Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Perfect place.for my large family. " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 13 Jun 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Motel near Monterey Bay in Santa Cruz

Oceanside stay

Within a 10-minute walk of this Westside Santa Cruz motel, you'll find Ocean Street and Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Santa Cruz Main Beach and Sky Glider are also within half a mile (1 km).

Property Amenities

This motel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Express check-out is also provided.

Basic Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$70* Per night/room Feb 2 - Feb 3

King & Queen Suite with Kitchenette, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Family Suite with 3 Queen Beds & Kitchenette, Non Smoking

Bed Count 3 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Standard Suite 2 Queen Beds, Non-Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Riverside Inn & Suites Santa Cruz ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.3 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Riverside Inn & Suites Santa Cruz

Everyone (4) Couples (2) Family (1)
1 out of 5
AVOID THIS PLACE!! No one should have had to experience what I went through at this overpriced hovel for three nights (Oct. 27, 28, 29, 2022). It is located in a sleazy part of Santa Cruz, a riverbank area populated by scary-looking, homeless people and wandering vagrants. I was carelessly assigned to a wing just 12' facing a busy street and backed by a unit containing what appeared to be a long-term guest who was up blasting his TV and yelling on the phone until 5 am. The thin walls couldn't hide the racket from trucks, motorcycles and skateboards going by all night, or noises from adjoining rooms The last night was the worst, with noisy check-ins entering, leaving and slamming doors all night long. I had to park around the other side of the building the last night because a worker said she didn't have her choice spot near the office and used the spot by my unit There is no "sleeping in" possible since by 8 am kids are using the city skateboard park and basketball court right across the busy street. The white socks I wore just walking from the bed to the bathroom at night were black with filth from the carpeting. I never touched the room's coffee maker. I had to drive 500 miles home on three hours of sleep. What an awful, awful place.

Posted by on Nov 2, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 10, 2022 by Hotel Management

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. We are very disappointed to learn that despite our best efforts we could not make your stay a comfortable one. Our intention is always to make our guests feel comfortable and pleasant. Which is why the front desk person asked you several times if you were absolutely certain that she could stay parked by your room until the end of her shift or until a parking spot became available that would fit her truck as to not block any guests from parking or exiting the parking. Although we do not have assigned parking, we do our utmost best to provide a convenient and hospitable stay. In regards to the location of your room, the budget/basic queen rooms are facing the street side. We have pictures showing the proximity of the rooms to the street and the different amenities associated with the two different room types. We are transparent about the difference between our single queen rooms because we are firm in our belief that it is absolutely vital that our future guests know if a particular room will fit their needs. We have always emphasized providing the best possible experience for our valued guests such as you, yet we apologize for missing the mark here. Thank you for taking the time to share your valued comments. Sincerely,

5 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 6, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Perfect place.for my large family.

Posted by on Jun 13, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Was upgraded at check in. Staff very courteous. Have stayed before but the room we stayed in this time seems to have been recently renovated, very nice! Close to both down town and the boardwalk.

Posted by , from LOS BANOS on Jan 1, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 13, 2022 by Hotel Management

Hello Tina. Thank you for your kind review! We are very pleased to learn that we were able to make your stay extraordinary. We hope we will continue to have the honor of hosting you for any future stays in Santa Cruz. Best regards,

2 out of 5
Since it was Labor day weekend and a last minute trip, we had few choices available. I requested 4 extra pillows online chat and via phone and did not get any. Interesting configuration of beds and bath. Bed was hard and room was dusty on AC vents and walls and switch plates as well as the doors should be wiped down.

Posted by on Sep 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 4, 2019 by Hotel Management

Hello. Thank you for your feedback. Please know, we are committed to providing quality service to each of the guests we are honored to serve. I apologize we were not able to provide that quality during your visit. It is a shock to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We are known for clean, comfortable rooms at a competitive rate and it is very disappointing to hear we did not meet your needs. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. Please consider giving us another opportunity.

3 out of 5
The room was clean and walls are thick so you cannot hear as much noise. It is an older inn and it is showing it on the exterior. But for the price it is ok. No breakfast and only coffee provided in room no sugar or creamer. Blow dryer not in working condition.

Posted by on Aug 25, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 28, 2019 by Hotel Management

Hello JandM. Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for falling short in meeting your needs for your stay. We have coffee available in the lobby for our guests in addition to having a coffee maker in the rooms. Our front desk provides additional hair dryers as well. I hope you will give us another opportunity so we may show you the dedication of our staff in providing our guests with clean, comfortable rooms. Thank you for your time.

4 out of 5
Great location and extremely clean! Front desk staff was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by on May 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 26, 2019 by Vijay Panchal

Thank you for being a guest! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves in being a clean property in a convenient location at an affordable price. Thank you for your time in writing this review. We hope you will stay with us again.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jan 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 29, 2019 by Vijay Panchal

Thank you for your feedback.

4 out of 5
We always stay in this area as it the perfect distance between the Boardwalk and downtown. Even though this is an old hotel. Our room had been recently updated, very clean and front desk staff was super friendly.

Posted by on Jan 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 4, 2019 by Vijay Panchal

Thank you for your time in writing a positive review. We are very happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and met your needs.

5 out of 5

Large, clean, rooms

Pros: Good staff, clean rooms with lots of space and very quiet.
Cons: Not much really. Lobby opens at 830 but for early riser like me, that's a little late.
Location: Arcade is a good time. In the off season, the boardwalk closes early so downtown is a better option. There are two good fish places at the pier..
Staff super friendly at check in. 5 min walk or less to downtown and pier/boardwalk. Rooms are excellent, look recently updated. The 2 queen bed option is two separate rooms with the bathroom in between/jack and jill style. I will stay here again!

Posted by , from LA, CA on May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Riverside Inn & Suites Santa Cruz

Location 505 Riverside Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Property Features

Riverside Inn & Suites Santa Cruz offers its guests a vending machine and express check-out. Public spaces have free WiFi. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Santa Cruz motel.

  • 1 floor
  • 25 guestrooms or units
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Smoking in designated areas

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , High-speed internet access

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Riverside Inn & Suites Santa Cruz offers 25 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. 42-inch LED televisions come with premium cable channels. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and complimentary toiletries. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • LED television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wardrobe or closet

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 10:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. If you are planning to arrive after 10:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Guests arriving after 10:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property reserves the right to pre-authorize the guest's credit card prior to arrival.

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector and a smoke detector

Be prepared: check the latest COVID-19 travel requirements and measures in place for this destination before you travel.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, debit cards, cash, and mobile payments. This property reserves the right to pre-authorize the guest's credit card prior to arrival.

For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector and a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions. Contactless check-out is available. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC), SafeStay (AHLA - USA), and Ecolab (3rd party expert - Global).

  • Mobile payments
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Restricted number of spaces per unit
  • Number of spaces per unit - 1
  • Property follows sanitization practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC)
  • Credit card pre-authorization
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Ecolab (3rd party expert - Global)
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Smoke detector
  • Debit cards

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 200.00 per accommodation, per stay
  • A damage deposit of USD 200.00 will be collected before check-in.

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Americas Best Value Inn Boardwalk
  • Americas Best Value Inn Boardwalk Motel
  • Americas Best Value Inn Boardwalk Motel Santa Cruz
  • Americas Best Value Inn Boardwalk Santa Cruz
  • Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk Hotel Santa Cruz
  • Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Boardwalk
  • Americas Best Value Boardwalk Santa Cruz
  • Americas Best Value Boardwalk
  • Americas Best Value Inn Suites Boardwalk
  • Riverside Inn Santa Cruz
  • Riverside Santa Cruz
  • Riverside & Suites Santa Cruz
  • Riverside Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Motel
  • Riverside Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Santa Cruz
  • Riverside Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Motel Santa Cruz
url importing http://travel.travelocity.com/Santa-Cruz-Hotels-Riverside-Inn-&-Suites-Santa-Cruz.h1742350-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Santa-Cruz-Hotels-Riverside-Inn-&-Suites-Santa-Cruz.h1742350-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://travel.travelocity.com/Santa-Cruz-Hotels-Riverside-Inn-&-Suites-Santa-Cruz.h1742350-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.