Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.4 out of 5

"This was our second visit at Sonesta Hilton Head Island. The staff are very professional , polite and accommodating. We highly recommend Sonesta Reso ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 30 Jun 2018

Hotel Description

4-star beachfront resort near Coligny Beach

Beachside getaway

You'll find Coligny Beach and Sea Pines Forest Preserve within 3 miles (5 km) of this Hilton Head Island resort. Also, Van Der Meer Tennis Academy is within half a mile (1 km) and Shipyard Golf Course is within 2 miles (3 km).

Poolside dining

A full-service spa, 3 restaurants, and 2 outdoor pools are all featured at this smoke-free resort. Bring the family and enjoy the children's club, children's pool, and kid-friendly dining. Enjoy the 12 outdoor tennis courts and perks like free self parking and a free area shuttle.

Free Internet, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and coffee/tea makers, the 340 guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as LED TVs with digital channels. Balconies or patios, room service, and premium bedding are also available.

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$129* Per night/room Dec 15 - Dec 16

Mobility Accessible Two Queens, Roll In Shower

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Mobility Accessible King Garden View, Roll In Shower

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Communications Accessible, Two Queens, Garden View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Communications Accessible Two Queens

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Mobility Accessible Two Queens, Garden View, Roll In Shower

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Everyone (16) Family (4)
3 out of 5
This property is listed as a resort and resort fees are charged! There is not even a microwave in the rooms, so how is this a resort? This was initially a Crowne Plaza hotel previously and now it is being marketed as a resort with their fees attached! I will not stay here again! We were without WiFi for 2 days! Finally after going to the front desk on 2 occasions was I able to log onto it and it actually stayed on! This stay was quite a disappointment for us 🙄

Posted by on Dec 1, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 4, 2019 by Director of Rooms-George Hartman

Our team strives to provide an exceptional stay for all guests so I would like to express my deepest apologies for the issues listed. We will definitely share your feedback with our leadership to for internal review. Please do not hesitate to give our front desk staff a call to further discuss your overall experience. We value your input, and hope to have the chance to host you again soon.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 1, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 4, 2019 by Director of Rooms-George Hartman

Thank you for rating your recent visit to Sonesta Resort Hilton Island a perfect score! We hope to see you again soon.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 27, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 1, 2019 by Director of Rooms-George Hartman

Thank you for rating your recent visit to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island a perfect score! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

5 out of 5
Food was great. Pool and beach are nice. Gym is really basic and has a weird smell; not great for a property of this caliber.

Posted by on Aug 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 21, 2019 by Director of Rooms-George Hartman

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your time by the outdoor amenities as well as restaurants on site. I am very sorry to read about your unsatisfactory experience at our gym, we will be sure to review this feedback with our leadership team for future improvement. We apologize for the mishap but hope to have the chance to host you again.

3 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 8, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Everything associated with the facility, the rooms, the front desk staff, housekeeping, bell staff and pool/recreational rentals was exceptional. We weren't impressed with food service in any aspect but the rest of our stay was perfect. We definitely want to return.

Posted by on Jun 1, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 4, 2019 by Director of Rooms - George Hartman

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your 5-star experience with us. We are pleased to hear that every interaction you had at the resort was a pleasant and exceptional! I deeply apologize that our dining options were not what you were looking for but feel free to call our front desk staff to discuss your dislikes to see how we can better improve. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.

3 out of 5
WE GET THERE LATE AT NIGHT AND WE DIDN'T HAVE A ROOM, AFTER THEY CALLED TO CONFIRM ... THEY DID GET US IN A NEAR BY HOTEL THAT WAS NICE AT NO CHARGE, SO I CAN'T REVIEW THIS PROPERTY BECAUSE WE DIDN'T GET TO STAY ...

Posted by on May 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 2, 2019 by Director of Rooms-George Hartman

Your review is greatly appreciated. We are deeply dissatisfied to hear about your negative experience, as our goal is to provide exceptional service and accommodations for all of our guests. Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island wants each guest to have the best possible experience during their stay. What has occurred is very unfortunate and our staff will be informed of the necessary changes needed to be made so this never happens again. Your feedback is valued, along with your business. We hope you will consider staying with us so we may redeem ourselves.

3 out of 5
The service/cleanliness of our room was not what it should have been, very disappointed.

Posted by on Apr 28, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 3, 2019 by Director of Rooms-George Hartman

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am so sorry to hear about the negative experience you had with cleanliness of your room. Our goal is to only provide excellent service during your time with us, so I am very disappointed to read this. When you have a moment, please give our front desk staff a call to better discuss the issue.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Apr 28, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 30, 2019 by Director of Rooms-George Hartman

Thank you for rating your recent visit to Sonesta Resort Hilton a perfect score! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

5 out of 5
This was our second visit at Sonesta Hilton Head Island. The staff are very professional , polite and accommodating. We highly recommend Sonesta Resort.

Posted by on Jun 30, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Location 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head Island, SC 29928

Property Features

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island offers its guests a full-service spa, 2 outdoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, and a 24-hour fitness center. There are 3 restaurants on site, along with a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a poolside bar and a bar/lounge. A computer station is on site, and both WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. Event space at this resort measures 20,000 square feet (1858 square meters) and includes conference space. A children's pool, spa services, and a terrace are also featured at the family-friendly Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Self parking is free. This 4-star Hilton Head Island resort is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 340 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • 3 dining venues
  • 20,000 sq ft of conference space
  • 1858 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1980
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Kid's club (surcharge)
  • Supervised kid's activities (surcharge)
  • Cabanas by the pool (surcharge)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 12
  • Free area shuttle
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Free self parking , Valet parking (surcharge) , RV, bus, truck parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Savannah, GA (SAV-Savannah - Hilton Head Intl.) (76.6 km / 47.6 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle and shopping center shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking; valet parking and RV/bus/truck parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island offers 340 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and complimentary weekday newspapers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Beds feature premium bedding. LED televisions come with premium digital channels. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Hilton Head Island resort provides complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LED television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Weekday newspapers (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe (surcharge)
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 11 AM.

Heyward's Restaurant - This restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, dinner, and light fare. A children's menu is available.

Bailey's Bar and Terrace - Overlooking the pool and garden, this restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves light fare only. Happy hour is offered.

Sea Crest Terrace - This poolside bistro specializes in American cuisine and serves lunch and light fare. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Sweet Cane Bar - This poolside restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves light fare only. Happy hour is offered.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

2 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a children's pool. Other recreational amenities include outdoor tennis courts and a 24-hour fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Ziplining nearby

Spa Services

Arum Spa has 3 treatment rooms. Services include facials, body wraps, body scrubs, and body treatments. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy and Ayurvedic.

  • Number of treatment rooms 3
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Ayurvedic treatments
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 25.00 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets: USD 150.00 per accommodation, per stay, plus a deposit of USD 150.00 per stay
  • Only dogs are allowed
  • Maximum 1 per room (weight limit: 35 lbs)
  • Certain rooms only
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Service animals exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Resort fee: USD 25 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Beach access
  • Health club access
  • Fitness center access
  • Internet access
  • Newspaper
  • Phone calls
  • In-room coffee
  • Self parking
  • Parking

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 5.00 and USD 35.00 for adults, USD 5.00 and USD 30.00 for children (approximately)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 15 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Pet deposit: USD 150.00 per stay
  • Pet fee: USD 150.00 per accommodation, per stay
  • An in-room safe is available for an additional fee
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 25.00 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hilton Head Island Sonesta
  • Hilton Head Island Sonesta Resort
  • Sonesta Hilton Head Island
  • Sonesta Hilton Head Island Resort
  • Sonesta Resort
  • Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
  • Sonesta Hilton Head Island
  • Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island Resort
  • Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island Hilton Head Island
  • Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island Resort Hilton Head Island

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the resort before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets are welcome in specific rooms only, which can be requested by contacting the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
url importing https://travel.travelocity.com/Hilton-Head-Hotels-Sonesta-Resort-Hilton-Head-Island.h2618-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Hilton-Head-Hotels-Sonesta-Resort-Hilton-Head-Island.h2618-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 https://travel.travelocity.com/Hilton-Head-Hotels-Sonesta-Resort-Hilton-Head-Island.h2618-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.