Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"I liked how each pool had a different vibe (party / relaxing / water activities). The meals were good the wifi was fast. The entertainment was loud bu ... " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 18 Feb 2020

Hotel Description

4-star beachfront property near Arena Gorda Beach

Beachfront retreat

At this Punta Cana property, you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Cortecito Beach and 3 miles (5 km) of Palma Real Shopping Village. Arena Gorda Beach and Los Corales Beach are also within 3 miles (5 km).

All-inclusive

A nightclub, 11 restaurants, and 3 outdoor pools are all featured at this all-inclusive property. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center, free WiFi in public areas, and airport shuttle. Relax with a drink at one of the 10 bars/lounges and enjoy perks like free self parking.

Heated floors, sofa beds

The 860 individually decorated guestrooms offer sofa beds and room service. Free minibar items, balconies, and plasma TVs are also available.

Superior Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$136* Per night/room May 16 - May 17

Family Junior Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Suite (Royal Level)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Junior Studio Suite, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Everyone (15) Couples (3) Family (15)
2 out of 5
Very disappointed in this day and the service provider and the room it’s self was disgusting

Posted by on Apr 25, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 26, 2021 by Marcos Castillo - Occidental Punta Cana

Dear Client, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest, as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Again, we genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay.. Best regards, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5 out of 5

Posted by on Mar 24, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 3, 2021 by Marcos Castillo - Occidental Punta Cana

Estimado Cliente, Agradecemos que tomara parte de su tiempo para darnos una maravillosa puntuación, nuestro principal objetivo es asegurar que seguimos ofreciendo experiencias inolvidables a nuestros huéspedes y sus comentarios nos ayudan a ello. Esperamos poder servirle de nuevo pronto. Saludos cordiales, Marcos Castillo Director General Occidental Punta Cana

3 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 15, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 20, 2020 by Marcos Castillo

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and for taking the time to provide us with your experience rate. We are dissapointed to see that you didn't enjoy the five stars vacation that our guests are used to have. We hope you reconsider visiting us again, as a chance to turn around your last holiday with us and change your perception of our resort. It was a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 13, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 13, 2020 by Marcos Castillo

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us at Occidental Punta Cana. We are pleased to know you enjoyed a five star experience. We will be glad to host you again. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

2 out of 5
The rooms here are gross. Traveled with a few other couples. My room has smelled like pee the whole time. The room next door to mine is where the maid closet is keeping all the extra linens, the maids start slamming the door for supplies at 6:30am until about 11. The first morning of our stay I left a $5 usd $ with a note in Spanish to replenish the beers. They only leave two mini beers in the room. They left no extra beers with the tip then the next three days they left no beers in our fridge! There was a cockroach dying on the floor. Our land line phone range the first two days at 7:30am with a call to sell me stuff. I took it off the hook after being annoyed. Occidental is accidentally a bad choice. I just would go somewhere else.

Posted by on Feb 12, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 13, 2020 by Marcos Castillo

Dear Guest, Thank you for rating your experience with us. Needless to say, it is disappointing to know that we failed to meet your expectations. Negative comments, however, are a good way to identify the areas in which we need to improve. I have forwarded your review so our management team can address these issues directly. We truly hope that you choose to stay with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations on a future visit to Punta Cana. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5 out of 5
Liked the Pool, beach and room. Difficulty getting drinks and music at the swim up bar was way to loud. Much of the Hot food was cold in the main dining area. Temp of main dining room seemed cold. Even windows had condensation. No General hot tub and running machines needed Maintenance. All speeds were wrong.

Posted by , from Columbia, Md on Jan 31, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 6, 2020 by Marcos Castillo

Dear Jerry, First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your recent experience with us at the Occidental Punta Cana. We are glad that in many aspects you were satisfied with our holiday offering, but know we have reviewed all of your comments and suggestions and have taken the liberty of sharing them with the management of our resort. It is through unbiased feedback and customer reviews that we are able to target the specific areas where we need to improve. Our primary goal is, and always will be, to offer each and every one of our guests nothing less than a five-star quality of service. Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that in the future you reconsider letting us host you again. We guarantee that we will not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

3 out of 5
Looking for a resort to the DR with bare minimum? This is the one! Although, the resort was nice and staff was somewhat accommodating, you can most likely have a better experience elsewhere. Excursion deals offered at property was great however. 7 for $99.

Posted by on Nov 10, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 14, 2019 by AmbarOPC

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking a moment to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Although we always strive to give each and every one of our guests an excellent experience, we do understand that it is not always possible to fulfill their expectations. I would like to apologize for anything you might’ve encountered during your time with us that made your holidays less than perfect. On behalf of the Occidental Punta Cana and its staff, I would like to reiterate our appreciation for choosing to stay with us. I hope you reconsider giving us another opportunity to serve you and, this time, exceed your expectations. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best Regards, Ambar Guzman Assistant Manager Occidental Punta Cana

2 out of 5
They need to work more in what type of people they hired because the staff at the check in and restaurants were really rude they act like they don’t want be there, talking rude to the customers making our life difficult when we just go to relax ourself(more friendly ppl ASAP) food, pool, room + beach really good . The bar in the poor the best.

Posted by on Nov 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 6, 2019 by AmbarOPC

Dear Lisbeth, Greetings from the Occidental Punta Cana ! We appreciate your feedback. Although we are glad to know that in we’ve met some of your expectations, we would like you to know, that there is nothing more important to us that providing each one of our guests with an excellent holiday experience. This is why we want you to know that we are constantly refreshing and renewing our installations and services. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future, so we can not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. Warm regards, Ambar Guzman Assistant Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5 out of 5
The beauty and pretty much everything else. The vacation concierge was annoying though and wouldn’t leave me alone.

Posted by on Aug 26, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 26, 2019 by AmbarOPC

Dear Guest, Thank you for rating the quality of our holiday offering so highly. Needless to say, we are thrilled to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Ambar Guzman Assistant Manager Occidental Punta Cana

5 out of 5
Friendly staff, excellent restaurants, Santos is the best bartender at the pool, varied night entertainment, beautiful pools, nice bars

Posted by on Aug 10, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 12, 2019 by AmbarOPC

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. I sincerely apologize for being unable to respond to your review in Portuguese. We try to give every single one of our guests a very personalized experience, even once they’ve already left the hotel. That said, I would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your kind words and hope that we are able to host you again in the future. It was our sincerest pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Ámbar Guzmán Assistant Manager Occidental Punta Cana

About the Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Location España Avenue, Bávaro, Punta Cana, La Altagracia 23301

All-inclusive Details

This property is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included. Additional gratuities at guests' discretion are accepted.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet and à la carte meals, snacks, and local beverages included
  • In-room minibar (non-alcoholic beverages included)

Activities and facilities/equipment
All land activities and use of recreational facilities and equipment are included.

Water activities

  • Kayaking
  • Windsurfing

Land activities
  • Fitness facilities
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Lessons/classes/games
  • Aerobics
  • Dancing
  • Language
  • Pilates
  • Water fitness
  • Yoga

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children between 4 and 12 years old

Entertainment

  • Onsite entertainment and activities
  • Access to onsite clubs
  • Onsite live performances
  • Theme parties

Not included

  • Motorized water sports
  • Sailboats
  • Scuba-diving certification
  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Snorkeling excursions
  • Premium and/or non-domestic beverages
  • Childcare
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Activities and services offered by independent operators
  • Offsite tours
  • Transportation to offsite activities

  • Kayaking included
  • Access to onsite nightclubs included
  • Windsurfing included
  • Taxes included
  • A la carte dining included
  • Airport transfers not included
  • Premium/imported non-alcoholic beverages not included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Tennis included
  • xWireless Internet access not included
  • Water fitness classes/lessons included
  • Volleyball included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Childcare not included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Snorkeling excursions not included
  • Scuba diving certification not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Activities/services from independent operators not included
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Yoga classes/lessons included
  • Pilates classes/lessons included
  • Sailboats not included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Language classes/lessons included
  • Onsite entertainment and activities included
  • Gratuities included
  • Local non-alcoholic beverages and soft drinks included
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • All meals included
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Minibar (only non-alcoholic beverages included)
  • Onsite live performances included
  • All land sports and fitness activities and facilities are included
  • Theme parties included

Property Features

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort offers its guests 3 outdoor swimming pools and a fitness center. There are 11 restaurants on site, along with a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 10 bars/lounges and a swim-up bar. A free manager's reception is offered daily. WiFi is free in public spaces. A business center and a meeting room are available. A nightclub, spa services, and a terrace are also featured at the business-friendly Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Punta Cana property.

  • 860 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 17 buildings
  • 11 dining venues
  • 10 bars or lounges
  • Built in 2000
  • Nightclub
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Deli
  • Towels for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 3
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Sofa bed

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free parking nearby

Transport

  • Airport: Punta Cana Intl. Airport (PUJ) (23.7 km / 14.7 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort offers 860 air-conditioned accommodations with free minibar items and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to balconies. These individually decorated and furnished accommodations include single sofa beds. Beds feature down comforters and premium bedding. Plasma televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include showers with rainfall showerheads. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony
  • Pull-out sofa bed
  • Stocked minibar (free)
  • In-room dining
  • Plasma television
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Down blanket
  • Shower
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Laptop safe
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wardrobe or closet

Food & Drink

The property hosts a free manager's reception daily.

El Alcázar - Overlooking the pool, this buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Las Reses  - This restaurant serves dinner only. Open select days.

La Hacienda  - This restaurant specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves dinner only. Open select days.

Via Veneto  - This restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves dinner only. Open select days.

Caracolas  - This restaurant specializes in seafood and serves dinner only. Open select days.

Room service is available.

Nearby Activities

3 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Basketball on site
  • Tennis lessons on site
  • Beach volleyball on site
  • Archery on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Windsurfing on site
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site

Spa Services

Guests can pamper themselves by indulging in the onsite spa services. There are 6 treatment rooms including rooms for couples. Services include deep-tissue massages, facials, body scrubs, and manicures and pedicures. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy and hydrotherapy.

  • Deep tissue massage
  • Number of treatment rooms 6
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Facial treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Handrails in stairways
  • Wheelchairs available on site
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Pool access ramp on site
  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair-accessible public washroom
  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair-accessible pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at noon
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted.

For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global).

  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global)
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 24 hours

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

The charges below are included in your overall room price:

  • New Year's Eve gala dinner fee
  • Christmas Eve gala dinner fee

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Occidental Grand Punta Cana
  • Occidental Grand Punta Cana All Inclusive
  • Occidental Punta Cana Grand
  • Punta Cana Grand Occidental
  • Occidental Grand Punta Cana All Inclusive Resort
  • Occidental Punta Cana All Inclusive Resort
  • Occidental All Inclusive Resort
  • Occidental Punta Cana
  • Occidental Punta Cana All Inclusive
  • Occidental All Inclusive
  • Occidental Inclusive Resort
  • Occidental Punta Cana - All Inclusive Resort Punta Cana

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for spa treatments. For reservations, contact the property before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • For stays on 24 December, the total price shown includes a charge for a mandatory Christmas Eve gala dinner.
  • For stays on 31 December, the total price shown includes a charge for a mandatory New Year's Eve gala dinner.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Punta-Cana-Hotels-Occidental-Punta-Cana---All-Inclusive-Resort.h693601-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Punta-Cana-Hotels-Occidental-Punta-Cana---All-Inclusive-Resort.h693601-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Punta-Cana-Hotels-Occidental-Punta-Cana---All-Inclusive-Resort.h693601-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.