITTSBURGH-SOUTH SIDE. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 1, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 3, 2020 by Ray

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

3 out of 5
Nice clean property with nice breakfast. Night security experience was very abrasive against 3 younger women alone in a hotel. We were talking/laughing having girl fun but didn’t think we were super loud. Someone pounded on the door and said Security open up. We did not being young women and not receiving a phone call from anyone prior. He didnt identify himself other than the above and in today’s society anyone can say they are security. Why did he need to get in our room anyways? Then the front desk called and said we are getting kicked out for non compliance I gave the above explanation of not opening the door and she said okay you can stay but next knock if you get any complaint will be the police. We said okay. Then he came pounding on the door again and said open up. I opened with safety latch locked so I could see him. He was very rude and just kept wanting me to open the door and I said I can see you. He then asked why I didn’t open before and I said because I didn’t know if he was really security. He said you could have looked out the peep hole I said I’m too short to see out of it. He then insisted on me opening the door the full way. So I did and then said what? He then said for us to keep the noise down or we were getting kicked out. I said okay yes sir. He was very rude the whole time. I think this should have been handled way differently and more professionally. My husband was very upset and called manager Gladys who wasn’t in and she never returned his call.

Posted by on Dec 1, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 5, 2019 by Ray

Thank you for your feedback. I do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay, and the issues you had during your stay. I am very sorry for the negative experience that you had and apologize for the interaction you had with security here at the hotel. It definitely should have been handled better, and we will make sure that this type of incident does not happen again. Once again, thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your experience, so that we have an opportunity to make our hotel a better experience for our guests.

4 out of 5
The room was laid out nicely to give it roomy feel

Posted by on Nov 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 9, 2019 by Ray

Thank you for your feedback. we are pleased that you had a good stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your time, and have a wonderful day.

5 out of 5
Location is great. Close to restaurants and night life.

Posted by on Oct 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 8, 2019 by Pete Jones

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us, an look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for your time, and have a wonderful day.

1 out of 5
We were only there for a night and will never stay here again. Shower was covered in spray tanning lotion from the body building competition and wristbands from the event were still in the room. Was told at checkout that we should have reported it as soon as we noticed it... which was not until the morning right before checking out. Since we had just dropped off our bags and went out to get dinner the night we checked in.

Posted by on Sep 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 10, 2019 by Ray

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that this incident happened to you, and would like the opportunity to make it right for you. I did respond earlier and included my email, which did not follow Expedia's writing guidelines. Contact us directly at the hotel, please. Thank you for your time.

4 out of 5
Located just a few minutes from downtown. You do have to pay for parking but it’s a private lot right behind the hotel. My kids liked the pool.

Posted by on Aug 7, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 8, 2019 by Pete Jones

Thank you for your feedback; it is very appreciated. I am happy that you had a good stay, and hope that you come and stay with us in the future. We hope you have a great day!

3 out of 5
We stayed all week in different rooms: 506, 420 & most recently 223 which was a special needs room. It was the very last room in the hotel; toilet had urine on seat; lighting was extremely dim in bathroom & a/c didn’t work. We requested service and the a/c unit was replaced but I swear there was no change in temperature. The housekeeping staff was amazing!! Very courteous and pleasant. Ms Betty at reception was very attentive and kind. Ms Donna in kitchen was as sweet as could be and even set oatmeal aside for my mom who was always late for breakfast. Paul at front desk was polite and respectful as we watched another guest become irate over a parking issue he had no control over. The amenities might have lacked somewhat but the staff was guest friendly. I hope we won’t need to be in Pittsburgh again for legal reasons but would stay at IHG hotels again due to customer service.

Posted by on Aug 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 8, 2019 by Pete Jones

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that the staff was pleasant and accommodating during your stay. I am sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. I did bring these to housekeeping and maintenance so we can correct these issues. I thank you for your time, and hope you have a wonderful day.

3 out of 5
Room was nice and spacious however the front desk clerk was less than pleasant, I was informed upon arrival that is cost $22 per night to park you car in their lot which was not stated when booking the hotel. I would have definitely picked somewhere else. I then find out they charged my card $35 instead of the $22 mentioned. No mention of what the fee was for. Won’t be staying here again!

Posted by on Jul 31, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 31, 2019 by Ray

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were not aware of the parking charge until check in. We do have it posted on our website; the third party channels are supposed to as well. I will check in to why they do not have the parking fee showing. The 35.00 fee that you see is an incidental hold to ensure that the card given to us at check in is valid, and we can receive payment for charges to the room. Your parking fee usually comes out of the hold, and any money left on the hold is returned to your bank, then your account at check out. I apologize if that was not made clear at check in. Thank you for your time, and have a good day.

About the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Location 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203

Property Features

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side offers its guests an indoor pool and a fitness center. WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. Limo/town car service and a meeting room are available. Free breakfast is available. A free area shuttle within 2 mi is available. The business-friendly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side also features gift shops/newsstands, a fireplace in the lobby, and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Parking is available for a fee. This 3-star Pittsburgh hotel is smoke free.

  • 125 guestrooms or units
  • 6 levels
  • Buffet breakfast (free)
  • Conference space
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Car service
  • Gift shop
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • ATM
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Pittsburgh, PA (PIT-Pittsburgh Intl.) (30.9 km / 19.2 mi)
  • Train station: Pittsburgh Station (2 km / 1.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle within 2 mi
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side offers 125 accommodations. Flat-screen televisions come with pay movies. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include showers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Shower
  • Telephone
  • Desk
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free buffet breakfast.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool and a fitness center.

Guests under 18 years old are not allowed in the fitness facility.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 3 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • 24-hour check-in
  • Number of children who can stay free - 3

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: USD 22 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh-South Side
  • Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-South Side
  • Holiday Inn Express Hotel Side
  • Holiday Inn Express Side
  • Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side Hotel

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing https://travel.travelocity.com/Pittsburgh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hotel-&-Suites-Pittsburgh-South-Side.h914423-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Pittsburgh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hotel-&-Suites-Pittsburgh-South-Side.h914423-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 https://travel.travelocity.com/Pittsburgh-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Express-Hotel-&-Suites-Pittsburgh-South-Side.h914423-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.